To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
1 pm. 1971. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Documentary film begun by director Godard and completed by D.A. Pennebaker, who was originally hired to film it. The film portrays the political and cultural upheaval evident in the United States during the late 1960’s through a combination of interviews with such figures as Eldridge Cleaver and Tom Hayden, alternating with dramatic episodes. DVD 5220.
8 1/2. 1980. 1 videodisc (138 min.). Fellini’s acclaimed semi-autobiographical film that wanders through his life and fantasies. Bonus features include rare photographs, interviews, documentaries, commentary, and a booklet featuring essays by critics Tullio Kezich and Alexander Sesonske and writings by Fellini. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 369.
A happy mother’s day. 1963. 1 videodisc (55 min.). The filmmakers follow the Fischer family during the days just after the birth of the quintuplets to the parade celebrating their one month birthday. Leacock was hired by the Saturday Evening Post to make a film about the Fischer quintuplets. When he showed the completed film to his sponsors, they did not approve of it. ABC acquired rights to all the footage he shot and made their own film entitled "The Fischer quintuplets". These unfortunate difficulties do allow a unique opportunity to contrast Leacock’s approach with a network documentary. DVD 5219.
Allah Tantou (a la grâce de Dieu) = Allah Tantou (God’s will be done). The Library of African cinema. 2007. 1 videodisc (62 min.). Through home movies, old newsreels, letters and fictional reconstruction of imprisonment, this film examines the life of the filmmaker’s father, Marof Achkar, a diplomat under the Sekou Toure regime, who later disappeared into the Guinean gulag. This film reevaluates the turbulent decade of African independence and discusses its relevance to the new political order on the continent. DVD 11748.
American experience. 1964. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 120 min.). It was the year of the Beatles and the Civil Rights Act; of the Gulf of Tonkin and Barry Goldwater’s campaign for the presidency; the year that Americans learned smoking was bad for their health and Cassius Clay became Mohammed Ali; the year that cities across the country erupted in violence and Americans tried to make sense of the assassination of their president. Based on The Last Innocent Year: America in 1964, the film will follow some of the most prominent figures of the time. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6613.
An early frost. 2006. 1 videodisc (ca. 97 min.). When a gay lawyer is diagnosed with AIDS, he copes with coming out to his family and colleagues as they deal with their own prejudices. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11647.
Ansel Adams : a documentary film. 2004. 1 videodisc (ca. 100 min.). Few American artists have reached a wider audience or enjoyed more widespread popularity in their own lifetime than Ansel Adams. Ansel Adams had a profound impact on how Americans see the majesty or their continent and helped transform how people think and feel about the meaning of the natural world. A visionary photographer, a pioneer in photographic technique and a crusader for the environment, this portrait of Adams portrays the great artist and ardent environmentalist. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11843.
Attica. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 80 min.). Documentary on the Attica prison riots of September, 1971. Explores conditions inside and outside the walls before, during, and after the explosive events. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6410.
Baby. 1977. 1 videodisc (6 min.). "This is a first film ... I got some war surplus film of uncertain origin on Canal Street and took Stacy, my three-year-old, to the Central Park Zoo ..."--Container. DVD 5217.
Big boys gone bananas!*. 2013. 1 videodisc (105 min.). "What happens to a documentary filmmaker when he goes up against a large corporation like Dole Foods? How far will Dole go to shift the focus off of them and onto the filmmaker even after their own CEO has admitted wrong doing in a court of law? Media spin, PR scare tactics, dirty tricks, lawsuits, and corporate bullying come into play, but it is the people who ultimately prevail, thus creating a cautionary tale and a real life lesson learning experience." --Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11449.
Broadchurch. The complete first season. 2014. 3 videodiscs (approximately 390 minutes). A town wrapped in secrets. When the body of eleven-year-old Danny Latimer is found on the beach in Broadchurch on the Dorset coast, Detective Sergeant Ellie Miller and her newly-appointed boss, Detective Inspector Alec Hardy, are called to investigate. As suspicions mount and the mystery deepens, a national spotlight descends upon Broadchurch, threatening to pull the town, its residents and their secrets apart. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11483.
