To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
Northern exposure. Season one. 2012. 2 videodiscs (383 min.). The plight of the NY-bred Joel Fleischman, a medical intern forced to repay his scholarship by serving for four years as a doctor in the remote town of Cicely, Alaska, a tiny village filled with odd inhabitants and even stranger happenings. This title has been Repackaged. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11456.
Northern exposure. Season three. 2014. 6 videodiscs (1056 min.). The cold and quirks continue in Cicely, Alaska. Includes all 23 episodes from the third season. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11458.
Northern exposure. The complete second season. 2012. 2 videodiscs (331 min.). This 7-time Emmy award-winning series is a blend of quirky humor and heartwarming storytelling. Includes all seven episodes of the second season. This title has been Repackaged. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11457.
Nuit et brouillard = Night and fog. Criterion collection ; 197. 1955. 1 videodisc (31 min.). Ten years after the liberation of the Nazi concentration camps, this piece documents the abandoned grounds of Auschwitz and Majdanek. One of the first cinematic reflections on the horrors of the Holocaust and contrasts the stillness of the abandoned camps’ quiet, empty buildings with haunting wartime footage. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 948.
One flew over the cuckoo’s nest. 1975. 1 videodisc (ca. 133 min.). Tells the adventures of a free-spirited mental ward inmate whose rebelliousness pits him against the repressive head nurse, and whose charm wins him the loyalty of his fellow inmates. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 55.
Out of the shadows: Debbie Fleming Caffery. Photographers series. 2009. 1 videodisc (1 hr.). Features, Debbie Fleming Caffery, who has been documenting the Louisiana sugar cane harvest, the plight of prostitues in Mexican brothels, and more recently the aftermath of Hurricane Katrina. In the photo commentary, she divulges the stories behind some of her most touching and poignant images. The bonus feature provides further insights into her creative process. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11766.
Personal best. 2013. 1 videodisc (128 min.). Chris Cahill, a promising hurdler, finds needed emotional and athletic seasoning with a caring mentor Tory. After the two fall in love, their relationship is threatened as both vie for a spot on the U. S. Olympic team. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11649.
Photographic memory. 2013. 1 videodisc (87 min.). Filmmaker Ross McElwee finds himself in frequent conflict with his son, a young adult who seems addicted to and distracted by the virtual worlds of the internet. To understand his fractured love for his son, McElwee travels back to St. Quay-Portrieux for the first time in decades to retrace his own journey into adulthood. A meditation on the passing of time, the praxis of photography and film, and the digital versus analog divide. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2808.
Pina: Dance, dance, otherwise we are lost. Criterion collection ; 644. 2013. 2 videodiscs (103 min.). Originally conceived as a collaboration between filmmaker Wim Wenders and choreographer Pina Bausch, Pina ultimately turned into a tribute to Bausch following her death in 2009. Consists primarily of performances of Bausch’s works by Tanztheater Wuppertal Pina Bausch with brief interviews with Bausch and members of the dance group. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11645.
Power and control: domestic violence in America. 2010. 1 streaming video file (64 min.). A dramatic and timely exploration of domestic abuse, which examines the persistence of violence against women in the US, through the story of Kim, a mother of three in Duluth, MN. Duluth was the birthplace of a revolution in the way society approaches battering, and the film tells the story of the leaders from Duluth who remain on the front lines today. The film also looks at the debate launched by researchers and academics who have challenged the Duluth approach. DVD 7950 and Streaming video
Princess Mononoke. 1997. 1 videodisc (ca. 134 min.). A young warrior searching for a cure for a deadly curse becomes entangled in a battle between a clan of humans and the forest’s animal gods. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1206.
Reportero. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 72 min.). Follows journalists at the Tijuana-based weekly newspaper Zeta as they deal with the threat of violent retribution for reporting on Mexico’s powerful drug cartels. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6612.
