To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
TCM greatest classic legends film collection. Humphrey Bogart. 2012. 4 videodiscs (417 min.). The drive by night -- Across the Pacific -- Action in the North Atlantic -- Passage to Marseille. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3621-3624.
Crime of passion. 1957 1 videodisc (86 min.). Kathy Ferguson is an extraordinary woman, trapped in a decade that worships the ordinary. She’s smart and witty, and an ace at her job. She’s an advice columnist at a San Francisco newspaper, with her name on billboards all over town. But Kathy makes a big mistake--she falls in love. After marrying Bill Doyle, a Los Angeles detective, somewhere between the olive dip and the shiny waxed floors, she begins to realize that Bill wants nothing more than this--for him or her--ever. Her thwarted ambition turns ugly, and before long this capable career woman is capable of anything. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6565.
Kiss tomorrow goodbye. 1950 1 videodisc (102 min.). Career criminal Ralph Cotter is a lowlife maniac who doesn’t care about anything except his next ’kill’. After violently busting out from prison and murdering his partner, the cold-blooded mobster satisfies a pent-up lust for violence in an unstoppable and vicious crime spree. Dirty cops, Inspector Charles Webber, and Lieutenant John Reese try to strong-arm the fascinating creep, but he turns the table on them and blackmails them with the help of a crooked lawyer, Keith ’Cherokee’ Mandon. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7608.
That ’70s show : the complete series. 2013. 24 videodiscs (4477 minutes). Performers: Topher Grace, Mila Kunis, Ashton Kutcher, Danny Masterson, Laura Prepon, Wilmer Valderama, Debra Jo Rupp, Kurtwood Smith, Tanya Roberts, Don Stark, Tommy Chong. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14280 – 14287
That girl in yellow boots. 2010. 1 videodisc (109 min.). Ruth is searching for her father, a man she hardly knew but cannot forget. Desperation drives her to work without a permit at a massage parlor. Torn between several schisms, Mumbai becomes the alien, yet strangely familiar backdrop for Ruth’s quest. She struggles to find her independence and space, even as she is sucked deeper into the labyrinthine politics of the city’s underbelly. It’s a city that feeds on her misery, a love that eludes her, and a devastating truth that she must encounter. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3359.
The address. 2014. 1 videodisc (90 min.). "At the tiny Greenwood School in the small New England town of Putney, Vermont, its roughly 50 students, boys from the ages 11 to 17 are asked each year to memorize the Gettysburg Address. This would be a daunting assignment for any student, but the boys at Greenwood all suffer from learning differences that have made their personal, academic and social progress extremely challenging. As the students come to terms with the address’s simple message of freedom, equality and democracy, they are seen to grow in self-confidence as they confront past failures and humiliations, ultimately opening the door to what Lincoln himself described as ’a new birth of freedom’. Interweaving the history of this most famous of American speeches with the contemporary journey of the boys at Greenwood, the film reveals the timeless resonance of Lincoln’s words, while culminating in the triumph of the human spirit."—Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6614.
The selfish giant. 2014. 1 videodisc (91 minutes). A contemporary take on the Oscar Wilde fable, thirteen year old Arbor and Swifty are best friends for whom the joys of boyhood are almost nonexistent. They seek their fortune by getting involved with a local scrap dealer and criminal, leading to tragic consequences. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6620.
The Americans. The complete first season. 2014. 4 videodiscs (approximately 572 minutes). Secrets can be deadly in this suspenseful thriller about undercover Russian spies in 1980s Washington D.C. Phillip and Elizabeth Jennings seem to be a typical suburban couple, but they’re actually lethal KGB agents plotting to bring down America. As the Cold War escalates, Philip and Elizabeth must take extreme measures to continue their mission to keep their true identities hidden. But when an FBI agent movies in across the street, they become ensnared in a pulse-pounding game of cat and mouse. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14318.
The Andromeda strain. 2003. 1 videodisc (131 min.). A remote village in New Mexico is contaminated by a crashed satellite. Scientists fight the clock trying to analyze the lethal organism and discover a solution. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11322.
The babadook. 2014. 1 videodisc (93 minutes). Amelia is a single mother plagued by the violent death of her husband. When a disturbing storybook called Mister Babadook turns up at her house, she is forced to battle with her son’s deep seated fear of a monster. Soon she discovers a sinister presence all around her. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12219.
