To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
A simple life. 2011. 1 videodisc (118 min.). Roger is a successful movie producer. Ah Tao has worked for Roger’s family as a nanny and maid over the course of four generations. When Roger comes home to find Ah Tao’s suffered a severe stroke and she is unable to care for herself, he agrees to help her relocate to a nursing home. He wants to help, but fears he’ll fail her. She needs his kindness, but doesn’t want to be a burden. As their roles reverse, he becomes her caregiver, and comes to understand how much she means to him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5212.
Antares. Film movement series ; v. 3, film 3. 2004. 1 videodisc (115 min.). "Antares tells three stories of passion, jealousy, routine, and violence, in which love is the cause of and driving force behind each character’s emotional and physical experiences. Alex and Nicole are divorced, but Alex cannot let go of what has passed. Sonja is facing tough times because of her pregnancy and becoming wildly jealous of her husband Marco. Eva, a loyal wife and mother, has her life turned upside-down by a fling with Tomasz."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11811.
Berlin Babylon. 2000. 1 videodisc (88 min.). Presented as the opening film of the 2001 Internationalen Filmfestspielen Berlin, this documentary shows the razing of structures damaged during wartime and explains the planning, design, and building of the new city center including the German Historical Museum, Potsdamer Platz, the Jewish Museum, Lehrter Central Station, the Reichstag Dome, and the Academy of Arts. Conversations with architects, politicians, city planners, and construction workers give a detailed definition of the entire scope of the project. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10357.
Berlin: Sinfonie einer Grossstadt. 2002. 1 videodisc (77 min.). Filmed at the beginning of the 21st century, a cross section of life in Berlin presented in a series of fast moving images. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11769.
Berlin-Ecke Schönhauser. 1957. 1 videodisc (79 min.). "In this landmark film about rebellious youth, a group of teenagers meet daily on Schönhauser Avenue in East Berlin to dance to rock n’ roll, swap Western goods and escape the control of their parents and the State."--Container. "The corner Schönhauser Allee in East Berlin is the main meeting-point for a group of adolescents. Dieter is a construction worker who falls in love with Angela. She, in turn, spends time with the clique whenever her mother is occupied with her new lover. ’Kohle’ stays away from home to avoid his dad’s alcohol problem, and Karl-Heinz is on his way to becoming a small-time criminal. Due to their interest in western music and culture they are regarded as no-goods and rowdies. Things get interesting when an incident forces Dieter and ’Kohle’ to escape to West Germany"--Internet Movie Database. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11674.
Blancanieves. 2011. 1 videodisc (104 minutes). "Once upon a time there was a little girl named Carmen, who never knew her mother. She learned the art of her father, a famous bullfighter, but was hated by her evil stepmother. One day she ran away with a troupe of dwarves, and became a legend. A re-telling of the classic ’Snow White’"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12302.
Camille Claudel 1915.2013. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Shows Camille Claudel, a protégé and mistress of Auguste Rodin, in 1915 when she was imprisoned in an insane asylum. Camille was also the sister of the Christian mystic poet Paul Claudel, the last of her family to pay her regular visits. Inspired by the correspondence between Paul and Camille, the movie focuses on Camille ’s struggle to maintain a sense of normalcy in a crowd of schizophrenics. Suffering from bouts of paranoia, she focuses on her art and her family as pillars of sanity, until those too begin to crumble. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11418.
Das Leben ist eine Baustelle.1997. 1 videodisc (115 min.). "Life Is All You Get (Leben ist eine Baustelle, Das) in a huge city like Berlin you literally have to bump into your "big love"--Or else it could be that your chance has forever passed. On his way to work at the slaughterhouse, Jan Nebel gets into a street fight. Before he really knows what is going on, he beats up two plainclothes police investigators and finds himself joined by Vera, a beautiful woman who turns out to be his dreamgirl. But their fortune is fragile: Jan is afraid of being HIV-infected, and Vera creeps out of his bed every night ... Just like the other leading characters in this film, Jan and Vera are looking for their own identity, for friendship, a piece of luck and for their ’big love’’. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11717.
Der fall Jägerstätter. Österreichische Film ; 84. 1971. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Dramatizations and interviews with those who knew him combine to tell the story of Franz Jägerstätter, an Austrian farmer who refused to join the German army under the Nazis and was executed for his decision. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11537.
Despues de Lucia = After Lucia. Cinema grande. 2012. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Ever since becoming a widower Roberto has neglected her fifteen years old teenage daughter Alejandra. Plunged into depression he decides to relocate to Mexico City. At her new school, the girl will tolerate in silence the emotional abuse and humiliations of every kind in order to not take her problems home. Father and daughter start to grow apart and violence will become present in all aspects of their lives. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7632.
It’s not me I swear! 2008. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Leon is not like most ten-year olds. This innocent-looking boy with an overly fertile imagination is a young hellion, a consummate liar and thief well versed in breaking and entering his neighbors’ homes and running away from his own. When his mom decides to pack up and leave for Greece, Leon does so much to keep her there. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11718.