Rocks in my pockets. 2015. 1 videodisc (88 min.). "Rocks In My Pockets is a story of mystery and redemption. The film is based on true events involving five women of Signe Baumane’s family, including herself, and their battles with depression and suicide. It raises questions of how much family genetics determine who we are and if it is possible to outsmart one’s own DNA. The film is packed with visual metaphors, surreal images and a twisted sense of humor. It is an animated tale full of art, women, strange daring stories, Latvian accents, history, nature, adventure and more."--Film website. DVD 12012.
Rocky & Bullwinkle & friends. Complete season 1. 1959. 4 videodiscs (ca. 636 min.). Each episode features an installment of the current Rocky & Bullwinkle serial, and a Fractured fairy tales or Aesop and Son story, and a Peabody’s improbable history or Dudley Do-Right of the Mounties story. Jet fuel formula (eps. 1-20) Rocky and Bullwinkle accidentally discover a rocket fuel which took them to the moon and back. The government wants Bullwinkle to rediscover the rocket fuel, which also gets the attention of Pottsylvanian spies Boris and Natasha and the moon men. Box top robbery (eps. 21-26) Box tops, the basis of the world’s monetary system, are being counterfeited and fingers point to Bullwinkle who has the world’s largest box top collection. The real culprit is, of course, Boris Badenov, who plans to clean the stores of all their box top premiums for himself while also taking care of Rocky and Bullwinkle. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11788.
Rouch in reverse. 2008. 1 videodisc (52 min.). The first film to look at European anthropology from the perspective of its subjects. Malian filmmaker and New York University professor, Manthia Diawara, examines the anthropological enterprise through the work of Jean Rouch, perhaps the most distinguished ethnographic filmmaker living today. The two discuss Rouch’s work. DVD 11493.
Ṣamt al-quṣūr = Les silences du palais = Das Schweigen des Palastes = The silences of the palace. 2007. 1 videodisc (127 min.). As Alia, the daughter of a beautiful servant, Khedija, grows up in the king’s palace at the end of the French colonial rule in Tunisia, she realizes the sexual favors required of her mother and other servants, as she, herself, is misused by those in power around her. Women had to live in silence, a silence so profound, they may come to doubt their own past -- even their own existence -- yet they survived these political realities with courage, fellowship, and the resources of their bodies. DVD 11733.
Search for "the Afghan girl". 2010. 1 videodisc (ca. 50 min.). Photographer, Steve McCurry captured a picture of an Afghan refugee girl with haunting green eyes that would become a global symbol of wartime dignity, resilience, and survival. Since 1985 McCurry and National Geographic has been inudated with queries concerning the identity of anonymous girl. Follow the amazing story of how the National Geographic Explorer team searched for the mysterious girl with cutting-edge eye-scanning and face recognition technology to crack the ultimate "missing person" case. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11870.
Shooting Robert King. 2012. 1 videodisc (ca. 80 min.). Shooting Robert King will take you on an incredible, visceral journey that spans fifteen years, three tragically brutal wars and across one of the most singularly astonishing lifetimes of modern history. From war-torn Bosnia to Chechnya, Iraq and more you’ll witness first hand the tragic true horror of the worlds worst modern conflicts, all through the lens of a man who knew no boundaries. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11753.
Silent Ozu. Three crime dramas : Walk cheerfully ; That night’s wife ; Dragnet girl. Eclipse from the Criterion Collection ; 42. 2015. 3 videodiscs (261 min.). The great Japanese filmmaker Yasujiro Ozu is best known for the stately, meditative domestic dramas he made after World War II. But during his first decade at Shochiku studios, he dabbled in many genres--including the crime film, which resulted in this trio of magnificently shot and edited silents. Heavily influenced in narrative and visual style by the American movies that Ozu adored but already envincing the compassion and confident precision of his later work, these films offer revelatory early evidence of cinematic genius. Walk cheerfully (1930, 96 min.). A seemingly no-good hood reveals his softer side when he loses his heart to a winsome secretary. That night’s wife (1930, 65 min.). Under cloak of night, a mysterious thief commits a ruthless robbery, yet the criminal turns out to be less than evil in Ozu’s noir-tinged domestic tale. Dragnet girl (1933, 100 min.). In this splendidly designed tale of redemption, a no-nonsense gangster’s moll is troubled by the growing attraction between her man and a virtuous woman. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9951-9953.
