Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Rock n Roll and it's offspring: R - Z

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2012

Rock n Roll Filmography - and its offspring

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2012. 

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library – including the Music Library located in the Katzen Center. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. For complete up-to-date holdings (including VHS tapes) please refer to the library ALADIN catalog (www.catalog.wrlc.org)

 

note: This list includes the following genres - early rock and roll, r&b, punk, rock movies, reggae, progressive rock, heavy metal, folk rock, hip-hop, motown.

Ray. 2006.  1 videodisc (153 min.). Ray Charles was born in a poor predominantly black town in central Florida. He went blind at the age of 7. With the staunch support of his determined single mother, he developed a fierce resolve. He had wit and incredible talent which would eventually enable him to overcome not only Jim Crow racism and the cruel prejudices against the blind, but also discover his own sound which revolutionized American popular music. Nonetheless, as Ray's unprecedented fame grew, so did his weakness for drugs and women, until they threatened to strip away the very things he held most dear. Music Library DVD 296

Respect yourself the Stax Records story. 2007.  1 videodisc (114 min.). With rare performances, previously unreleased home movies and new recordings, filmmakers Robert Gordon and Morgan Neville present the first comprehensive look at Stax Records, the greatest soul label of all time.  Provides first-hand accounts of what really happened on the streets and behind studio doors from celebrated musicians such as Isaac Hayes, Booker T. Jones, Steve Cropper and Mavis Staples, as well as label president Al Bell, Rev. Jesse Jackson and others.  -- Container. DVD 5339

Rock 'n' roll high school. 2001.  Roger Corman classics.  1 videodisc (94 min.). In the tradition of Sixties beach party and teen-movie nonsense, Rock 'n' Roll High School is the story of Vince Lombardi High, whose fun-loving students at are sorely oppressed by their new authoritarian principal.  There is also making out, hall monitors, exploding white mice, a shy, bookish lovesick girl who only wants to be noticed by the studly BMOC, and a spirited bad girl carrying a torch for the pizza-gobbling singer of a rock band.  In the end, the school goes up in innocent, pre-Columbine flames, while goofy, good-natured, infectious silliness is accompanied by the revved-up Ramones at their red-hot, rubber-burning foot-to-the-floor best.  Too bad that there isn't drive-in nearby to screen it. HU DVD 6546

Rock & roll. 95.  5 videocassettes (565 min.). Takes an informative and entertaining look at the world of rock and roll. Includes interviews with performers and people who are professionally involved in music and features a sampling of music by rock performers.  VHS 3721-3725

Rockers. 99.  1 videodisc (99 min.). Offers a funny, complex picture of life among poor Jamaican Rastafarians, including cogent commentary about the music business, marriage and the conventions of the adventure film, backed by a reggae score. HU DVD 157

The Rocky Horror picture show. 2002.  1 videodisc (100 min.). A mixture of fantastical rock opera and horror movie spoof. A couple of ordinary kids have car trouble one dark and rainy night and knock on the door of a looming gothic mansion. They are stunned to learn that they have stumbled into an ongoing convention of kinky characters, hosted by Dr. Frank-N-Furter, a mad scientist from the planet Transsexual. HU DVD 279 

The Rolling Stones gimme shelter. 2000.  Criterion collection: Criterion collection (DVD videodiscs).  1 videodisc (91 min.). A documentary on the Rolling Stones' 1969 tour of the United States, including a performance at Madison Square Garden and a free concert at the Altamont Speedway in California where violence broke out between fans and Hell's Angels who were providing security. Includes performances by Ike and Tina Turner, the Jefferson Airplane and the Flying Burrito Brothers. This special version also contains never-before-seen performances from the Madison Square Garden show, audio commentary by directors Albert Maysles and Charlotte Zwerin, excerpts from KSAN Radio's Altamont wrap-up, an Altamont stills gallery featuring the work of photographers Bill Owens and Beth Sunflower, original and re-release theatrical trailers, plus trailers for Maysles films Grey gardens and Salesman, filmographies for Maysles Films and Charlotte Zwerin, and a restoration demonstration. DVD 973