Calloused hands. 2014. 1 videodisc (97 min). Despite life’s many disappointments Byrd still believes in the promise of the American dream. In the powerfully moving drama, he battles his addictions and the recession to get a shot at happiness. Out of work for six months in a poverty stricken area of Miami, Byrd places his hopes in get-rich-quick scams that leave him poorer than he started. He is slowly losing the support of his girlfriend Debbie and her son Josh, who shows prodigious talent on the baseball field. Byrd trains Josh relentlessly in the backyard, hoping the young kid’s skills will translate into cash. As they fall behind in paying their bills, and with Josh showing more interest in studying Judaism than athletics, Byrd reverts to the abusive behavior of his violent and drug addled past, threatening the lives of those he loves. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6607.
CBS News extra: November 22nd [and] the Warren Report. 1964. 1 videodisc (118 min.). This is the original CBS news special, presented on the day of publication of the Warren Commission Report in 1964, which attempted to explain the assassination of John F. Kennedy. Walter Cronkite and Dan Rather present interviews with people who knew or encountered his accused killer Lee Harvey Oswald, people who witnessed the assassination, people who witnessed the killing of police officer J.D. Tippit shortly afterward, Oswald’s arrest and detention, and the shooting of Oswald by Jack Ruby two days later. Many of the witnesses are interviewed at the sites where the events occurred. News film and video clips from the weekend of the assassination are included. Interviewees include Governor John Connally, Marina Oswald, Mrs. Paine- friend of the Oswalds, R.S. Truly- Oswald’s boss, Wesley Frazier- Oswald’s fellow worker, Officer Baker who confronted Oswald in the school book depository, Howard Brennan who saw Oswald in the window, the bus driver and the taxi driver that picked up Oswald after the murder, Mrs. Roberts the boarding house maid where Oswald stayed, John Brewer- the shoe salesman who saw Oswald roaming the streets and identified him in the theater, Officer McDonald who made the arrest of Oswald in the theater, and many more. Hear actual Dallas police radio recordings and see Oswald’s actual route retraced. Includes rare footage of Lee Harvey Oswald prior to the Kennedy assassination. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6445.
Check it out with Dr. Steve Brule. Season 1 & 2. 2012. 1 videodisc (132 min.). Seasons 1 and 2 includes all 12 episodes that parody a local market’s new magazine show. With each episode our host Dr. Brule introduces his audience to local celebrities and interesting things around town as well as providing health and lifestyle tips. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11426.
Chiefs. 1969. 1 videodisc (19 min.). Filmed at the October 1968 meeting in Hawaii of several hundred police chiefs of the International Association of Chiefs of Police as they watch demonstrations of gruesome anti-riot weapons, sing patriotic songs, and defend their policies in front of the camera. Although filmed with the permission of the chiefs, the view is not sympathetic, sometimes funny, and more often frightening. DVD 5218.
Cinema Inch’Allah!. 2012. 1 videodisc (75 min.). Cinéma Inch’Allah! is a moving exploration of the struggle of four young Belgian-Moroccan men to reconcile artistic passion with religious belief, family obligations, and their place as Muslim filmmakers in modern Belgian society. Now in their thirties, Reda, Mohamed, Farid, and Nourredine have worked together since adolescence on more than 30 low-budget comic action movies. With infectious enthusiasm, they have thrown themselves into their collective endeavor, often starring in their own films and using their work not only to channel their fears and aspirations but as a way of projecting an image of themselves to their community and the outside world. Cinéma Inch’Allah! captures them at a pivotal moment, when one member of the group decides to radically change his life, threatening their common artistic goals and even their friendship. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11931.
Code black. 2015. 1 videodisc (approximately 81 min.). In his vivid and thought-provoking filmmaking debut, physician Ryan McGarry gives an unprecedented access to America’s busiest emergency department at Los Angeles County Hospital. Amidst real life-and-death situations, McGarry follows a dedicated team of charismatic young doctors-in-training as they wrestle with both their ideals and the realities of saving lives in a complex and overburdened system. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12189.
Concerning violence : nine scenes from the anti-imperialistic self-defense. 2014. 1 videodisc (89 min.). In this potent, arresting, and surprisingly emotional film, Olsson artfully elucidates Fanon’s psychiatric and psychological analysis of dehumanizing effects of colonization on the individual and the nation. Fanon’s theory is that the violence of colonialism must be met with greater violence to be defeated, as well as his vision and plea to reject the lust for colonial power and instead embrace a more creative and human society. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12188.
Coonskin. 1974. 1 videodisc (89 min.). Live-action and animation vignettes dramatize of the status of African Americans in the United States. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12212.