Sin by silence. 2009. 1 streaming video file (49 min.). Tells the story of Convicted Women Against Abuse, an inmate-led group in a California prison, and its quest to raise awareness about domestic abuse. DVD 7975 and Streaming video
Stravinsky. 2004. 1 videodisc (50 min.). "Stravinsky [reminisces] about his ... life, traveling aboard ship en route to Hamburg, and conducting the CBC Festival Singers of Toronto in a recording of his "Symphony of Psalms".--Container. MUSIC LIBRARY DVD 100.
Studs Terkel: listening to America. 2010. 1 videodisc (ca. 41 min.). "This documentary takes a fond and illuminating look back at one of America’s most influential authors and media personalities."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11904.
Tales of the night. 2013. 1 videodisc (ca. 84 min.). From renowned animator and storyteller Michel Ocelot (Kirikou and the Sorceress , Azur & Asmar) comes a dazzling and magical new film, that is certain to delight kids, families and animation fans of all ages. Silhouetted characters are set off against exquisitely detailed backgrounds bursting with color and kaleidoscopic patterns, as the film weaves together six exotic fables each unfolding in a unique locale, from Tibet, to medieval Europe, the African plains and even the Land of the Dead. In Ocelot’s celebrated storytelling, history blends with fairytale as viewers are whisked off to visit enchanted lands full of dragons, sorcerers, shape-shifting werewolves, captive princesses, and enormous talking bees - and each fable ends with its own ironic twist. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12222.
The animation show of shows. 2007-2012. 54 videodiscs (ca. 1328 min.). "Since 1998, The Animation Show of Shows has selected the best in animated short films from the world’s most renowned animation festivals and presented them at the major animation studios to inspire their animators and directors. Now for the first time, the films featured in The Animation Show of Shows are available in this special DVD collection along with some of the most memorable animated short films of all time."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12101-12154.
The aristocats. 2012. 1 videodisc (78 min.). In Paris, a kind and eccentric millionairess wills her estate to Duchess, her cat, and her three kittens. When her greedy butler attempts the ultimate catnap caper, the alley cat Thomas O’Malley and his band of jazz cats must save the day. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11688.
The battle of Pussy Willow Creek. 2009. 1 videodisc (96 min.). "Ken Burns meets Spinal Tap in a subversive tour de force relaying the outrageous life stories of four forgotten Civil War heroes: an opium-addicted gay Colonel, an aging Chinese launderer, a nerdy escaped slave, and a one-armed teenage prostitute. Both wickedly satirical and deeply affectionate, The Battle of Pussy Willow Creek tells the "100% true" story of how these oddball outsiders saved the Union from a nefarious foreign plot, how the forces of bigotry expunged their stunning victory from the history books." -- Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2810.
The Boxtrolls. Focus Features clearly original. 2015. 1 videodisc (1 hr., 37 min.). A community of quirky, mischievous creatures known as the Boxtrolls lovingly raise an orphaned human boy named Eggs in the amazing cavernous home they’ve built beneath the streets of Cheesebridge. But when town villain Archibald Snatcher comes up with a plot to get rid of the Boxtrolls, Eggs ventures above ground where he meets and teams up with a fabulously feisty girl named Winnie who helps him devise a daring plan to save his family. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11911.
The complete Jean Vigo. The Criterion collection ; 578. 2011. 1 videodisc (161 min.). Even among cinema’s greatest legends, Jean Vigo stands alone. The son of a notorious anarchist, Vigo had a brief but brilliant career making poetic, lightly surrealist films before his life was cut tragically short by tuberculosis at age twenty-nine. Like the daring early works of his contemporaries Jean Cocteau and Luis Buųel, Vigo’s films refused to play by the rules. This set includes all of Vigo’s titles. HOME USE COLLECTION BLU 9080.
The fighting lady. 20th Century Fox cinema archives. 2013. 1 videodisc (61 min.). Highlighted by actual aerial footage from World War II, we follow the battles, and the men who fought them, while stationed on American aircraft carriers in the Pacific Ocean. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11642.
