International Disability Policy

Encyclopedias are an excellent source for providing an overview of a topic or field of study, factual information, and definitions of critical concepts. It is often a good starting point for research.

Environmental Studies

• Beacham's Guide to the Endangered Species of North America (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6 vols. Gale Group,  2001. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Environment and Conservation (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2007. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2^nd ed.,  17 vols. Gale Group,  2003. AU Library has online print editions.

International Communication

• 21st Century Communication: A Reference Handbook (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 vols. SAGE, 2009. AU Library has online edition.
• Encyclopedia of International Media and Communications (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  4 vols. London: Academic, 2003. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Encyclopedia of Public Relations (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 vols. SAGE, 2005.  AU Library has online and print editions.

International Development

• Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6 vols. Brills, 2003. AU Library has online and print editions.

International Economic Relations

International Peace and Conflict Resolution

• Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  3vols. MacMillan Reference, 2005. AU Library has online edition.
• Historical Dictionary of the Arab-Israeli Conflict
  Scarecrow Press, 2006. AU Library has online and print editions.

International Politics and Foreign Policy

• Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2^nd ed.,  3 vols. Scribner, 2002. AU Library has online edition.
• Encyclopedia of Governance (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 vols. SAGE, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• Political Parties of the World (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6^th ed., John Harper, 2005. AU Library has online edition.

• Encyclopedia of Third Parties in America (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  3 vols. Sharpe Reference, 2000. AU Library has online edition.
• Europe, 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6 vols. Thompson/Gale, 2004. AU Library has online edition.
• Historical Atlas of the Islamic World (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  Cartographica, 2004. AU Library has online edition.
•  
• History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflicts Worldwide (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6 vols. Gale Group, 2003. AU Library has online and print editions.
• New Dictionary of the History of Ideas (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6 vols. Charles Scribner's Sons, 2005. AU Library has online edition.
•  
•  
•  
•  
•  
• West's Encyclopedia of American Law (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2^nd ed.,  13 vols. Thompson/Gale, 2004. AU Library has online edition.
• Encyclopedia of Journalism (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6 vols. SAGE 2009. AU Library has online edition.
•  
• Countries of the World and Their Leaders Yearbook 2010 (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 v,  2010. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Encyclopedia of U.S. National Security (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 vols. SAGE, 2006. AU Library has online edition.
• Historical Atlas of the Islamic World (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  Cartographica, 2004. AU Library has online edition.
• Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  4 vols. Thompson/Gale, 2002. AU Library has online edition.
• Encyclopaedia Judaica (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2^nd ed.,  22 vols. MacMillan Reference, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• Encyclopedia of Buddhism (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 vols. MacMillan Reference, 2004. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Encyclopedia of Religion (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2^nd ed.,  15 vols. MacMillan Reference, 2005. AU Library has online edition.
• New Catholic Encyclopedia (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2^nd ed.,  15 vols. Thompson/Gale, 2003. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Concise Encyclopedia of Statistics (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  Springer, 2008. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Encyclopedia of Energy (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  6 vols. Elsevier, 2004. AU Library has online and print editions.
• 21st Century Criminology: A Reference Handbook (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2vols. SAGE, 2009. AU Library has online and edition.
• Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  3vols. SAGE, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  5vols. SAGE, 2006. AU Library has online and edition.
• Encyclopedia of Bioethics (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  3^rd ed.,  5vols. MacMillan Reference, 2004. AU Library has online edition.
• Encyclopedia of Industrial and Organizational Psychology (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 vols. SAGE, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  SAGE, 2008. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Encyclopedia of Measurement and Statistics (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  3 vols. SAGE, 2007. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Encyclopedia of Social Theory (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2 vols. SAGE, 2005. AU Library has online edition.
• Encyclopedia of Sociology (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  2^nd ed.,  5 vols. Blackwell Publishing,  2001. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Encyclopedia of World Poverty (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  3 vols. SAGE, 2006. AU Library has online and print editions.
• International Encyclopedia of Organizational Studies (Gale Virtual Reference Library)
  4 vols. SAGE, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to the Earth (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2000. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Ecology (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  4th ed. Oxford University Press, 2010. AU Library has online and print editions.
•  
• A Dictionary of Geography (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  4th ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to the Garden (Oxford Reference Online: Prenium)
  Oxford University Press, 2006. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to Global Change (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  1st ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Weather (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Accounting (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 1995. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Business and Management (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  5th ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Economics (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Finance and Banking (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  4th ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Human Resource Management (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd revised ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Handbook of International Financial Terms (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2005. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Statistics (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd Revised ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to American Military History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2000. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Compation to Australian History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2003. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to Australian Military History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press 2009.
• The Oxford Companion to Black British History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of British History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  1st revised ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to Canadian History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2004. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• A Guide to Countries of the World (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2010. AU Library has online edition.
• Dynasties of the World (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2003. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to Irish History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2002. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to Scottish History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2001. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Kings and Queens of Britain (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd revised ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to Local and Family History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
• 2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Dictionary of Local and Family History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2003. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to Military History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2004. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to the History of Modern Science (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2003. AU Library has online edition.
• Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Political Biography (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 1998. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Popes (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2010. AU Library has online edition.
• An Oxford Companion to the Romantic Age (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  1st ed. Oxford University Press, 1999. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Dictionary of Saints (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  5th ed. Oxford University Press, 2004. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to Ships and the Sea (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2006. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Who's Who in the Twentieth Century (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 1999.  AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Guide to the United States Government (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2002. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to United States History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2001. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2001. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of World History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2006. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to World War II (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2003. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to American Law (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2002. American University has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2003. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Law (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  7th ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Law Enforcement (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  1st ed. Oxford University Press, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• The New Oxford Companion to Law (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  1st ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2005. AU Library has online and print edition.
• The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2005. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to American Military History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2000. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to Australian Military History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to Military History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2004. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Essential Dictionary of the U.S. Military (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2001. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dicitonary of Accounting (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  4th ed. Oxford University Press, 2010. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Oxford Companion to Australian Politics (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  1st ed. Oxford University Press, 2007. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Business and Management (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  5th ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Contemporary World History (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• A Guide to Countries of the World (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2010. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Critical Theory (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2010. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Economics (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Education (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  1st ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Finance and Banking (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  4th ed. Oxford University Press, 2008. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Geography (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  4th ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online edition.
• The Handbook of International Financial Terms (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2005. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Law (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  7th ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online edition.
• The Oxford Companion to the Mind (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2004. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Political Biography (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 1998. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Oxford Companion to the Politics of the World (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  2nd ed. Oxford University Press, 2001. AU Library has online and print editions.
• The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• A Dictionary of Psychology (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Science, Technology, and Society (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2005. AU Library has online and print editions.
• Dictionary of the Social Sciences (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  Oxford University Press, 2002. AU Library has online edition.
• A Dictionary of Sociology (Oxford Reference Online: Premium)
  3rd revised ed. Oxford University Press, 2009. AU Library has online edition.