Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Food: Feature films

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of June 2011

Food Filmography - Feature films

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of June 2011. 

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

 

Additionally there are over 1000 streaming video clips in Films-On-Demand on food topics which can be searched directly here: http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?cid=1637&aid=8604

 

 

Babette's feast. World films: World films (MGM Home Entertainment Inc.). 2001. 1 videodisc (103 min.). With the mysterious arrival of Babette, a refugee from France's civil war, life for two pious sisters and their tiny hamlet begins to change. Before long, Babette has convinced them to try something other than boiled codfish and ale bread--a gourmet French meal! Her feast scandalizes the elders, except for the visiting General. Just who is this strangely talented Babette, who has terrified this pious town with the prospect of losing their souls for enjoying too much earthly pleasure? Includes original theatrical trailer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 627

Big night. 2001. 1 videodisc (videodisc) (109 min.). The story of two brothers whose Italian restaurant is on the brink of bankruptcy. Their only chance for success is to risk everything they own on an extravagant feast for bandleader Louis Prima. But their big night is complicated by a lovers' triangle, a sneaky restaurant rival, and the hilarious perfection of chef Primo. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1970

Delicatessen. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 99 min.). In a futuristic society where meat is a rare commodity, a delicatessen serves up its customers as a nutritious replacement! HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2121

Fast food nation. 2006. 1 videodisc (114 min.). If it's true that we are what we eat, then how do we even know who we are? Don Anderson is trying to balance his search for the truth with an apparent desire not to do anything that might hurt his career. Raul and Sylvia, having crossed the border illegally, take up dangerous, stomach-turning jobs at the meat-processing plant. Amber is a teenage burger-slinger who wants to both change the world and get out of town. These two desires--to fight the system and to win by its rules--are not necessarily incompatible, though they may seem contradictory. Everyone has something to say, but hard ethical choices are set down by the logic of 21st-century consumer capitalism. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4912

Henry Jaglom's Eating: a very serious comedy about women & food. 2004. 1 videodisc (ca. 110 min.). At a fashionable birthday party in Southern California, a parade of women playfully mingle and muse on their body image hang-ups, eating disorders, relationships, and a conformist society obsessed with beauty. For these partygoers, even their untouched slices of cake provide insight into the love-hate relationship between femmes and food. A hilarious and thought-provoking smorgasbord of "biting" observation about women, love, neuroses, and the food that binds them all. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1738

Julie & Julia. 2009. 1 videodisc (123 min.). Julie Powell is a frustrated insurance worker who wants to be a writer. Trying to find a challenge in her life, she decides to cook her way through Julia Child's 'Mastering the Art of French Cooking' in one year, and to blog about it. As Julie begins to find her groove as a cook, and her voice as a writer, the project takes on a life of its own. The project provides the struggling young woman with her life's purpose, to her very pleasant surprise. Julia Child has an amazing love affair with her dashing husband, Paul, all while embracing life and French food. Julie lovingly celebrates the life of one of American food's most influential and beloved figureheads. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7096

Neak sre Les gens de la rizière. Blaq out: Blaq out. 2006. 1 videodisc (124 min.). In order to grow a successful rice crop, Poeuv and Om fight disease, snakes, and more. When Poeuv dies, Om must forge on to take care of her seven daughters. The old world attitude that boys are assets and girls are burdens only adds to her troubles. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6120

Ratatouille. 2007. 1 videodisc (111 min.). A rat named Remy dreams of becoming a great chef despite his family's wishes and the obvious problem of being a rat in a decidedly rodent-phobic profession. When fate places Remy in Paris, he finds himself ideally situated beneath a restaurant made famous by his culinary hero. Despite the apparent dangers of being an unwanted visitor in the kitchen of one of Paris' most exclusive restaurants, Remy forms an unlikely partnership with Linguini, the garbage boy, who inadvertently discovers Remy's amazing talents. They strike a deal, ultimately setting into motion a chain of extraordinary events that turns the culinary world of Paris upside down. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU-RAY DVD 3814

Ratatouille. Disney DVD. 2007. 1 videodisc (111 min.). A rat named Remy dreams of becoming a great chef despite his family's wishes and the obvious problem of being a rat in a decidedly rodent-phobic profession. When fate places Remy in Paris, he finds himself ideally situated beneath a restaurant made famous by his culinary hero. Despite the apparent dangers of being an unwanted visitor in the kitchen of one of Paris' most exclusive restaurants, Remy forms an unlikely partnership with Linguini, the garbage boy, who inadvertently discovers Remy's amazing talents. They strike a deal, ultimately setting into motion a chain of extraordinary events that turns the culinary world of Paris upside down. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3814

Salmer fra kjøkkenet = Kitchen stories. 2004. 1 videodisc (95 min.). A Swedish efficiency researcher is sent to improve a Norwegian farmer's kitchen habits. There is a rule that they must not speak to each other. This rule is ignored and the men become fast friends, passing afternoons sipping coffee and telling stories. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3410

Sátántangó. 2008. 4 videodiscs (435 min.). The story revolves around an abandoned agricultural collective, where a handful of lost and lonely characters eke out a living until a charismatic con man arrives to shake things up. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4897

Soul kitchen. 2010. 1 videodisc (100 min.). In Hamburg, German-Greek chef Zinos unknowingly disturbs the peace in his locals-only restaurant by hiring a more talented chef. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8390

Soylent green. 2003. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Charlton Heston plays a cop in this 21st century science-fiction horror story. The setting is New York, teeming with 40 million citizens, most of whom are out of work. Environmental erosion is almost complete and voluntary death is encouraged by government-sponsored clinics. For their food, the people have grown to rely almost totally on a greenish, wafer-like substance called soylent. As Heston investigates the murder of a magnate in the dictatorial Soylent Company, he comes face to face with the hideous truth about the secret ingredient of "Soylent Green.". HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5731

Tampopo. 1998. 1 videodisc (114 min.). Follows a young widow who runs a small noodle restaurant in Tokyo and Goro, a cowboy hat wearing truck driver, as they attempt to devise the perfect bowl of top ramen. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 35

Waitress. 2007. 1 videodisc (108 min.). Jenna is unhappily married. She squirrels away money and is hoping to win a pie-baking contest so, with the prize money, she'll have enough cash to leave her husband Earl. She finds herself pregnant and her plans are thrown awry. She bakes phenomenal pies at Joe's diner, listens to old Joe's wisdom, tolerates her sour boss Cal, is friends with her fellow waitresses, Dawn and Becky. She also finds a mutual attraction with the new doctor in town. Life with Earl becomes less tolerable as her pregnancy advances. Her way out of the marriage is less clear and her affair with the doctor is complicated by his marriage. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3641

What's cooking? 2000. 1 videodisc (109 min.). "What happens when families come together for Thanksgiving? Almost anything! Tale of four very different families, as they cook up some tasty holiday surprises: love, betrayal, and even a few outrageous secrets! And, ultimately, discover the astonishing power love has to reconnect us all"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 251

Yin shi nan nü = Eat drink man woman. World films: World films (MGM Home Entertainment Inc.). 2002. 1 videodisc (124 min.). A retired master chef and widower is worried about the future of his three unmarried daughters who are skeptical about marriage.  Yet he himself surprises them with his secret love affair with a young woman many years his junior. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5804