Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Because the library provides information in a varitey of formats (not just PDFs of full-text articles), finding your source/s is often the final step of the search process. When you're ready to get your hands (or eyes) on your sources, ask yourself the following questions:
What is it?
Books, articles, dvds, etc. are all found in different ways. Most books will be found on a shelf, whereas most articles are found online. Knowing what your item is will help you find it.
Does AU Library own it / own access to it?
AU Library is part of a library consortium (the WRLC). This means that if we don't have a book, but Georgetown does, you may borrow their copy (it will even be delivered here for you to pick up). If we don't have access to an article, one of the consortium libraries will send you a PDF. This means that before you try finding a book on the shelves here at AU, you should make sure that we actually have a copy in the building.
If AU doesn't own it, do I have time to request a copy?
Requesting a book from a WRLC library is quick, but it will take 24 hours [CONFIRM for Fall 2013] for it to arrive. If we don't have have the full-text of an article, you'll also need to plan on 24 hours [CONFIRM] for the PDF to be delivered to your library account.
If AU Library does own it, where is it [BOOK]?
First, check the location (AU: Stacks, AU: Visual Arts Collection, AU: Reference, AU: Media Services, AU: Reserves, etc.) to find out which (part of which) building you'll need. Next, copy the entire call number to find out which floor, and which shelf your book can be found on.
If AU Library does own it, where is it [ARTICLE]?
If AU Library has access to the full-text of an article, clicking on the title should connect you to the full-text. If the full-text is not immediately available, you should see the The Find It! Button. This provides direct links from article citations to the full-text article, or if online full-text is not available, to the ALADIN catalog (for print copies available through AU Library or WRLC) or Interlibrary Loan services (for requesting a loan from another library).
If AU Library does own it, where is it [MEDIA]?
To check out a film, visit Media Services on the lower level of the library. Present the call number and/or title to the person at the desk, and they will retrieve your film for you. Sound recordings are held at both Media Services and the Music Library (in Katzen). Check the location to find out where your sound recording is located.
For More Information:
The answer to these questions (and many others) are found in American University Library's "Find More Answers! - The AU Library Knowledgebase"
How to Find a Book in AU Library Stacks TL
Explore the image below -- mouseover the targets to learn more about how to find books in the AU Library stacks.