To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
A model for conservation. 2011. 1 videodisc (18 min.). Outlines a conservation model implemented on the island of Buton in Indonesia with the goal of protecting the forest and increasing the economic status for the area surrounding the forest. The forest is completely protected at its center, then circled by partial protection, then surrounded by an outer ring of forest open to logging and human use. Primate scientist Nancy Priston studies troops of rhesus monkeys (Macaca mulatta) and other macaques (Macaca) that raid local farmers’ crops and gardens, attempting to find a solution to stop the raiding without harming the monkeys. The forest is also being protected because primate specialists believe that they have found a new species of tarsier (Tarsius) found only in this forest. DVD 11722.
Arrows against the wind. 1992. 1 videodisc (52 min.). Describes the culture and traditional way of life of the Dani amd Asmat, indigenous peoples of West Papua (Irian Jaya), and the social, political and environmental upheaval they have endured since the beginning of Indonesian rule in 1963 and continue to endure due to Indonesia’s use of tribal land for minerals extraction and the re-settlement of Indonesia’s surplus population. Outlines their continuing struggle for social justice and self-determination. DVD 11343.
Āyinahʹhā-yi rūbirū = Facing Mirrors. 2012. 1 videodisc (102 min.). "Rana has chosen a path in order to support her family, while Adineh (Eddie) has fled his home and city to escape his complicated situation as a transsexual man prevented from living as his true self by his family. They find themselves on the same journey and caused to know each other in a better way."--From IMDB listing. DVD 11365.
Beatrice Wood : mama of Dada. 1993. 1 videodisc (55 min.). This documentary on the life of potter Beatrice Wood provides a glimpse into her life, loves and influences. Includes archival photographs, original artwork, commentary by art historians and interviews with the artist. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11776.
Bitter roots: the ends of a Kalahari myth. 2011. 1 videodisc (71 min.). Bitter roots is set in Nyae-Nyae, a region of Namibia located in southern Africa’s Kalahari desert, traditional home of the Ju/’hoansi. It updates the ethnographic film record begun in the 1950s by John Marshall, whose films documented 50 years of change, and who together with Claire Ritchie, established a grass-roots development foundation, which Adrian Strong (the filmmaker) joined in the late 1980s. Shot in 2007, two years after Marshall’s death (and including footage from his films), Bitter Roots documents the return of Strong and Ritchie to Nyae-Nyae where they observe the erosion of a community-led development process following the imposition of a new agenda led by the World Wildlife Fund, which prioritizes wildlife conservation and tourism over subsistence farming. Communities voice their dissatisfaction with the new Conservancy, which has done little to help people farm and improve their lives. DVD 11720.
Bulaq : among the ruins of an unfinished revolution : a documentary film. 2011. 1 videodisc (26 min.). "On 25th January thousands of Egyptians gathered in Cairo’s Tahir Square, sparking what we call now The Egyptian Revolution. Only a few hundred meters far from the world-famous square, the people from popular neighborhood Bulaq joined protesters, finding in demonstrations something more than a glimmer of hope. Through their voice, ’Bulaq’ portrays their collective struggle against eviction and social marginalisation, whose destiny seems to be strictly intertwined with the hesitant fortunes of the Egyptian spring."--Davide Morandini ; transcribed from container. DVD 10441.
Crazy sexy cancer. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 90 min.). Diagnosed with an incurable form of cancer, 31 year-old Kris Carr exits her acting career upon diagnosis to film her journey for the next four years. Take a view into the intimate, anguishing - and sometimes humorous - world of living with cancer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3633.
Despues de Lucia = After Lucia. Cinema Grande. 2013. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Ever since becoming a widower Roberto has neglected her fifteen years old teenage daughter Alejandra. Plunged into depression he decides to relocate to Mexico City. At her new school, the girl will tolerate in silence the emotional abuse and humiliations of every kind in order to not take her problems home. Father and daughter start to grow apart and violence will become present in all aspects of their lives. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7632.
Documented : a film by an undocumented American. 2013. 1 videodisc (approximately 89 min.). DVD 6426.
Fate of a salesman. 2014. 1 videodisc (27 min.). "After 60 years of business, Men’s Fashion Center faces its biggest challenge: a tough economy and a gentrifying neighborhood. For the salesmen whose identity, legacy and redemption are tied to the store, they must come to terms with a new future"--Film’s website. DVD 12181.
