To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
12 O’Clock Boys. 2013. 1 videodisc (76 min.). The 12 O’Clock Boys are a notorious urban dirt bike pack in Baltimore that pops wheelies, weaves at excessive speeds through traffic, and impressively evades the hamstrung police. Their antics are viewed through the eyes of adolescent Taekwon Ford, known as Pug, a bright kid from the Westside obsessed with the riders and willing to do anything to join their ranks. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11778.
After Tiller. 2014. 1 videodisc (88 min.). "After Tiller intimately explores the highly controversial subject of third-trimester abortions in the wake of the 2009 assassination of practitioner Dr. George Tiller. The procedure is now performed by only four doctors in the United States, all former colleagues of Dr. Tiller, who risk their lives every day in the name of their unwavering commitment toward their patients. Directors Martha Shane and Lana Wilson have created a moving and unique exploration of one of the most incendiary topics of our time, and they’ve done so in an informative, thought-provoking, and compassionate way." - from Oscilloscope Laboratories website. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11785.
Anita : speaking truth to power. 2013. 1 videodisc (77 min.). The story of Anita Hill, who has empowered millions to stand up for equality and justice. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5213.
Blackbird. 2012. 1 videodisc (104 min.). An unlikely friendship forms between Sean Randall and popular teen Deanna Roy. After writing a death threat online, Sean is falsely accused of plotting a Columbine-like massacre. The police raid his home and find rifles, shotguns, and a ’hit list’ with twenty names of students who bullied Sean. As Sean faces imprisonment in a youth detention facility, he must overcome his dark image and prove his innocence to Deanna and his shaken community. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7853.
Cesare deve morire = Caesar must die. 2011. 1 videodisc (77 min.). As part of a rehabilitative prison program, inmates at a high-security prison in Rome prepare for a public performance of Shakespeare’s ’Julius Caesar.’ As they rehearse, the prisoners find that the classic play has both a striking resonance and contrast to their confined lives. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6587.
Inside the American mob. 2013. 2 videodiscs (270 min.). Inside the American mob reveals the little-known but pivotal escapades, capers and cadavers that truly compose the history of the mob in America. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11719.
Locked up in America. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 2 hr., 30 min.). Two Frontline episodes on the American penal system. Solitary nation looks at life in solitary confinement in Maine’s maximum security prison. Prison state addresses the problem of mass incarceration in America, focusing on four residents of a Louisville, Kentucky housing project as they cycle in and out of the state’s prison system. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7854.
Me facing life: Cyntoia’s story. 2010. 1 videodisc (52 min.). Me facing life : Cyntoia’s story takes a hard look at some of the complex social issues concerning a 16-year-old girl who is serving a life sentence for murder. Cyntoia Brown found herself in a series of bad situations that led to her killing a man. The filmmaker spent nearly six years exploring her life and familial relationships in order to answer a very basic question ... why? This documentary pushes aside assumptions about what we think about violence and takes a glance into a startling social mirror that reveals a strong connection between violence in her maternal line and a predestined childhood filled with bad decisions. DVD 12253.
Mr. Untouchable. 2007. 1 videodisc (ca. 92 min.). "This is the true-life story of a junkie turned multimillionaire drug lord. With the first hand testimony of the Godfather himself, Nicky Barnes, who was the most powerful black drug kingpin in New York City history. From humble beginnings, he came to dominate the heroin distribution business. Trusted and trained by the Italians, he set up his own crime family --The Council."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11723.
Orange is the new black. Season one. 2013. 4 videodiscs (approximately 730 minutes). Brooklynite Piper Chapman, whose wild past comes back to haunt her and results in her arrest and detention in a federal penitentiary. To pay her debt to society, Piper trades her comfortable New York life for an orange prison jumpsuit and finds unexpected conflict and camaraderie amidst an eccentric group of inmates. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11416.
Outcasts : surviving the culture of rejection. 2014. 1 videodisc (71 minutes, 27 seconds). "Outcasts: Surviving the culture of rejection" is a documentary film that examines the high cost of recidivism, its devastating effect on families and communities in Tennessee, and some solutions that are making a difference by providing a second chance for individuals, who otherwise would remain on the fringes of society as outcasts or return to jail or prison. The film also explores the history of recidivism, as well as what writer/director, Stephen Newton, calls the culture of rejection and why it may unwittingly contribute to the high rate of recidivism in Tennessee, where more than 50% of released offenders return to jail or prison within three years. - Video case. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11614.
Scheherazade in Baabda. 2012. 1 videodisc (92 min.). "Following the widely acclaimed play and award-winning documentary “12 Angry Lebanese” with male inmates from Lebanon’s high-security Roumieh prison, Zeina Daccache expands the drama therapy/theatre program to Baabda Women’s Prison. From the women personal stories, the new play Scheherazade in Baabda emerges as a result of 10 months of work, highlighting both the difficult conditions in which women detainees live and the increased vulnerability as women living in a conservative and patriarchal society." –Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11518.
Starred up. 2013. 1 videodisc (approximately 106 minutes). A troubled and explosively violent teenager is transferred to an adult prison where he finally meets his match - a man who also happens to be his father. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11828.
The Iceman: confessions of a Mafia hitman. 2002. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Interviews with Richard Kuklinski, a master criminal now in Trenton State Prison, NJ, who admits to more than 100 murders over a 20-year period. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11742.
Valentine road. 2013. 1 videodisc (88 min.). "In 2008, eighth-grader Brandon McInerney shot classmate Larry King at point blank range. Unraveling this tragedy from point of impact, the film reveals the heartbreaking circumstances that led to the shocking crime as well as the aftermath"--Movie Web site. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11540.
Whitey : United States of America v. James J. Bulger. 2014. 1 videodisc (107 min.). A sweeping and revelatory documentary film that follows the trial of the infamous gangster James ’Whitey’ Bulger, using the courtroom action as a springboard to examine accusations of multi-faceted corruption within the nation’s law enforcement and legal systems. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6742.