The big Dragnet collection. 2009. 4 videodiscs (approximately 17 hr., 15 min.). 42 episodes from four 1950s television crime series: Dragnet, Racket squad, Follow that man, and Federal men. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11952.
The black cat. Universal vault series. 1934. 1 videodisc (65 min.). Honeymooners Joan and Peter Allison are stranded and forced to spend the night at the home of the sinister Hjalmar Poelzig. They soon learn they are being held captive in the mausoleum and that Poelzig is the high priest at Black Mass. He has chosen Joan to be the devil’s bride. David races to save his wife from Poelzig’s unspeakable treachery. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11736.
The black pirate. 1926. 1 videodisc (109 min.). The sole survivor of a ship pillaged by buccaneers poses as a pirate to recover the ship and its treasure and to rescue a captive princess. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6625.
The book thief. 2014. 1 videodisc (131 minutes). Based upon the best-selling novel. The profoundly moving story of a girl who transforms the lives of those around her during World War II, Germany. Although Liesel is illiterate when she is adopted by a German couple, her adoptive father encourages her to learn to read. Ultimately, the power of words helps Liesel and Max, a Jew hiding in the family’s home, escape from the events unfolding around them. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11354.
The Brasher Doubloon. 1947 1 videodisc (72 min.). "Philip Marlowe is retained to recover a rare and valuable coin that turns out to be a medium of exchange for blackmail information and the key to the murderer of a cameraman."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4020.
Cause for alarm. 1951 1 videodisc (74 min.). A dillusional and ill husband is convinced his wife and best friend are trying to kill him. When his wife accidentally shoots him, she must retrieve aletter he wrote to the district attorney in which he accuses them of plotting his murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2809.
The broken tower. 2011. 1 videodisc (110 min.). From Focus World and director/star James Franco. Hart Crane was one of the most important voices in American poetry, but lived a life with as much turmoil as passion. From his early life to his journeys from New York, Cuba and Paris, Crane’s story and that of the loves that defined him is told with imaginative empathy, and with a no holds barred performance, in a film as introspective, rebellious, heartbreaking, and honest as Crane himself. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11437.
The complete Humphrey Jennings. Volume 3, A diary for Timothy. 2013. 2 videodiscs (218 min.). A collection of documentary films by the British film director Humphrey Jennings. Topics include the history of the song Lili Marlene, Britain’s anti-missile defense, a performance of Beethoven’s sonata in F minor (op. 57), a film essay on the status of Great Britain as seen through the life of a newborn baby, German conditions immediately after the war, the remaking of the British coal industry, and two ruminations on the bright future of Great Britain. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 10298.
The damned don’t cry!. 1950 1 videodisc (103 min.). Ethel Whitehead learns there’s only one way for a woman to survive in a man’s world : be as tempting as a cupcake and as tough as a 75-cent steak. Ethel moves from the wrong side of the tracks to a mobster’s mansion in high society one man at a time. Some of those men love her. Some use her. And one, a high-rolling racketeer, abuses her. When the racketeer murders his rival in Ethel’s swanky living room, she flees a sure murder rap, right back to the poverty she thought she had escaped. And this time there may not be a man to pick up the pieces of her shattered life.--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6606.
Vicki. Fox film noir 1953. 1 videodisc (85 min.). When cover girl Vicki Lynn is murdered, driven detective Ed Cornell investigates as flashbacks chronicle her rise to the top. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7633.
The unsuspected. 1947. 1 videodisc (103 min.). "In this murder mystery, a woman can not remember the man who claims to be her husband following the murder of a young girl. The woman’s uncle runs a mystery radio show, which brings up the questions of who committed the murder, why they murder the girl and who is the man claiming to be her husband." -- container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6401.
The defiant ones. 1958. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Two convicts escaping from a Southern work gang discover that they are bound together by an unbreakable iron chain and separated by a hatred for each other. But in order to elude capture they must overcome their hostility. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11703.
Ray Donovan. Season one. 2013. 4 videodiscs (approximately 633 minutes). Ray Donovan is the go-to guy who makes the problems of Los Angeles celebrities, superstar athletes, and business moguls disappear. This powerful family drama unfolds when his Irish gangster father is unexpectedly released from prison, setting off a chain of events that shakes the Donovan family to its core. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14294.