Glacial balance. 2014. 1 videodisc (95 min.). A journey along the spine of the Andes mountain range, from Colombia to Argentina, getting to know the individuals and lives of those who are first affected by the dwindling tropical glacier reserve, the canaries in the mine. Along the way, scientists give us a perspective on what is happening in the natural world and what we can expect. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11956.
Hue : a matter of colour. 2014. 1 videodisc (85 min.). An exploration of the ways in which assumptions and stereotypes about skin color affect the lives of people in societies around the world, within ethnic groups, and even within families. Filmaker Vic Sarin travels to Brazil, India, Jamaica, Tanzania, Canada, the Philippines, and South Africa to tell the stories of individuals and communities and to explore the historical roots of colorism. DVD 12255.
I will be murdered. 2013. 1 videodisc (53 min.). "Guatemala 2009. Wealthy and charismatic lawyer Rodrigo Rosenberg Marzano was shot and killed near his home. A few days later, a YouTube video, in which Rosenberg pronounces his contempt for the situation in his country and its government, is uploaded. The video closes with Rosenberg’s words, "Unfortunately, ladies and gentleman, you are watching this video because I was murdered by the President Álvaro Colom.’ The video quickly went viral and led to a national crisis, rallying massive demonstrations and protests in favor of justice and against then president AÁlvaro Colom. With streets and squares filled with banners calling for his resignation, Colom called in help from the UN-formed commission against impunity, the CICIG, and high-profile Spanish attorney Carlos Castresana" DVD 5223.
In the land of the head hunters. The Milestone Cinematheque. 2014. 2 videodiscs (approximately 110 min.). Presents an epic saga of Kwakiutl Indian life on the northwest coast of America as filmed in the summer of 1914 at Kwakiutl villages on Vancouver Island, Canada. Performed entirely by Kwakwaka’wakw natives. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11949.
Kumu hula : keepers of a culture. 1999. 1 videodisc (85 min.). A documentary on the hula, the dance brought to the Hawaiian Islands by the Polynesians in 500 A.D., passed on through the generations by kahuna (priests and sages) and kuma hula (master teachers). HOME USE COLLECTION 8929.
Long journey home. 1987. 1 videodisc (58 min.). A study of a contemporary Appalachian family that moved to a large city and then returned to the Appalachian region. It is a documentary about migration and the struggle of people racked by economic imperatives and their desire to maintain a homeplace. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12042.
Malawi’s green revolution. 2011. "Malawi’s Green Revolution began with scientists devising and field-testing high-yielding maize and fertilizer cropping combinations. It became a reality in 1998 when for two years the Starter Pack program put small packs of the new inputs into the hands of all of Malawi’s 2.8 million small farmers. The revolution stalled when that program ended. At higher cost, it resumed in 2005 when a price subsidy made the new inputs widely available." -- Back of container. DVD 11715.
Nong jia le = Peasant family happiness. 2013. 1 videodisc (70 min.). This ethnographic film depicts the everyday experience of ’doing tourism’ in two rural, ethnic tourism destinations in contemporary China. : Ping’an and Upper Jidao villages. Focusing on the perspectives of village residents, this film portrays how modern, rural Chinese negotiate between the day-to-day consequences of tourist arrivals in their homes villages and ideal projections of who they are and what their lives can achieve through tourism development. DVD 12080.
One drop. 2001. 1 videodisc (45 min.). Explores the recurring and divisive issue in African American communities of skin color. The film inter-cuts intimate interviews with darker skinned African Americans, lighter skinned African Americans and inter-racial children of black and white parents. It investigates the sensitive topic of color consciousness within the African American community. DVD 12266.
Revolutionary medicine : a story of the first Garifuna hospital = Medicina revolucionaria : una historia del primer hospital Garífuna. 2013. 1 videodisc (40 min., 49 sec.). "Could a remote hospital that runs on solar panels, in a community without paved roads or electricity, provide a global model for health care? Since arriving in Honduras in 1797, the Gairfuna people have struggled against exclusion, discrimination and dispossession of their land. Today, their first hospital provides holistic care, for free, without receiving a cent from the government. This is a story of how and why they do it"--DVD container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6406.