Corporate.FM. 2012. 1 videodisc (ca. 75 min.). "In 1996, commercial radio underwent a quiet revolution. In the wake of the new Telecom Act, local station owners everywhere sold their stations to conglomerate groups as fast as they could. The new corporate owners gutted staffs. Featuring interviews with Jewel, The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne, and former Butt Hole Surfers manager Tom Bunch, and a wide array of DJs and experts who have witnessed radio’s destruction from the inside, CORPORATE FM presents the sad, shocking truth of the impact of the deregulation of the radio industry."--www.fmfilm.com website. DVD 11450.
Crisis hotline : veterans press 1. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 40 min.). Today, more military members are lost to suicide than on the battlefield. After serving their country overseas, many veterans in their darkest moments turn to the unique services of the Veterans Crisis Line to help with traumas like post-traumatic stress, depression, homelessness and drug dependence. The 40-minute documentary is an intimate look at the vital work of several responders who provide life-saving intervention and desperately needed referrals through the 24-hour Veterans Crisis Line. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11922.
Dear white people. 2014. 1 videodisc (approx. 109 min.). A sharp and funny comedy about a group of African-American students as they navigate campus life and racial boundaries at a predominately white college. A sly, provocative satire about being a black face in a white place. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11832.
Desert victory: the battle of El Alamein. Imperial War Museum, the official collection. 2009. 2 videodiscs (165 min.). The British Army and R.A.F. captured the Battle of El Alamein while it happened. Teams of cameramen followed the 8th Army troops into battle against Rommel’s Afrika Korps, recording some of the most extraordinary footage of the war. Features rare and fascinating original film preserved in the Museum’s archives. Some materials have never been released to the public before. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11615.
Despicable me 2. 2013. 1 videodisc (1 hr., 38 min.). Recruited by the Anti-Villain League, Gru helps deal with a powerful new super criminal. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4876.
Dorothea Lange : grab a hunk of lightning. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 108 min.). Profiles American photographer Dorothea Lange, who came to the the attention of the world with her photographs documenting the Great Depression, and achieved lasting fame in the post-War years. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7861.
Eadweard Muybridge, zoopraxographer. 1974. 1 videodisc (60 min.). A look at the life & career of Eadweard Muybridge, a vital figure in the development of early cinematographic techniques. DVD 3369.
Ecstasy of order : the Tetris masters. 2012. 1 videodisc (93 min.). A look inside the world of competitive Tetris, focusing on the Classic Tetris World Championship. Chronicles the history of the game and profiles several of its masters. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11961.
Finding Nemo. 2003. 1 videodisc (ca. 100 min.). In the depths of the Great Barrier Reef, Marlin, an overly protective clownfish, embarks on a daring rescue mission when his beloved son, Nemo, gets scooped up by a diver. With his unforgettable friend Dory by his side, Marlin encounters an ocean full of memorable comedic characters on his momentous journey to find Nemo. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 836.
Finding Vivian Maier. 2014. 1 videodisc (84 min.). Now considered one of the 20th century’s greatest street photographers, Vivian Maier was a mysterious nanny who secretly took over 100,000 photographs that went unseen during her lifetime. Vivian’s strange and riveting life and art are revealed through never-before-seen photos, films, and interviews with dozens who thought they knew her. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11547.
Foreign parts. 2011. 1 videodisc (80 min.). Fimed in 2008 and 2009, an intimate portrait of the auto repair shops and junkyards that lie in the shadow of the New York Mets’ Citi Field Stadium, in Willets Point, Corona, Queens, and the hardscrabble community of immigrants who work and live there. Once ignored and neglected by the city government, these residents recently became the target of a $3 billion redevelopment project of malls, offices, and high-rise condos. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7607.
Fort Bliss. 2014. 1 videodisc (109 min.). Decorated U.S. Army medic and single mother Maggie Swann returns home from an extended tour of duty in Afghanistan to discover the bond with her five-year-old son has been broken. As she struggles to reclaim his affection, life after deployment is made more difficult by her persistent memories of Afghanistan. When news of another deployment threatens the fragile balance she has achieved, she must find a way to reconcile her duties as a mother and her obligations as a soldier. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8724.