Romantic warriors a progressive music saga. 2010.  1 videodisc (95 min.). Inspired by classical progressive rock bands of 40 years ago such as King Crimson, Emerson Lake, and Palmer and Pink Floyd, young bands of today have transformed progressive music into something new. Ignored by today's music industry but empowered by the tools of the Internet, these young bnads are trying to find their audience while crafting a personal sound as an alternative to mainstream music. HU DVD 9518

Rude boy. 2006.  1 videodisc (133 min.). "Set in the U.K. of 1978 and filmed as a fictional documentary, Rude Boy follows Ray as he quits his job in a London sex shop to become a roadie for the most exciting live band in the country, The Clash. Part character study, part "rockumentary," Rude Boy portrays the disillusionment of youth at a time of economic decline in late '70s Britain"--Container. Music Library DVD 147

Rush/2112 Rush, Moving pictures. 2010.  Classic albums.  1 videodisc (112 min.). The story behind the making of the Rush albums 2112 (1976) and Moving pictures (1981). Band members Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, and Neil Peart talk viewers through the making of the albums, together with original producer Terry Brown, via interviews, demonstrations, archive videos, and examination of the original multi-track tapes. Music Library DVD 175

The Rutles. 2001.  1 videodisc (73 min.). Rutland Weekend Television takes a look at the Pre-fab Four: Dirk, Barry, Stig and Nasty; better known as the Rutles. This documentary follows their career from their early days in Liverpool and Hamburg's infamous Rat-Keller, to their amazing worldwide success. A parody of Beatlemania and the many serious documentaries made about the Beatles. HU DVD 10187 

Saturday night fever. Ã2007.  1 videodisc (118 min.). Tony is an undereducated Brooklyn teenager who is bored with his daytime job. The highlight of his week is going to the local disco, where he is the king of the dance floor. Tony meets Stephanie at the disco and they agree to dance together in a competition. Stephanie resists Tony's attempts to romance her, as she aspires to greater things. Gradually, Tony also becomes disillusioned with the life he is leading and he and Stephanie decide to help one another to start afresh. HU DVD 3123

Say my name. 2009.  1 videodisc (73 min.). "In a hip-hop and r&b world dominated by men and noted for misogyny, the unstoppable female lyricists of SAY MY NAME speak candidly about class, race, and gender in pursuing their passions as female emcees. This worldwide documentary takes viewers on [a] vibrant tour of urban culture[s] and musical movement[s], from hip hop's birthplace in the Bronx, to grime on London's Eastside and all points Philly, Detroit, Chicago, Atlanta, and L.A. in between ... Delves into the amazing personal stories of women balancing professional dreams with the stark realities of poor urban communities, race, sexism, and motherhood, as the more than 18 artist featured in [the film] battle for a place in a society that creates few chances for women. From emerging artists filled with new creativity, to true pioneers like MC Lyte, Roxanne Shante, and Monie Love, these are women turning adversity into art " -- http://www.wmm.com/filmCatalog/pages/c754.shtml. DVD 8461

School of rock. 2004.  Widescreen DVD collection.  1 videodisc (109 min.). When his band votes him out due to his embarrassing musical antics, Dewey has to make the rent somehow. After intercepting a call for his substitute-teacher roomie Ned, Dewey finds himself in front of a class of elite elementary school students. Dewey decides to take on the music program and makes it his goal to teach them the gospel of rock and roll. His ulterior motive is to get them to compete against his former band for a cash prize. HU DVD 838 

Scott Walker 30 century man. 2009.  1 videodisc (95 min.). A rare glimpse into the creative world of the most enigmatic figure in rock history, and the undeniable impact he has had on popular music, shown through casual interviews with David Bowie, Sting, Radiohead, Brian Eno, and many more. Music Library DVD 170 