The disappearance of Eleanor Rigby. 2013. 2 videodiscs (123 min.). Once happily married, Connor and Eleanor suddenly find themselves as strangers longing to understand each other in the wake of tragedy. The film explores the couple’s story as they try to reclaim the life and love they once knew and pick up the pieces of a past that may be too far gone. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11921.
The dragon painter. Milestone cinematheque. 1919. 1 videodisc (53 min.). Restoration of "The dragon painter", full-length 1919 feature in which Hayakawa plays Tatsu, a wild youth living in the mountain forests of Japan, spending all his time painting. Although Tatsu creates beautiful art, local villagers believe that he is insane, as he claims that he has a beloved princess fiancée who has been turned into a dragon. When an renowned-but-aging artist hears of the young hermit’s talent, Tatsu is brought to civilization with the hope that he will both become the student of the old artist and marry the elderly man’s daughter to continue the family lineage and traditions. Restoration of "The wrath of the gods, or, the destruction of Sakura-Jima", Thomas Ince’s full-length 1914 feature film as a restored tinted print featuring Hayakawa as the patriarch of a family carrying a curse. "Screen snapshots," a 1921 comedy short teaming Hayakawa with silver screen legend "Fatty" Arbuckle, as a pair of fresh army recruits and their drill seargent, played by Charles Murray. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12030.
The essential Jacques Demy. 2014. 13 videodiscs (7 DVDs, 6 Blu-Ray discs). Fate and coincidence, doomed love, and storybook romance surface throughout the French director’s films, many of which are further united by the intersecting lives of characters who either appear or are referenced across titles. DVD 11548-11583.
The Europeans. The Merchant Ivory collection. 1979 1 videodisc (91 min.). A sophisticated European brother and sister turn up unexpectedly on the doorstep of their staid American cousins. The fortune-hunting Eugenia and her high-spirited brother Felix turn this Puritan world upside down. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3634.
The file on Thelma Jordon. 1950 1 videodisc (100 min.). A 1950 film noir directed by noir veteran Robert Siodmak. Barbara Stanwyck plays Thelma Jordon, a woman who seduces the married Assistant District Attorney and pulls him into a web of theft and murder. Her aunt’s mansion is burglarized and the woman is murdered. Thelma calls the Assistant DA to help her cover up evidence that may incriminate her. When she emerges as the prime suspect, the infatuated Assistant DA tries to sabotage the prosecution. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6419.
The Grand Budapest Hotel. 2014. 1 videodisc (100 min.). The adventures of Gustave H, a legendary concierge at a famous European hotel between the wars, and Zero Moustafa, the lobby boy who becomes his most trusted friend. The story involves the theft and recovery of a priceless Renaissance painting and the battle for an enormous family fortune. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11444.
The grand seduction. 2013. 1 videodisc (113 min.). A small fishing village must procure a local doctor to secure a lucrative business contract. When unlikely candidate and big city doctor Paul Lewis lands in their lap for a trial residence, the townsfolk rally together to charm him into staying. As the doctor’s time in the village winds to a close, acting mayor Murray French has no choice but to pull out all the stops and begin The Grand Seduction. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11835.
The hobbit. The battle of the five armies. 2015. 3 videodiscs (144 min.). The epic conclusion to the adventures of Bilbo Baggins. The dragon Smaug rains his fiery wrath down upon the defenseless men, women, and children of Lake-town. Obsessed above all else with his reclaimed treasure, Thorin sacrifices friendship and honor to hoard it as Bilbo attempts to make him see reason. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11050.
The householder. Merchant Ivory collection. 1963 1 videodisc (101 min.). The story of a shy, Delhi schoolteacher who marries and then, little by little, gets to know his wife during their first year together. This story, derived from the culture of modern India, is able to relate to the problems of young couples everywhere. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4018.
The immigrant. 2013. 1 videodisc (117 minutes). Ewa Cybulski and her sister sail to New York from their native Poland in search of a new start and the American dream. When they reach Ellis Island, doctors discover that Magda is ill, and the two women are separated. Ewa is released onto the mean streets of Manhattan while her sister is quarantined. Alone, with nowhere to turn and desperate to reunite with Magda, Ewa quickly falls prey to Bruno, a charming but wicked man who takes her in and forces her into prostitution. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12220.