Sing your song. 2012. 1 videodisc (ca. 104 min.). Told with a remarkable sense of intimacy, visual style and musical panache, Susanne Rostock’s inspiring biographical documentary surveys the life and times of singer/actor/activist Harry Belafonte. From his rise to fame as a singer and his experiences touring a segregated country to his provocative crossover into Hollywood, Belafonte’s groundbreaking career personifies the American civil rights movement. HOME USE COLLECTION 5224.
Standing on sacred ground. 2013. 4 videodiscs (ca. 228 min.). Documents how indigenous peoples stand up for their traditional sacred lands in defense of cultural survival, human rights and the environment. Volume 1: In the Russian republic of Altai, people create their own mountain parks and resist a gas pipeline. In Northern California, Winnemem Witu girls grind herbs on a sacred rock, as elders protest government plans to enlarge a dam. Volume 2: In Papua New Guinea, villagers clash with a Chinese-owned mine. In Alberta, Canada, First nations people are facing rare cancers as their hunting grounds are stripmined. Volume 3: In the Gamo highlands of Ethiopia, scientists confirm the indigenous customs that protect biodiversity, while tensions with evangelical Christians result in a riot over a meadow. In the Peruvian Andes, the Q’eros are driven from a ritual glacier by intolerant Catholics. Volume 4: In Australia’s Northern territory, Aboriginal clans maintain protected areas and resist the temptation of a mining boom. In Hawaii, indigenous ecological and spiritual practices are used to restore previously land used as a bombing range by the military. DVD 6428.
The ascent of man : a personal view by J. Bronowski. 2007. 5 videodiscs (676 min.). A massive survey of science from flint tools to the theory of relativity. It was made as a science counterpart to Sir Kenneth Clark’s series Civilisation, with Jacob Bronowski presenting his own view of science and mankind. HOME USE COLLECTION 12006.
The black kungfu experience. 2013. 1 videodisc (57 min.). The Black Kungfu Experience traces the rise of black kungfu in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s to the martial arts scene of today. Chinese and African American experiences evolve differently yet converge; they challenge political and social persecution. The film focuses on a group of African American pioneers. Their stories illustrate how the legacy of kungfu is less about flash and style, and more about community, identity, and cross-cultural bridges. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3637.
The courtesans of Bombay. 2005. 1 videodisc (74 min.). Pavan Pool is an enclosed area of Bombay where the city’s singing and dancing courtesans ply their trade. Crammed tenements house thousands of men playing up to the camera as they seek out forbidden pleasures - and the courtesans themselves, who appear more as entertainers than sex workers. It shows how young girls are groomed in the arts of singing, dancing, and by inference, seduction. The film is about a tradition with a special place in Indian society: the entertainment of paying customers - always men - by songstresses and dancers who perform in the classical Hindustani styles of the ancient "nautch" girls. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11491.
The fault in our stars. 2014. 1 videodisc (126 min.). Hazel and Gus are two extraordinary teenagers who share an acerbic wit, a disdain for the conventional, and a love that sweeps them on an unforgettable journey. Their relationship is all the more miraculous, given that they met and fell in love at a cancer support group. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11477.
The primal mind. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 58 min.). Incorporates scenic views, still photographs, and vintage footage in examining the contrasts between traditional native American concepts and European-based American cultures. Focuses on differences related to art, nature, architecture, and time. DVD 12019.
The water of words: a cultural ecology of a small island in eastern Indonesia. 2007. 1 videodisc (30 min.). Explores the interrelationship between ecology and poetry as seen on the Indonesian island of Roti, where the juice of the lontar palm provides the dietary mainstay and is the focus of ritual poetry. DVD 11714.
Two spirits : native lesbians and gays. Rock the Boat. 1994. 1 videodisc (28 min.). Using excerpts from Mujeria II: primitive and proud, Honored by the moon, and Me and Mr. Mauri, the present status of, and attitudes toward, Native American lesbians and gays is examined. DVD 5211.
Water and the dream of the engineers. Changing American city series. 2011. 1 videodisc (80 min.). Explores the forgotten roots of our water systems as a background to the present conflicts between environmentalists and engineers. Explores current conflicts between these groups in regard to maintaining New York City’s old water system and sludge dumping. Also examines the water wars in California and the problems of contaminated water supplies in New Orleans. DVD 11724.