Scratch. 2002.  2 videodiscs (92 min.). "Here are some of the world's best DJs, those famous for solo scratching, competing in international DJ battles, playing for rap artists, or just rocking parties with the most insane records ever dug up. Check out dynamic performances and interviews with DJs Qbert, Z-Trip, Mix Master Mike (of the Beastie Boys), Rob Swift and the X-ecutioners, Cut Chemist & NuMark (of Jurassic 5), DJ Craze, DJ Shadow, The Bullet Proof Space Travelers, Babu (of Dilated Peoples), KF Krush, DJ Premier (Gang Starr), and others, along with "old-school" innovators like Afrika Bambaataa and Grand Wizard Theodore." -- container. HU DVD 473

Sex Pistols Never mind the bollocks here's the Sex Pistols. 2002.  Classic albums.  1 videodisc (100 min.). This film tells the story, song by song, of the making of the Sex Pistols' only studio album, "Never Mind the Bollocks, Here's the Sex Pistols."  Interviews with band members, their manager, producers, and graphic designer, as well as journalists and technicians present unique insights on the band as musicians.  Along with concert footage, home movie footage, promotional videos, and early demo recordings, this film examines the music of the Sex Pistols, as opposed to their place in the social, economic, political, or cultural history of Britain.  The Sex Pistols created something that, despite countless imitators, remains a phenomenon unprecedented in the annals of rock music. Music Library DVD 151 

Shine a light. 2008.  1 videodisc (121 min.). Recorded at New York's Beacon Theatre during the fall of 2006, and features performances by The Rolling Stones with special guests Christina Aguilera, Jack White, and Buddy Guy. Music Library DVD 145 

Sid & Nancy. 2007.  1 videodisc (113 min.). Sex Pistols bassist Sid Vicious falls hard for groupie Nancy Spungen. She seduces him with her affection and addiction to heroin. Their inseparable bond to each other and their continued drug abuse eventually destroys the band, sending Sid and Nancy down the dark road of despair. Out of money and options, the two hit bottom while living in squalor at New York's Chelsea Hotel. The two decide to fulfill their destiny by going out in a blaze of glory. DVD 6554 

Standing in the shadows of Motown. 2003.  2 videodiscs (107 min.). The story of the Funk Brothers, the group of musicians that played on every single hit Motown record from the label's beginnings to 1972. Inspired by the book "Standing in the shadows of Motown" by Allan "Dr. Licks" Slutsky. HU DVD 8625

Stop making sense. 99.  1 videodisc (129 min.). A film of the Talking Heads in concert. HU DVD 4779

Straight outta L.A June 17th, 1994. 2010.  1 videodisc (102 min.). Straight outta L.A.: "During the 13 short seasons the Raiders played in Los Angeles, the team's colors, aura and superstar players became a cultural phenomenon. As a member of legendary rap group N.W.A., director Ice Cube found himself at the crossroads between the birthplace of hip-hop in Los Angeles and the bone-crunching intensity of the L.A. Raider. Straight outta L.A. takes a look at the unlikely marriage between the NFL's rebel franchise and America's glamour capital."--Container. June 17th, 1994: "The New York Rangers celebrated on Broadway, the FIFA World Cup kicked off in Chicago, Arnold Palmer played his last round at a U.S. Open, Patrick Ewing pursued a long evasive championship in the Garden, and yet all of that was a prelude to O.J. Simpson leading America on a slow speed chase around Los Angeles."--Container. HU DVD 7906 

Style wars. 2003.  2 videodiscs (210 min.). A documentary exploration of the subculture of New York's young graffiti writers and breakdancers, showing their activities and aspirations and the social and aesthetic controversies surrounding New York graffiti. Dramatizes conflicts between graffitists and the city, as well as among the graffitists themselves. DVD 9758

Sweet Toronto. 98.  Pioneer Artists concert film series.  1 videodisc (ca. 56 min.). Opens with scenes of Yoko at the opening of the John Lennon Art Exhibit in London, Sept. 1988. Then shows never before seen film footage of the 1969 Rock & Roll Revival in Toronto, John Lennon's first performance before a live audience in over three years, and his first time with the Plastic Ono Band. Music Library DVD 5