The John Frankenheimer collection. 2008. 4 videodiscs (ca. 543 min.). Ronin: When a group of covert mercenaries in post-Cold War France are hired to steal a top-secret briefcase, they find themselves competing with other underworld organizations in an action adventure that will keep you on the edge of you seat! The Manchurian Candidate: Angela Lansbury received an Oscar nomination for her portrayal of a woman involved a sinister political plot involving a platoon of G.I.s who were brainwashed, in this nail-biter that also stars Frank Sinatra. The Train: A French Resistance member (Burt Lancaster) tries to stop a train in its tracks - literally - when it’s about to be used to transport some rare stolen paintings in an action adventure that’s sheer excitement. The Young Savages: Based on the best seller and starring Oscar Winner Burt Lancaster, The Young Savages follows the shocking court trial of the murder of a blind 15-year-old Puerto Rican gang member by three Italian teens. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11907-11910.
The journal of short film. Vol. 17, Fall 2009 - Vol. 28, Summer 2012. 12 videodiscs (872 min.). Thoka / Thorbjorg Jonsdottir -- Walk / Meg Knowles -- Loom / Scott Kravitz -- Princess Margaret Blvd. / Kazik Radwanski -- Djinn / Eliane Lima -- Whispering Pines #5 / Shana Moulton -- Nothing is over nothing / Jonathtan Schwartz -- Mixed signals / Richard Martin. Color + modulation 1 / Rob Tyler -- Sebastian / Ann Steuernagel -- Cataract / Sainath Choudhury -- Winning the peace / Eli Kaufman -- Tidal Wave / Salise Hughes -- Somewhere never travelled / Ben Garchar -- Five country fair / David Ellsworth -- The Commoners / Jessica Bardsley and Penny Lane -- I cannot understand you / David Baeumler. Infiltration / Charles Chadwick (2009, 4:53) -- Hunger / Carolina Hellsgård (2009, 17:40) -- Abstract? / Alexei Dmitriev (2009, 3:30) -- Widow / Michael Fisher (2010, 5:30) -- Canyon Time / Richard O’Sullivan (2004, 15:35) -- Inner Klänge / Lemeh42 (2010, 10:00) -- Kyrie / Michael A. Morris (2009, 14:30) -- Coyote / Robert Harris (1997, 17:07). Themes & variations for the naked eye / Caitlin Horsmon -- Re-considering The New Industrial Parks near Irvine, California by Lewis Baltz / Mario Pfeifer -- Pancakes for Dad / Stacie Sells -- Two Men / Ian Olds -- The Sinking Ship / Shawn Downey & Brian Hearn -- Photo-synthesis / Lisa Danker -- Fledgling / Tony Guault & Elizabeth Henry -- Chemical / Sean McHenry -- Aftermath on Meadowlark Lane / Zellner Bros. Find / Tara Samuel -- Before the election / Shun Yu Mo -- Self improvement / Clint Enns -- Four movements from a sonata for streams / Kevin Van Scoder -- Nora / Grace Carter + Holly Andres -- Seer’s Catalogue / Dave Griffiths -- Koh / Ada R. Levin -- Adrift / Cathy Lee Crane. An eyeful of sound / Samantha Moore -- Metamorphosis / Christian Bolewski -- Breathing lessons / Claudia Esslinger -- A covenant Adam / Ariana Hamidi -- A moments’ reverie / Tess Martin -- The Maid (Il Shaghala) / Heidi Saman -- 10 short documentaries about my childhood home / Dorothea Braemer -- Strip / Erika Suderburg & Linda Besemer. Preludio (3:00) / Albert Alcoz -- Against cinema (9:00) / Alberto Cabrera Bernal -- Fruit flies (1:30) / Christine Lucy Latimer -- A new psalm (3:14) / Greg King -- Puhelinkoppi (7:30) / Hope Tucker -- A joy (3:00) / Jodie Mack -- 465 years in Montreal (3:37) / Kevin Kelly -- Confessors (19:24) / Michael A. Morris -- Washes (8:30) / Norbert Shieh -- Pieces of nature (13:00) / Mario Pfeifer -- Parasol (8:21) / Webster Crowell. Fragments from an endless war (6:30) / Georg Koszulinski -- Reverse cimmaron (6:14) / Lydia Moyer -- A Moroccan remains a Moroccan (6:40) / Shara K. Lange -- The end (5:20) / Tammy Renée Brackett -- Shoulders on a map (4:30) / Jason Britski -- Ghosts and gravel roads (16:00) / Mike Rollo -- Lilly (6:30) / Jodie Mack -- Measured sacrifice (18:20) / An Arbor Avenue Film. f my c / Kailyne Waters -- Towards the blue / Randy Caspersen -- Vapor / Kaveh Nabatain -- Strands / Paul Neudorf. Yelp (2:51) / Tiffany Schlain & Ken Goldberg -- Young mother nature (4:30) / Steve Conroy -- D-information (2:33) / Louis Libitz -- Camp (7:00) / Peter Freund -- Alone in the 475th (5:39) / George Gantzer -- The gift (8:50) / Bernie Roddy -- Retablo (3:14) / Susana Del Rio Kuroiwa -- Nothing to undo (4:30) / Jason Robinson -- Holly hype (5:47) / Amber Cecil -- Another dress, another button (2:24) / Lynn Elliot. Plain face (10:42) / Tess Martin -- Albertine (7:12) / Elaine Lima -- Locomotion in water (14:00) / Hanna Rose Shell -- Pow Pow Pow (17:45) / Dianne Bellino. Plan of the city (13:30) / Joshua Frankel -- Crooked beauty (20:00) / Ken Paul Rosenthal -- Four cubic feet of space (8:30) / Tony Gault -- Broad channel (14:00) / Sarah J. Christman -- SP #4 (3:00) / Carl Knickerbocker -- RIP Geocities (2:32) / Faith Holland. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3727 - DVD 3738
The locket. 1946 1 videodisc (86 min.). Recounts the mental disintegration of bride-to-be Laraine Day. As a child, Day was accused of stealing a locket at a fancy party. She has spent her life getting even for this false accusation by becoming a kleptomaniac and ruining the lives of those around her. She drives one man to suicide, and stands by as another man is executed for a murder which she has committed. Assuming her revenge on the world is complete when she becomes engaged to the son of the woman who’d accused her of thievery, Day is overtaken by the demons within her and collapses on the altar. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6413.
The lunchbox. 2014. 2 videodiscs (ca. 105 min.). "A mistaken delivery in Mumbai’s famously efficient lunchbox delivery system connects Ila, a neglected housewife, to Saajan ... , a lonely man on the verge of retirement"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11490.
Buffalo Bill. The complete first and second seasons. 1983 3 videodiscs (ca. 630 min.). "Bill Bittinger, a small town host of a local talk show in Buffalo, NY, is trying to make it in the big leagues. He is obnoxious, insensitive, hypocritical and will do whatever it takes to succeed. He makes life miserable for his producer Karl Shub and his calm, competent, talented co-host Jo Jo White. Unable to keep Bill under control, they bring in Wendy Killian to keep a watchful eye"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11526.
The magnificent Ambersons. 1942 1 videodisc (88 min.). A brilliant, moving portrayal of an aristocratic American family in what many critics consider a masterpiece equal to Citizen Kane. Based on a novel by Booth Tarkington, the drama begins in the 1870s when the Amberson family is at the height of its wealth and prestige. But the day arrives when all the Ambersons are stunned by the truth of their financial ruin. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11407.
The man who cheated himself. Alpha video classics. 1950 1 videodisc (98 min.). When San Francisco police detective Ed Cullen’s lover Lois Frazer accidentally shoots her husband, the rookie detective assigned to the case is none other than Ed’s kid brother, Andy Cullen. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6566.
The man with the golden arm. Frank Sinatra collection. Frank Sinatra. The golden years. 1955. 1 videodisc (119 min.). In this Hollywood landmark, Frank Sinatra gives a searing, Oscar-nominated performance as an aspiring drummer struggling to break free of his drug habit. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11704.
The Max Linder collection. Slapstick symposium. 2014. 1 videodisc (205 min.). A pioneer of slapstick with his trademark silk top hat and cane, this Max Linder collection has him playing Dart-in Again (D’Artagnan), a courting young man, a fellow who brings misfortune to himself by avoiding bad luck situations, and a newlywed who needs a divorce to get an inheritance. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11541.
