Filmography - Sports

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. 

For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.

For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections. 

Bend it like Beckham. 2003. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Eighteen year-old Jesminder's parents want her to be a nice, conventional Indian girl. But she just wants to play soccer like her hero, David Beckham. For Jess, that means kicking a ball around the local park with the lads until she's spotted by Jules, who invites her to join the local women's team. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 672

Das wunder von Bern = The miracle of Bern. 2004. 1 videodisc (118 min.). The movie deals with the championship-winning German soccer team of 1954. Its story is linked with two others: The family of a young boy is split due to the events in World War II, and the father returns from Russia after eleven years. His problems in getting back to normal life are shown, with references to his children and wife. The second story is about a reporter and his wife reporting from the tournament. Feature film. DVD 5614

Deutschland, ein Sommermärchen. 2007. 2 videodiscs (107 min.). Follows players on the 2006 German national soccer team from training through the FIFA World Cup tournament. The 18th staging of the World Cup was held June 9-July 9, 2006. Host team Germany defeated Portugal to finish third (in the final, Italy won the Cup over France). DVD 3281

La gran final = The great match. Own the Film Movement series: Film Movement series. 2006. 1 videodisc (88 min.). Three soccer fans, living in the farthest-flung corners of the planets: Mongolia, Niger and Brazil, determined to watch the TV broadcast of the 2002 World Cup final. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3051

No colors: Racism and prejudice in modern Europe. Crossroads ; inside the European Union. 2007. 1 videodisc (26 min.). Program looks at racism and xenophobia brought to the surface by the massive influx of foreign workers and job-seekers into Western Europe. Describes the search for equitable solutions by moderate European Union leaders and citizens. Examines Islamophobia, religious fundamentalism, the radicalization of young Muslim men, and racism in football or soccer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3165

Offside. 2007. 1 videodisc (92 min.). During the 2006 Iran-Bahrain match, the Tehran soccer stadium roars with 100,000 cheering men and, officially, no women. According to Islamic custom, women are not permitted to watch or participate in men's sports. Many of the ambitious young female fans who manage to sneak into the arena are caught and sent to a holding pen, guarded by male soldiers their own age. Duty makes these young men and women adversaries, but duty can't overcome their shared dreams, their mutual attraction, and ultimately their overriding sense of national pride and humanity. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3759

She's the man. 2006. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Viola becomes furious when she learns that her high school, Cornwall, has just cut the girl's soccer team. So furious, in fact, that she takes advantage of her twin brother Sebastian skipping town for a few weeks to take his place at his school, Illyria, so she can join the soccer team there. But her disguise as her brother leads to major complications when she falls in love with her soccer-playing roommate and the girl he's in love with falls in love with "Sebastian.". Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4379

The damned United. 2010. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Previously successful manager Brian Clough takes over England's top football club Leeds United. His abrasive approach and his clear dislike of the players' dirty style of play make it certain there is going to be friction. Glimpses of his earlier career help explain both his hostility to previous manager Don Revie and how much he is missing his usual right-hand man, Peter Taylor, who decided to loyally stay with Brighton & Hove Albion. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7058

World Cup soccer: In Africa who really wins? 2010. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Discusses the social consequences of holding the 2010 World Cup Soccer tournament in South Africa.  DVD 7269