Sympathy for the devil. 2003.  1 videodisc (101 min.). Scenes from a Rolling Stones rehearsal/recording session alternating with "sequences of pop political cartoons". HU DVD 7082 

Tex-Mex music of the Texas Mexican borderlands. 2001.  Beats of the heart.  1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). Tex-Mex music is an exuberant style with a Mexican soul and a rock'n'roll heart.  It combines styles of corida, norteno and others, is full of joy and energy, but shows significance through its lyrics about social problems. HU DVD 268

This is Spinal Tap. 2000.  1 videodisc (83 min.). Once upon a time, Spinal Tap had a big hit song. Now, nearly two decades later, Spinal Tap still clings to some glint of their lost glory as they embark on an accident-plagued tour across America. HU DVD 538 

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers/Damn the torpedoes. 2010.  Classic albums.  1 videodisc (98 min.). The third album by Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers, released in 1979, has long been regarded as a classic. A mix of rootsy American rock 'n' roll and the best of the British invasion, of jangling Byrds guitars and Stones-like rhythms, Damn the torpedoes was the album that took Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers into the major league, and re-defined American rock. This DVD tells the story behind the creation of this great rock 'n' roll album and the dramatic transformation in the band's career that took place following its release. Through interviews, new and archive performances and analysis we discover how Tom Petty, Mike Campbell, Benmont Tench, Ron Blair and Stan Lynch created their songs and sounds with the help of co-producer Jimmy Iovine and engineer Shelly Yakus. Music Library DVD 180 

Tommy the movie. 99.  1 videodisc (111 min.). A classic rock opera about a boy who is traumatized by the death of his father. He is "cured" several years later, only to be hailed as a "Messiah.". HU DVD 7465 

The tomorrow show with Tom Snyder. 2006.  2 videodiscs (320 min.). As the popularity of punk and new wave in the '70s and '80s took flight, the groundbreaking late night talk program The Tomorrow Show welcomed many of the key figures of the genre.  Includes explosive live performances and revealing interviews. Music Library DVD 139 

Tributary a study of an American pop culture subculture. 2002.  1 videodisc (70 min.). A glimpse inside the world of "tribute bands": rock bands which imitate other, more popular rock bands. Groups such as AC/DC, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Rush, and others all have tribute bands, whose members dress, sing, play, and act like their music idols. Includes interviews with tribute band members, and footage from various tribute concerts. DVD 879

The U.S. vs John Lennon. 2007.  1 videodisc (96 min.). The story of John Lennon's evolution from beloved Beatle to an outspoken artist and activist to iconic inspiration for peace, and how, in the midst of one of the most tumultuous times in American history, Lennon stood his ground, refused to be silenced and courageously won his battle with the U.S. Government. HU DVD 3078 

U2 The Joshua tree. 2006.  Classic albums.  1 videodisc (60 min.). Follows the creation of the 1987 album "The Joshua tree" by the rock group U2. Music Library DVD 157

Viva Las Vegas. 2007.  1 videodisc (85 min.). Lucky Jackson arrives in town with his car literally in tow ready for the first Las Vegas Grand Prix. At least, he will be ready to race once he has the money to buy an engine. He gets the cash easily enough, but loses it when a pretty swimming pool manager takes his mind off things. It seems he will lose both the race and the girl. His problems don't get any easier when rival Elmo Mancini, a fellow racer and womanizer, gets in the way. HU DVD 6097

Walk the line. 2006.  1 videodisc (ca. 136 min.). Traces Johnny Cash's childhood, including his distant father to his early attempts at a music career. At this point in his life he marries his girlfriend Vivian. During a tour with singer/musicians Elvis and Jerry Lee Lewis, he encounters singer June Carter, and his love for her, and her rejection of him through the years, spurs him into drugs, drinking, and depression. June is both a sassy spitfire singer whose charm breaks hearts and eventually becomes a sympathetic friend who tries to help Johnny get over her. A true love story of two country music stars. HU DVD 1899 