The prowler. 1951 1 videodisc (92 min.). A nefarious cop stalks a lonely, repressed Los Angeles housewife and decides to win her by killing her husband. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8454.
The Rockford files. Season one. 1975. 3 videodiscs (ca. 1156 min.). Offbeat Jim Rockford is an ex-con turned private investigator who would rather fish than fight, but whose instinct on closed cases is more golden than his classic Pontiac Firebird. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11804.
The Roger Corman collection. Originally released as motion pictures, 1959-1970. 4 videodiscs. disc 1. Gas-s-s-s! / Concorde-New Horizon Corp. ; an American International release ; written by George Armitage (1971 ; col. ; 78 min.) -- The trip / American International Productions ; written by Jack Nicholson (1967 ; col ; 79 min.) -- disc 2. The young racers / American International ; written by R. Wright Campbell (1963 ; col ; 81 min.) -- The wild angels / American International ; written by Charles Griffith (1966 ; col. ; 86 min.) -- disc 3. Bloody mama / Orion Pictures Corporation ; screenplay by Robert Thom (1970 ; col. ; 91 min.) -- A bucket of blood / Orion Pictures Corporation ; written by Charles B. Griffith (1959 ; b&w ; 66 min.) -- disc 4. The premature burial / Santa Clara Productions ; an American International picture ; screenplay by Charles Beaumont and Ray Russell -- X: the man with the x-ray eyes / Orion Pictures Corporation ; an American International picture ; screenplay by Robert Dillon and Ray Russell (1963 ; col. ; 79 min.). HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11932 – 11935
The second woman. 1950 1 videodisc (91 min.). Ellen (Betsy Drake) meets a stranger on a train (Robert Young) and is immediately taken by his charm. She soon discovers that his wife was mysteriously killed on their honeymoon and he is haunted by dark visions of her death. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4011.
The shield: the complete series collection. 2009. 29 videodiscs (63 hr.). Story of a Los Angeles police precinct where the actions of the elite strike team’s leader, Detective Vic Mackey and his officers, teeter on the brink of legal and illegal. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14213-14219.
The trilogy. 2002 2 videodiscs (ca. 341 min.). Three films by Lucas Belvaux about people, how they perceive the world around them, and the consequences of their actions. Cavale = On the run: "Bruno escapes from prison where he has spent 15 years. Despite all the years that have gone by, he has not changed and is ready to take on the entire world. But the world has changed."--Container. Couple épatant = Amazing couple: "Cecile and Alain have been an ’amazing’ couple for 20 years. But the night of his birthday, Cecile discovers Alain has been lying to her. What is the love of her life hiding from her?"--Container. Après la vie = After life: "Agnes is a teacher. Agnes takes drugs. Pascal, her husband provides her with the morphine she needs so badly. He is a cop. It is his way of protecting her. It is a delicate balance."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11555.
The unbelievers. 2013. 2 videodiscs (76, 77 min.). "The Unbelievers follows renowned scientists Richard Dawkins and Lawrence Krauss across the globe as they speak publicly about the importance of science and reason encouraging others to cast off antiquated religious and in the modern world politically motivated approaches toward important current issues"--Cover. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11948.
The unforgiven. 1960. 1 videodisc (125 min.). A family on the frontier adopts a young girl, but the Indians claim that the girl is one of them, and they want her back. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3353
The way he looks. 2014. 1 videodisc (96 min.). A fun and tender story about friendship and the complications of young love. Leo is a blind teenager who’s fed up with his overprotective mother and the bullies at school. Looking to assert his independence, he decides to study abroad to the dismay of his best friend, Giovana. When Gabriel, the new kid in town, teams with Leo on a school project, new feelings blossom in him that make him reconsider his plans. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12016.
The woman on pier 13. Archive collection. 1949 1 videodisc (73 min.). Brad Collins, former stevedore, is rising fast in a shipping company when local communist agitators use his former Party affiliation to extort his help in stirring up trouble. When Brad resists, communist femme fatale Christine works through his brother-in-law Don. But Brad’s new wife Nan sees that her husband and brother are under pressure; when she investigates on her own, party boss Vanning takes ruthless action. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7614.
