Subject Guides: International Disability Policy: Public Policy

CRS (Congressional Research Service) Reports

Congressional Research Service Reports provide a variety of in-depth policy analysis and background summaries on every subject of interest to Congress. CRS is the nonpartisan research arm for Congress.

Here are 3 sources for CRS Reports.

CRS Reports via ProQuest Congressional
Coverage: 1916 to present.
Largest collection of Congressional Research Service Reports. This version allows the most detailed search.

CRS Reports (Congressional Research Service)
Coverage: to present. Updated: Daily.
This source from CQ Roll Call often is the first to have the latest CRS Reports.

Open CRS
Congressional Research Service Reports in the public domain, i.e. free. The least comprehensive of the three sources of CRS Reports.

Public Policy Reports

This is a list of sources that summarize or comment on government policy. The list is arranged by prominence and then alphabetically.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
A collection of research and analysis in international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies.Types of publications include working papers, policy briefs, current analysis and commentary, scholarly journal articles, e-books, and videos.
CQ Press Library
1945-2008. Updated: Every 4 years.
Congress and the Nation is a summary of Congressional policy and legislative action during the presidency since 1945. Organized into broad topics.

Congressional Digest via Academic Search Premier
Oct. 1921 to present.
Monthly reports on the pros and cons, background and verbatim arguments of legislation before Congress, each issue dealing with one law under consideration.

more... less...

AU Library also has microform of the Congressional Digest from 1989-present on site and print volumes from 1951-2011 in storage see catalog record.

CQ Researcher
Access is limited to 5 concurrent users.
The CQ Researcher explores a single "hot" issue in the news in depth each week. Topics range from social and teen issues to environment, health, education and science and technology.
Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL)
Collection of homeland security policy and strategy related documents. From the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.
IMF E-Library
Contains the working papers as well as books, periodicals, and reports published by the International Monetary Fund.
OECD Publications
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.

PolicyArchive
Archive of global, non-partisan public policy research.

RAND Reports
RAND is a nonprofit public policy research institution and think tank. Founded after World War II with a focus on national security, their portfolio grew starting in the 1960s to include domestic issues such as health, education, sustainability, criminal and civil justice, and development. Full text thousands of reports, articles, and working papers. Covers 1946-present.
World Bank
Contains over 1,700 World Bank books and reports (1968 to present; all titles from 2000 to present) and over 2,400 Policy Research Working Papers.

Air University Press Books and Papers
Publications of the U.S. Air Force's Air University Press.
Marine Corps University Press Books
Books produced by the Marine Corps University Press from 1920 to present. They tend to be more historical rather than policy focused.
National Defense University Press
Scholarship produced by the National Defense University Press on defense and national security issues and policies. Includes books, the journals Joint Force Quarterly and PRISM, and magazines.

PolicyMap
Integrates data including demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, labor data and more with web-based GIS. This allows users to view data on maps, table, and charts.
** Access restricted to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **

** There was an update made to our authentication to this resource on August 20, 2024. Existing users will be prompted to verify their accounts by inputting a code sent to their @american.edu email. **

Think Tanks and Research Organizations

The Nippon Institute for Research Advancement (NIRA) provides a list of think tanks and other research organizations organized by name and country.

Nippon Institute for Research Advancement: Links to Research Institute Homepages
Seeking to support the implementation of research activities and the formulation of policy proposals by research institutions, researchers, and policy practitioners involved in public policy, based on its own research, NIRA has compiled a list of 450 relevant institutions and think tanks in almost 100 countries and regions throughout the world.

The following think tanks are not included in NIRA's list of think tanks. This list will be expanded as more examples are suggested.

European Council on Foreign Relations
The European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR) is an award-winning international think-tank that aims to conduct cutting-edge independent research on European foreign and security policy and to provide a safe meeting space for decision-makers, activists and influencers to share ideas. We build coalitions for change at the European level and promote informed debate about Europe’s role in the world.
Mahbub ul Haq Research Centre
The Mahbub ul Haq Research Centre (MHRC) is the flagship centre of social science research at LUMS. It supports interdisciplinary research and scholarship.