The way the music died. 2004.  1 videodisc (ca. 60 min.). The modern music scene was created in 1969, at Woodstock. Half a million fans, dozens of artists, and the politics of the times came together as a big bang moment that eventually would generate billions of dollars. But over the last twenty years, MTV, compact discs, corporate consolidation, Internet piracy, and greed have contributed to a perfect storm for the recording industry. Frontline examines how the business that has provided the soundtrack of the lives of a generation is on the verge of collapse. DVD 1047 

We are the future. 2007.  1 videodisc (119 min.). Nearly two decades after producing the historic 'We Are the World' recording, Quincy Jones gathers many of the world's best-recognized artists and personalities for a global concert marking the launch of a worldwide humanitarian effort. DVD 8816 

Who is Harry Nilsson (and why is everybody talkin' about him)? 2010.  1 videodisc (116 min.). A brand new portrait of the late Grammy Award-winning musician, Harry Nilsson, who the Beatles once proclaimed as their favorite artist. This gripping retrospective traces Nilsson's rise and his turbulent life as seen by many friends, including Ringo Starr, John Lennon, Dustin Hoffman, Jon Voight, Brian Wilson, Randy Newman, Richard Perry, Robin Williams, and more. Music Library DVD 159 

The Who The kids are alright. 2003.  2 videodiscs (109 min.). Experience the most explosive rock band ever to take the stage. If you've never experienced them live, get ready because you're going to feel like you’re on stage with Pete, Roger, John and Keith during their rise through the rock n' roll hierarchy. Music Library DVD 144 

The Who/Who's next. 2006?  Classic albums: Classic albums.  1 videodisc (60 min.). "Who's next is viewed by many as the greatest testament to the songwriting talent of Pete Townshend and the musical power of The Who. When the album was released in 1971 it climbed to the number 1 spot on the British Album chart and remained in the top 50 for over three months. In the United States, the album went top 5 on the Billboard chart and remained in the top 40 for five months. The story of how The Who came to record the album is told by group members Pete Townshend, Roger Daltrey, and John Entwistle, together with contributions by those who were close to the group during the making of this classic album."--Container. Music Library DVD 179

The wild side Make it funky. 95.  Rock & roll.  1 videodisc (120 min.). Make it funky: soul music stretches to create a rock n' roll revolution in rhythm and attitude in the '70's. Innovators James Brown, Sly and the Family Stone, George Clinton and bass players Larry Graham and Bootsy Collins take viewers on a tour of funk as the music becomes bolder and more expressive of the realities of black life. Filmed in New York, San Francisco and Philadelphia, the program also examines how funky dance hits blazed a musical trail to the disco-craze of the late '70's. The wild side: tours through the rock n' roll theatrics of the '70's, when bands like the Velvet Underground, the Doors and David Bowie brought the decadent dramas of life in the underground into the limelight. Take a walk down the darker side of the streets of Los Angeles, New York, Detroit and Berlin with the Door's Ray Manzarek and producer Paul Rothchild, Lou Reed, Iggy Pop, David Bowie, Alice Cooper and Kiss' Gene Simmons and Paul Stanley. DVD 9454 

Wild style. 2002.  1 videodisc (82 min.). Wild Style tells the story of street artists in the South Bronx who put on a large outdoor performance to showcase their unique talents: graffiti, hip hop, and break dancing. The plot concerns the tension between graffiti artist Zoro's passion for his art, and his personal life, particularly his strained relationship with fellow graffiti artist, Rose. HU DVD 5799

Woodstock 3 days of peace and music. 2009.  4 videodiscs (225 min.). This documentary film captures the unique communal experience and many of the performances of the most famous of outdoor rock concerts. HU DVD 1

Yellow submarine. 2005.  1 videodisc (90 min.). An animated feature-film which has the Beatles on an odyssey to Pepperland.The film is an anthology of contemporary art and graphic design of the late sixties - surrealism, art nouveau, op and pop-art - brought together by designer Heinz Edelmann's flattened comic strip. HU DVD 8983