The world the flesh and the devil. Archive collection. 1959. 1 videodisc (95 min.). ’Millions Flee from Cities! End of the World!’ From a Manhattan skyscraper, Ralph Burton surveys the emptiness announced by that chilling newspaper headline. Nuclear doomsday has come. Ralph is sure he is the last person alive. Then a woman appears and the two form a cautious friendship that’s threatened when a third survivor arrives. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6619.
Theorem. 2011. 1 videodisc (94 min.). "When a striking young stranger arrives at a household and sets about seducing each family member he leaves behind an inescapable void of confusion that leads them on an odyssey of self-discovery and departure from the norm"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6618.
Top of the lake. 2013. 2 videodiscs (ca. 360 min.). A pregnant 12 year-old girl who won’t reveal who the father is, walks chest deep into the freezing waters of a New Zealand lake and disappears. Robin Griffin is called in to investigate and becomes more and more obsessed. As she searches, she slowly begins to realize that finding the girl is tantamount to finding herself, a self she has kept well hidden. A powerful and haunting story about our search for happiness, where the dream of paradise attracts its dark twin, the fall. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11601.
Touched. 2008. 1 videodisc (66 min.). A documentary by Laurel Chiten about people who think they’ve encountered aliens and the Harvard psychiatrist who believes them. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7629.
Transport z ráje = Transport from paradise. 1963. 1 videodisc (92 min.). PAL. Depicts life in the Terezin ghetto in Czechoslovakia during World War II. The Germans are making a "Jewish" propaganda film about the ghetto, all the while they are preparing to transport the residents to the Buchenwald Concentration Camp. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7863
True detective. The complete first season. 2014. 3 videodiscs (458 min.). In 2012, Louisiana State Police Detectives Rust Cohle and Martin Hart are brought in to revisit a homicide case they worked in 1995. As the inquiry unfolds in present day through separate interrogations, the two former detectives narrate the story of their investigation, reopening unhealed wounds, and drawing into question their supposed solving of a bizarre ritualistic murder in 1995. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11445.
Under the skin. 2013. 1 videodisc (108 min.). An alien in the form of a voluptuous young woman combs the streets of Scotland in search of men. She lures a succession of lost souls into her otherworldly lair, where they are seduced, stripped of their humanity, and never heard from again. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11598
Union Station. 1950. 1 videodisc (81 min.). "Returning to the city from her wealthy employer’s residence, Joyce Willecombe (Nancy Olson), spots two armed men on the train. She reports them to the conductor who radios the Station’s police. Once at Union Station she points out the men to Lt. William Calhoun (William Holden), head of the station’s police squad and they find out that the gunmen are members of a gang who have kidnapped her employer’s blind daughter and are seeking a $100,000 ransom. The Chicago police headed by inspector Donnelly (Barry Fitzgerald), and the FBI are both called in"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6420.
Plunder road. 1958 1 videodisc (72 min.). Five hardened criminals rob a government train of gold bullion and are chased across the country by state troopers and police. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6412.
War of the worlds. 2005. 1 videodisc (117 min.). Tom Cruise, Dakota Fanning, Miranda Otto, Justin Chatwin, Tim Robbins, Rick Gonzalez, Yul Vazquez, Lenny Venito, Lisa Ann Walter. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11321.
Watch the skies! 2009. 3 videodiscs (222 min.). A collection of alien and UFO themed motion pictures. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12054-12056.
Weiduoliya yi hao = Dream home. 2011. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Li-sheung is a woman obsessed. She has found the perfect home and it will be hers, no matter what the cost. Though she doesn’t have the money, there is nothing she won’t do for the security and prestige that comes with owning her ideal dream home. And if that means shedding a bit of blood, then so be it. And Li-sheung will spill far more than a bit of blood. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6591.
Welt am Draht = World on a wire. 1973. 2 videodiscs (212 min.). The noir-spiked tale of a reluctant action hero, a cybernetics engineer who uncovers a massive corporate conspiracy substituting simulations for reality. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11625.
What is cinema? 2014. 1 videodisc (80 min.). Workman is best known for creating unforgettable Oscar montage sequences and for his award-winning documentaries. Here he demonstrates his command of cinematic language, creating a visual essay out of clips from films that pushed the boundaries of the art form and gave us ideas of what the future might hold. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11636.