Frank Capra’s Why we fight.2012. 4 videodiscs (410 min.). The complete set of seven documentaries, produced by director Frank Capra during World War II at the request of the United States War Department, presented here in uncut versions. These films were required viewing for the armed forces and were also widely shown in civilian theaters. Prelude to war: Reviews events from 1933 to 1939, including the Japanese conquest of Manchuria, the Italian conquest of Ethiopia, and the rise of Hitler. Also discusses the Axis plan of world conquest. The Nazis strike: Documentary film record of Germany’s preparations for war, the conquest of Austria and Czechoslovakia, and the attack upon Poland. Divide & conquer: The German attack upon and conquest of Belgium, Holland, and France in 1940. Battle of Britain: Tells the story of the Nazi assault on Britain, and Britain’s successful defense of its island, during 1940-41. Battle of Russia: Shows the Russian defense against the Nazi invasion during World War II, focusing on the Battle of Stalingrad. Battle of China: Depicts Japanese aggression against China during World War II and describes Japan’s plans for world conquest. War comes to America: explains the events, from 1931 to 1941, that lead to the United States entry into World War II. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1922.
Fur: an imaginary portrait of Diane Arbus. 2007. 1 videodisc (120 min.). Turning her back on her wealthy, established family, Diane Arbus falls in with Lionel Sweeney. Sweeney is an enigmatic mentor who introduces Arbus to the marginalized people who help her become one of the most revered photographers of the twentieth century. Diane’s strange, new world unlocks her deepest secrets, awakens her remarkable artistic genius, and launches her path to becoming the artist she is meant to be. HOME USE COLLECTION VD 11767.
Generation like. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 60 min.). Explores how the perennial teen quest for identity and connection has migrated to social media, and exposes the game of cat-and-mouse that corporations are playing with these young consumers. Here is a powerful examination of the evolving and complicated relationship between teens and the companies that are increasingly working to target them. A follow-up to FRONTLINE’s 2001 documentary The merchants of cool. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11461.
Goodbye to language : 3D. 2015. 2 videodiscs (69 min.). A couple’s relationship breaks down along with the images, which in its second half takes a dog’s-eye view of the world. It is a meditation on history and illusion, figures merging and weaving across the screen along with the film’s ideas about romantic love and being-in-the-world. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 12211.
Harrison’s flowers. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 122 min.). Sarah is determined to find her husband, a Pulitzer Prize-winning photojournalist, who is reported as missing while on a dangerous assignment covering the war in Yugoslavia. When Harrison is presumed dead by his colleagues and editor, only Sarah believes that he is still alive. Driven by intense passion, she courageously plunges into a land ravaged by war, risking her own life as she engages in a relentless search to find him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11765.
Helmut Newton: frames from the edge. 2009. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Newton was one of the 20th century’s leading photographers, both outraging and fascinating the public with his startling, groundbreaking images. He built his reputation with French Vogue, and with his starkly luminous photos. Karl Lagerfeld and Catherine Deneuve recount what it was like to work with him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11779.
Hey good lookin’. WB Home Entertainment Group archive collection. 2013. 1 videodisc (77 min.). A humorous, often satirical adult animation of the social life of young people in Brooklyn, N.Y. in the 1950’s. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12200.
Hollywood contra Franco = A war in Hollywood. 2012. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Feature-length documentary about the impact and influence that the Spanish Civil War (1936-1939) had in Hollywood film production during the years of strife and the evolution of Franco’s image over various political periods: from the affection and support towards the Republican cause and the romantic vision of war by many liberal artists and creators, to the upholding Franco’s in the ’40s and ’50s. This evolution is also narrated through the personal story of Alvah Bessie, a screenwriter, critic and journalist who fought as a member of the International Brigades in the Spanish Civil War, and his close relationship with the modern history of Spain at different periods of his life. DVD 6415.
How to get ahead in advertising. 2011. 1 videodisc (108 min.). Slick and cynical ad man Dennis Bagley can sell shampoo to a bald man, but mounting pressures at work begin to push him over the edge. Teetering hilariously between a nervous breakdown and a bizarre metamorphosis involving an evil twin, can Dennis save himself before it’s too late? Features trailer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7601.
Howl’s moving castle. 2004. 1 videodisc (119 min.). Sophie, who helps out at her late father’s hat shop, is transformed one day by a witch into an old woman. Sophie seeks out the help of the wizard Howl, who has an amazing moving castle which is fueled by a fire demon named Calcifer. Limited quantities will include bonus DVD version of the film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2979 & HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 2979
I compagni = The organizer. Criterion Collection ; 610. 2012. 1 videodisc (130 min.). In turn-of-the-twentieth-century Turin, an accident in a textile factory incites workers to stage a walkout. But it’s not until they receive unexpected aid from a traveling professor that they find a voice, unite, and stand up for themselves. This historical drama by Mario Monicelli is a beautiful and moving ode to the power of the people, brimming with humor and honesty. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11950.