The Internet’s own boy : the story of Aaron Swartz ; information is power. 2014. 1 videodisc (105 min.). The Internet’s Own Boy depicts the life of American computer programmer, writer, political organizer and Internet activist Aaron Swartz. It features interviews with his family and friends as well as the internet luminaries who worked with him. The film tells his story up to his eventual suicide after a legal battle, and explores the questions of access to information and civil liberties that drove his work. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11669.
The newsroom. The complete second season. 2014. 3 videodiscs (ca. 540 min.). The Newsroom takes a behind-the-scenes look at a high-rated cable-news program at the fictional ACN Network, focusing on the on and off camera lives of its acerbic anchor, a new executive producer, and their newsroom staff. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11068.
The newsroom. The complete third season. 2015. 2 videodiscs (360 min.). In the wake of the Genoa debacle, the team decides to use caution in reporting a major breaking story. Neal is contacted by an anonymous source in possession of stolen government documents; Sloan looks to solve a takeover puzzle. When the team attends the White House Correspondents’ Dinner in Washington, Mac makes an unexpected acquaintance and Will gets a surprise. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11069.
GTFO. 2015. 1 videodisc (76 min.). "Sparked by a public display of sexual harassment in 2012, GTFO pries open the video game world to explore a 20 billion dollar industry that is riddled with discrimination and misogyny. "--Provided by Collection Eye Films. DVD 12272.
The pleasures of being out of step : notes on the life of Nat Hentoff. 2013. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Nat Hentoff is one of the enduring voices of the last 65 years, a writer who championed jazz as an art form and who also led the rise of ’alternative’ journalism in America. This unique documentary wraps the themes of liberty, identity and free expression around a historical narrative that stretches from the Great Depression to the Patriot Act. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11947.
The Soviet influence: from Turksib to Night mail. 2011. 2 videodiscs (78 min.). In the early 1930’s, Soviet propaganda films profoundly influenced the emerging luminaries of the British documentary film movement, shaping their ideas about film as an art form. In this specially curated edition of both the Blu-ray and the DVD of the film and the extras, Viktor Turin’s 1929 classic about the building of the Turkestan-Siberian railway, Turksib, is presented alongside a number of key British documentaries - including the celebrated Night Mail - all of which were made in the wake of Turksib by filmakers whose debt to the film is very much in evidence. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11644.
The Stuart Hall Project. 2013. 1 videodisc (95 min.). "A founding figure of contemporary cultural studies--and one of the most inspiring voices of the post-war Left--Stuart Hall’s resounding and ongoing influence on British intellectual life commenced soon after he emigrated from Jamaica in 1951. Combining extensive archival imagery--television excerpts, home movies, family photos--with specially filmed material and a personally mixed Miles Davis soundtrack, Akomfrah’s filmmaking approach matches the agility of Hall’s intellect, its intimate play with memory, identity and scholarly impulse traversing the changing historical landscape of the second half of the 20th century."--BFI website. DVD 7624.
The tale of the Princess Kaguya. 2015. 2 videodiscs (2 hr., 17 min.). Found inside a shining stalk of bamboo by an old bamboo cutter and his wife, a tiny girl grows rapidly into an exquisite young lady. The mysterious young princess enthralls all who encounter her, but ultimately she must confront her fate, the punishment for her crime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11898.
The Tracey fragments. 2008. 1 videodisc (ca. 77 min.). Tracey Berkowitz, a teenage girl who uses fantasy to help deal with life, goes on a desperate attempt to find her 7-year-old brother, who wanders away while in her care. Presented almost exclusively in a split screen format. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11643.
Through a lens darkly : black photographers and the emergence of a people. 2014. 1 videodisc (93 min.). "Inspired by Deborah Willis’s book, Reflections in black, Through a lens darkly casts a broad net that begins with filmmaker Thomas Allen Harris’s family album. It considers the difference between black photographers who use the camera to define themselves, their people, and their culture and some white photographers who, historically, have demeaned African-Americans through racist imagery. The film embraces both historical material (African-Americans who were slaves, who fought in the Civil War, were victims of lynchings, or were pivotal in the Civil Rights Movement) and contemporary images made by such luminaries as Roy DeCarava, Gordon Parks, and Carrie Mae Weems. The film is a cornucopia of Americana that reveals deeply disturbing truths about the history of race relations while expressing joyous, life-affirming sentiments about the ability of artists and amateurs alike to assert their identity through the photographic lens"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11789.