While the city sleeps. 1956 1 videodisc (100 min.). "Ask mother" says the message scrawled in lipstick at a muder scene by an unknown serial killer who preys on women. It’s a sensational story - if it bleeds, it leads - and a news conglomerate offers a big promotion to the high-level company exec who solves the case. So begins the wheeling, dealing and backstabbing of the competing media hotshots as they vie to unmask the so-called Lipstick Killer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7621.
Whiplash. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 107 minutes). Andrew Neyman is an ambitious young jazz drummer, single-minded in his pursuit to rise to the top of his elite East coast music conservatory. Plagued by the failed writing career of his father, Andrew hungers day and night to become one of the greats. Terence Fletcher, an instructor equally known for his teaching talents as for his terrifying methods, leads the top jazz ensemble in the school. Fletcher discovers Andrew and transfers the aspiring drummer into his band. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11897.
Whitewash. 2013. 1 videodisc (91 min.). In the harsh, wintry woods of rural Quebec, Bruce, a down-on-his-luck snowplow operator, accidentally kills a man during a drunken night joyride. Stricken with panic, he hides the body and takes to the deep wilderness in hopes of outrunning both the authorities and his own conscience. But as both begin to close in, Bruce falls apart mentally and morally and mysteries unravel to reveal who he was before the accident. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6756
Wings over water: How naval aviation made the U.S. a world power. Hoffman collection. 2005. 1 videodisc (87 min.). Tells the fascinating story of naval aviation’s critical role in making the U.S. a world power. Film highlights include archival footage of some of the most terrifying and intense airspace battles fought and the intriguing interviews of the veterans who took part in them. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4033.
Film d’amore e d’anarchia, ovvero Stamattina alle 10 in via dei fiori nella nota casa di tolleranza = Love & anarchy. 1973 1 videodisc (124 min.). A country peasant goes to Rome with a plan to assassinate Benito Mussolini. His underground contact in the network of anarchists offers him a hideout in her brothel where he falls in love with a young prostitute. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3636.
Woman on the run. 1950 1 videodisc (77 min.). Convincing story of a wife trying to find her husband, who is a witness to a gangland murder, before the underworld does. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11441.
Wu tai jie mei = Two actresses. 1965. 1 videodisc (108 min.) This movie reveals the miserable life and sufferings of two actresses of Yue Opera in the old society and their liberation and renascence in the new China. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11944.
Xian ren = stool pigeon. 2011. 1 videodisc (113 min.). Policeman Don Lee often works with informants, but numerous close calls and failed missions cause him to see the world as one betrayal after another. Then he meets Guy and is given a chance to change his views. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6402.
Y tu mamá también. 2001. 2 videodiscs (106 minutes). A pair of horny Mexico City teenagers from different classes who, after their girlfriends jet off to Italy for the summer, are bewitched by a gorgeous older Spanish woman they meet at a wedding. When she agrees to accompany them on a trip to a faraway beach, the three forms an increasingly intense and sensual alliance that ultimately strips them both physically and emotionally bare. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 454.
Yong Chun. Yuen Woo Ping’s collection. 1994. 1 videodisc (ca. 100 min.). Wing Chun is a martial arts expert who battles bandits. She must also battle the men around her who don’t take her seriously. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6590.
You’re the worst. The complete first season. 2014. 2 videodiscs (approximately 240 min.). Meet Gretchen and Jimmy. She’s a cynical PR rep for rappers and he’s a narcissistic British novelist. Impressed by each other’s bad behavior at Jimmy’s ex-girlfriend’s wedding, they begin what they swear is a casual sexual relationship, until it turns out to be more than that. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12048.
Young Ones. Originally broadcast on BBC in 1982 and 1984. 3 videodiscs (405 min.). Comedy series about four college students (a punk-metal rocker, a hippie, an anarchist, and a suave, sensible one) sharing a house. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12057
Zatoichi. 2013. 27 videodiscs (2197 min.). The colossally popular Zatoichi films make up the longest-running action series in Japanese history and created one of the screen’s great heroes: an itinerant blind masseur who also happens to be a lightning-fast swordsman. Features the string of twenty-five Zatoichi films made between 1962 and 1973, starring Shintaro Katsu, collected in one package for the first time. DVD & BLU 11871-11896.