Many of these databases include a variety of sources including books, journal articles, newspapers, and conference proceedings. Always consult your syllabus and instructor to determine the source expectations for your research, and use features within the databases to find resources that meet those specifications. When in doubt about peer review, check for information on a given journal's website for publication and review standards.
The NCJRS Abstracts database is produced by the U.S. Department of Justice and contains summaries of over 189,000 U.S. and international publications on research, policy, and practice related to criminal and juvenile justice and drug control. The publications covered are from 1970 to present and include federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, audiovisual presentations, and unpublished research.
Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage is from 1952 to the present.
Social Services Abstracts (CSA)Citations and abstracts from over 1,800 serials as well as dissertations on social work, human services, social welfare, and social policy.
A comprehensive collection of full-text PDF (or text) images of major law journal articles, including back issues.
Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics.
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than one million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTOR’s interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
Text: (571) 248-7542