Tierney Gearon: the mother project. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 70 min.). "Celebrated photographer Tierney Gearon’s work has been labeled manipulative, disturbing and even perverse ... Filmmakers Peter Sutherland (Pedal) and Jack Youngelson (Producer, Ghosts of Abu Ghraib) follow this exceptional artist over the course of three years as she assembles her most daring and emotionally complex body of work to date: a series on her manic-depressive schizophrenic mother, who resides in Grey Gardens squalor in the frozen farm country of upstate New York. The mixture of art and family can almost be too close for comfort, but like Gearon’s photographs there is a subversive beauty that emerges from the incongruity between ordinary moments and madness ... a moving and intricate portrait of an artist, her inspirations and unconventional family relationships"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12038.
Tim & Eric awesome show, great job!. Season 4. 2010. 1 videodisc (110 min.). A fast paced, absurd collection of short films, parodies, animations, emotions, phone calls, pranks and musical numbers featuring comedians, celebrities, bad actors and pets. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4028.
Tim and Eric awesome show, great job! Season 1. 2008. 1 videodisc (115 min.). A fast-paced, absurd collection of short films, parodies, animations, pranks, and musical numbers. Attempts to shock life back into the art of sketch comedy. Has grotesquely memorable characters and crude animation bits all wrapped up neatly. The apparent slipshod manner of each episode may or may not be part of the skit. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4025.
Tim and Eric awesome show, great job! Season 2. 2009. 1 videodisc (115 min.). The 10-episode season takes the audience on a whirlwind tour through unexplored caves of television comedy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4026.
Tim and Eric awesome show, great job! Season 3. 2009. 1 videodisc (112 min.). The 10-episode season takes the audience on a whirlwind tour through unexplored caves of television comedy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4027.
Tim and Eric awesome show, great job!. Season cinco. 2011. 1 videodisc (123 min.). A fast paced, absurd collection of short films, parodies, animations, emotions, phone calls, pranks and musical numbers featuring comedians, celebrities, bad actors and pets. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4029.
To tell the truth, a history of documentary film. Episode 2, Working for change. 2012. 1 videodisc (56 min.). Explores the birth of the social documentary, featuring interviews with several of the people who helped define and shape the form. A detailed history of documentary filmmaking in the US and the UK from 1929 to 1941 focused on the social movements of the times, The Great Depression, The New Deal, and the awakening of the Leftwing in the UK. DVD 4036.
To tell the truth, a history of documentary film. Episode 3, The strategy of truth. 2012. 1 videodisc (56 min.). The Strategy of Truth explores the role of film as propaganda during World War II, and the different forms it took in the US, the UK, and Germany. It also raises the central question of whether a film can be both documentary - reflecting the truth - and propaganda. DVD 4037.
Tomboy. 2012. 1 videodisc (82 min.). "Laure is 10 years old and a tomboy. On arrival in a new neighborhood, she lets Lisa and her crowd believe that she is a boy. Summer becomes a big playground and Laure pretends to be "Mikael", a boy like the others, different enough to get the attention of Lisa, who falls in love with him. Laure takes advantage of her new identity as if the end of the summer would never reveal her unsettling secret."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6609.
Tomorrow never dies. 2007. 1 videodisc (119 min.). Just as a media mogul unveils his new global news service, a British warship is attacked in Chinese territory. Agent James Bond teams with a beautiful Chinese spy to discover the truth before war breaks out. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6423.
Tunisian victory [videorecording] : an official record. Synergy archive series. 1944. 1 videodisc (76 min.). Documentary made by the U.S. Army Signal Corps that contained footage from American and British governmental agencies, American newsreels, captured enemy film and newsreels, the Canadian National Film Board, the French government, and the films Journey in Tunisia, Moscow Strikes Back, The 400 Million and Thunder Afloat. A pictorial view of the Tunisian campaign of World War II, an important turning point for Allied forces. Uses actual footage from the battlefronts. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11632.