Indonesia calling: Joris Ivens in Australia. 2009. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A story about the renowned Dutch filmmaker Joris Ivens and his controversial work "Indonesia calling", a film documenting the crucial role of Australian trade union support in the the establishment of the new Repbulic of Indonesia. " ... recalls the birth of Indonesia and the impact of a small film, made at a moment of crisis, on Australia’s relations with its northern neighbor and its legacy for Australian documentary film culture ... DVD extras include supplementary stories on Australia’s relations with Indonesia during the period of its independence struggle."--Container. DVD 6605.
Ip Man: the legend is born. 2010. 1 videodisc (ca. 100 min.). For the first time, witness the early years of the revolutionary Grandmaster who trained martial arts superstar and cultural icon, Bruce Lee. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11413.
Is the crown at war with us?. 2006. 1 videodisc (96 min., 31 sec.). It was the summer of 2000 and the country watched with disbelief as federal fishery officers appeared to wage war on the Mi’gmaq fishermen of Esgenoopetitj (Burnt Church), New Brunswick. Why would officials of the Canadian government attack citizens for exercising rights that had been affirmed by the highest court in the land? What happened at Burnt Church? DVD 11610.
Khaneh-ye doust kojast? = Where is the friend’s home?. 2012. 1 videodisc (83 min.). A schoolboy, having carried his friend’s notebook home by mistake, defies his family and sets out to his classmate’s unfamiliar village to return it and prevent his friend’s expulsion for not doing his homework properly. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11633.
Kids for cash. 2014. 1 videodisc (102 min.). "In the wake of the shootings at Columbine High School, a small town in Luzerne County, Pennsylvania elected a charismatic judge who was hell-bent on keeping kids in line. Under his reign, more than 3,000 children were ripped from their families and imprisoned for years over petty crimes. When one parent dared to question his harsh brand of justice, it was revealed the judge had received millions of dollars in payments from the privately-owned juvenile detention centers."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11760.
Landmarks of early Soviet film [videorecording] : 4 disc DVD collection of 8 groundbreaking films. 2011. 4 videodiscs (ca. 595 min.). "This groundbreaking collection features eight seminal films from the Soviet silent era - all are new to DVD"--www.flickeralley.com. The house on Trubnaya: Comedy about a young peasant woman who travels to Moscow to start a new life. By the law: Tense drama about Alaskan gold-miners. Extraordinary adventures of Mr. West in the land of the Bolsheviks: The first Russian anti-American film both arrogantly mocks American ignorance toward the Soviet Union and enviously copies American cinematic methods. Old and new: In this early Soviet propaganda film, a poor woman persuades her fellow villagers to form a cooperative. Stride Soviet!: Documentary exploration of the various layers of Moscow society on the ten-year anniversary of the Revolution. The film reveals the continuing class-based nature of Soviet society through a series of montages of city life. The fall of the Romanov dynasty: Historical documentary which uses newsreel footage (some shot by Czar Nicholas II’s own cameramen) to depict the tumultuous events of 1912 through 1917, as the leadership of the Czar and the Russian aristocracy crumbles and Lenin rises to power in the wake of the Soviet Revolution. Turksib: Soviet documentary on the building of the first railroad across the Asian continent from Turkestan to Siberia. Salt for Svanetia: Explores the Caucasus region of Svanetia, a remote, mountainous area where the Ushkul tribe still lives in a stone-age culture. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11617.
Le ballon blanc = The white ballon [sic]. 2011. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Seven-year-old Razieh has her heart set on a plump multi-finned goldfish she has seen in Tehran’s market-place. Despite having many similar in the ornamental pond at home, she is determined to get the one she wants before the New Year celebrations begin in a few hours. Skilfully cajoling her mother into parting with her last 500 Toman note, she races into the dangerous and disorienting bustle of the city and her epic adventure begins. DVD 11653.
Les Blank : always for pleasure. The Criterion collection ; 737. 2014. 5 videodiscs (563 min.). The blues accordin’ to Lightnin’ Hopkins: A portrait of Texas bluesman Lightin’ Hopkins created via a collection of musical performances and oral histories. God respects us when we work, but loves us when we dance: A look at hippies and flower children as they dance and create rituals during the Los Angeles "Love-In" of Easter Sunday, 1967. Spend it all: A portrayal of the lives and music of the French-speaking Cajuns of Louisiana. A well spent life: A tribute to Texas songster Mance Lipscomb, Dry wood: An exploration of black Creole life in French Louisiana. Hot pepper: A musical portrait of zydeco king Clifton Chenier. Always for pleasure: An insider’s portrait of New Orleans’ street celebrations and unique cultural gumbo. Garlic is as good as ten mothers: A paean to garlic that explores the history, consumption, cultivation, and culinary/curative powers of the "stinking rose." Sprout wings and fly: A tribute to Appalachian culture that profiles old-time fiddler Tommy Jarrell. In heaven there is no beer?: An exploration of the dance, food, music, friendship, and even religion of the polka. Gap-toothed women: A valentine to women born with a space between their teeth that explores issues of self-esteem and societal attitudes toward standards of beauty. Yum, yum, yum!: An exploration of the cooking and other enthusiasms of French-speaking Louisiana. The Maestro: A profile of cowboy artist Gerald Gaxiola. Sworn to the drum: A tribute to Cuban drummer Francisco Aguabella. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11634.
Maria Larssons Eviga Ögonblick = Maria Larsson’s everlasting moments. The Criterion collection ; 520. 2010. 2 videodiscs (131 min.). In a working-class neighborhood, in Malmo, Sweden in the early 1900s, live Maria and her husband Sigfrid. Siggie strong and dependable manual laborer who clearly loves and respects his wife, but due to his prodigious philandering and alcohol consumption theirs is--despite a brood of seven--a strained marriage. When Maria attempts to sell a camera they won in a raffle, the curious shopkeeper and photographer Sebastian Pedersen instead teaches her how to use it and gifts her with the chemicals she’ll need to develop the pictures. She is surprised by the miracle of catching a moment in time and preserving it in all its wonder, and thereafter, Maria explores the gift of photography. She grows into a woman of substance as she learns a skill, fine-tunes her gaze, and unpretentiously records life in the neighborhood around her. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11757.
Matamata and Pilipili. 1997. 1 videodisc (58 min.). In the 1950s Albert Van Haelst, a Belgian missionary and film fanatic, made some twenty films in the Congo: the Matamata and Pilipili series. These comic heroes, an African answer to Laurel and Hardy, delighted Congolese moviegoers. DVD 11626.
Minecraft: the story of Mojang. 2012. 2 videodiscs (104 min.). "In 2009, independent video game designer Markus "Notch" Persson released a work in progress that would go on to break every industry rule for achieving success. Part exploratory adventure, part creative building tool, "Minecraft" evolved from a cult classic into an unprecedented hit, raking daily sales in the thousands. By the end 2010, Notch was able to quit his day job and live the dream of founding his own development studio, Mojang. This feature-length documentary follows the young company over the course of its first year as their profile expands across the world stage industry icons (Peter Molyneux, Tim Schafer) journalists (Geoff Keighley, Stephen Totilo), tastemakers (Gabe & Tycho of Penny Arcade), and players profoundly impacted by the game (Yogscast, The Shaft, Minecraft Teacher), the film serves as a time capsule for one of this generation’s most unorthodox success stories"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12050.
Moana: a romance of the golden age. 1926. 1 videodisc (65 min.). Presents a travelog based in the South Seas on the Samoan culture and way of life. Moana, a youth in the tribe, undergoes initiation into manhood. DVD 6748.
Moloch tropical. 2010. 1 videodisc (107 min.). "In a fortress perched atop of a mountain, a democratically elected ’President’ and his closest collaborators are getting ready for a state celebration. Foreign chiefs of state and dignitaries of all sorts are expected. But in the morning of the event, he wakes up to find the country inflamed, the streets in turmoil. As the day goes on, rebellion worsens. Meanwhile, expected guests are withdrawing from the party one after another ..."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7117.
Mother of the river. 1995. 1 videodisc (28 min.). This story set in the 1850s tells of the friendship between a young slave girl and a magical woman, called the Mother of the River. Through their friendship, the girl learns about independence, honor, humility, and respect for others. DVD 11696.
Mushi-shi.: the complete collection. 2011. 4 videodiscs (625 min.). Between this world and the next, there is a point where it becomes impossible to distinguish between plant and animal; between life and death. It is a place man was never meant to tread. It is where you will find the Mushi. Neither good nor evil, they are life in its purest form. An unseen river reshaping the path of man, through their very presence we are changed. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12000.
My voyage to Italy. 2003. 2 videodiscs (ca. 246 min.). Martin Scorsese directs and narrates this remarkable in-depth look at the careers of great Italian filmmakers such as De Sica, Fellini, Visconti, and Antonioni, and their art’s profound influence on him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1023.