Turning dreams into reality. 201?. 1 videodisc (29 min.). A profile of Fernando Birri, who is considered the father of the new Latin American cinema, from his studies at the Centro Sperimentale in Rome in the 1950s through the founding of the Documentary School of Santa Fe in his native Argentina, to his current activities in Cuba. DVD 11709.
Watermark. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 92 min.). Following their success with Manufactured Landscapes, photographer Edward Burtynsky and filmmaker Jennifer Baichwal reunite to explore the ways in which humanity has shaped, manipulated and depleted one of its most vital and compromised resources: water. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11635.
We always lie to strangers. 2014. 1 videodisc (108 min.). A story of family, community, music, and tradition, five years in the making, set against the backdrop of Branson, Missouri, one of the biggest tourist destinations in America. At the heart of Branson’s appeal is the staged music shows that earned the town the moniker of the live music capital of the world. These shows are well known for their traditional, family style of entertainment and crowds from around the country flock to Branson for this, return to old-fashioned values. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11787.
We are legion: the story of the hacktivists. 2012. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Goes inside the world of Anonymous, the radical ’hacktivist’ collective that has redefined civil disobedience for the digital age. Anonymous utilizes computers and computer networks to promote political ends, chiefly free speech, human rights, and information ethics, under the premise that technology can produce results similar to those of conventional acts of protest, activism, and civil disobedience. This film explores the historical roots of early hacktivist groups like Cult of the Dead Cow and Electronic Disturbance Theater and traces how they evolved and coalesced into Anonymous, the full-blown movement with global reach and extraordinary power. Features interviews with current members, members recently returned from prison, others currently facing trial, writers, activists and major players in various "raids." HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11346.
We’re in the movies : Palace of silents and itinerant filmmaking. 2014. 2 videodiscs (217 min.). Two documentaries plus bonus films. "When you wore a tulip and I wore a big red rose" is about itinerant fimmakers who travelled from town to town making "local talent" pictures. "Palace of silents" is about the silent movie theatre in Los Angeles built in 1942 and run by John Hampton. Bonus films are six early examples of itinerant filmmaking in the United States. The accompanying booklet contains essays by David Shepard and David John Slaughter. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 7101.
Wizards. 2004. 1 videodisc (80 min.). Avatar, the eccentric old sorcerer who rules the rainbow paradise of Montagar, must use magic to save the world from his brother, Blackwolf of Scortch, who has sent his minions forth to destroy and conquer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12233.
Xanadu. 1980. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Danny, an aging musician who wants to open a nightclub, and Sonny, a young artist, are both searching for inspiration. Kira, a beautiful mythical muse, is brought to earth in order to help both men fulfill their dreams. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6744.
Years of living dangerously : the complete series. A Showtime original series. 2014. 5 videodiscs (540 minutes). This groundbreaking documentary event series explores the human impact of climate change. From the damage wrought by Hurricane Sandy to the upheaval caused by drought in the Middle East, YEARS OF LIVING DANGEROUSLY combines the blockbuster storytelling styles of top Hollywood movie makers with the reporting expertise of Hollywood’s brightest stars and today’s most respected journalists.--Showtime website. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11501.
A personal journey with Martin Scorsese through American movies. Century of cinema. 2000. 3 videodiscs (approximately 226 min.). Featuring a wealth of extracts from famous and infamous American movies, Scorsese offers a provocative multifaceted portrait of Hollywood film directors as he charts a comprehensive course through the rich history of the American cinema. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6409.
Zire darakhatan zeyton: through the olive trees. 1994. 1 videodisc (103 min.). This movie, filmed using a documentary style, explores the relationship between a movie director and his actors while telling a tale of unrequited love. The film-within-a-film tells the story of a newly married couple in an area that has recently been devastated by an earthquake. In reality, the actor, playing the young husband, is trying to persuade the actress, playing his wife, to marry him even though his marriage proposal was rejected earlier. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12018.