J’ai tué ma mère = I killed my mother.2009. 1 videodisc (96 min.). Focusing on the relationship between Hubert Minel, a 16-year-old Quebecois living in suburban Montreal, and his single mother Chantale, the film beautifully captures the anxieties of a mother-son relationship. While he gauges her with contempt, only seeing her out-of-date sweater and kitschy decor, the ingrained mechanisms (i.e. manipulation and guilt) of their relationship beautifully (and tragically) unravel on the big screen. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11691.
L’amour fou. 2011. 1 videodisc (103 min.). "Few, if any, changed fashion like Yves Saint Laurent did in the 20th century. ...follows the indelible icon through the eyes of lifetime love and business partner Pierre Bergé--from his early days as a design prodigy for Christian Dior through his decades as the face of a fashion empire. ...captures the complete man behind the monogram, whose private struggles with depression and substance abuse often underscored his triumphs and innovations"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11841.
La muerte de un burócrata = The death of a bureaucrat. Cuban cinema. 2004. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Sarcastic and humorous portrayal of Cuban bureaucracy as seen in the story of a man’s mounting frustration with his fruitless attempts to procure the pension of a recently-deceased uncle. DVD 9559.
La nuit de Varennes. 1982. 1 videodisc (150 min.). In June 1791, Louis XVI and Marie-Antoinette flee Paris at night. They are followed by a writer, Nicolas Restif de la Bretonne, Casanova himself, Thomas Paine, and various other famous and non-famous people who must confront their own political ideas. BLU 10097.
La otra conquista = The other conquest. 1998. 1 videodisc (110 min.). Mexico, 1521. The Spanish army of Hernando Cortés has swept through the New World forcing their religious beliefs on the brave Aztec people. A skillful Aztec scribe, who survived the Massacre of the Temple in 1520, spends years trying to preserve the rites and customs of his people. The Spanish army would conquer their land, but not the soul of the Aztec people. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5755.
La Ultima Cena = The last supper. 1976. 1 videodisc (110 min.). The film is a dazzling moral tale of a pious late-eighteenth-century slaveholder who decides to improve his soul and instruct his slaves in the glories of Christianity by inviting twelve of them to participate in a reenactment of the Last Supper. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2262.
La vida loca. 2009. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Documents the Central American gangsters known as ’the maras’ who have modeled themselves after the youth gangs in Los Angeles. When the director of this movie went back to El Salvador to film the sequel, he was murdered by the same gang. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11326.
Le silence de la mer = The silence of the sea. Criterion collection ; 755. 1949. 2 videodiscs (87 minutes). 1941. An idealistic, naive German officer in Nazi occupied France is assigned to the home of a middle-aged man and his grown niece. Their response to his presence - their only form of resistance - is complete silence. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12227.
Leviafan = Leviathan. 2014. 1 videodisc (141 min.). Kolya lives in a small fishing town near the stunning Barents Sea in Northern Russia. He owns an auto-repair shop that stands right next to the house where he lives with his young wife Lilya and his son Roma. The town’s corrupt mayor is determined to take away his business, his house, and his land. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12259.
Madame Bovary. 1991. 2 videodiscs (ca. 140 min.). Bored with her confined life in 19th century France, a woman runs up ruinous debts and has adulterous affairs. When her excessive life catches up with her, she resorts to suicide as her final means of escape. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6427.
Norteado. 2009. 1 videodisc (95 min.). Born in Oaxaca, Mexico, Andres sets out on a journey to cross the US border in search of his family. After various failed attempts he settles down in Tijuana. There he meets two women who quickly seduce him and at the same time help him achieve his dream. Now he must face uncertainty and danger on a goal he might never be able to attain. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6444.
Nosotros los nobles. 2013. 1 videodisc (108 min.). Three spoiled children who are cut off from their family fortune and forced to do the unthinkable - get a job. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8131.
Nunca más = Never again. 2001. 1 videodisc (56 min.). This documentary focuses on internal displacement and testimonies of victims of the armed paramilitary group in communities in Uraba, Antioquia and Chocó, Colombia. DVD 3628.
Sik’ŭrit kadŭn = Secret garden. 2011. 5 videodiscs. Gil Ra-im is a tough, disciplined stuntwoman with a soft heart. Kim Joo-won is a nitpicky CEO with a long list of complexes. Love struck from the moment he meets her, Joo-won barges into Ra-im’s life in all the wrong ways. The more they fight, the more attracted they are to each other. But there is no Cinderella ending for this feuding couple. Their differences seem irreconcilable until they wake up one morning in each other’s bodies. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11459.
The broken circle breakdown. 2014. 1 videodisc (approx. 111 minutes). Elise (Veerle Baetens) and Didier (Johan Heldenbergh) fall in love at first sight. She has her own tattoo shop and he plays the banjo in a bluegrass band. They bond over their shared enthusiasm for American music and culture, and dive headfirst into a sweeping romance that plays out on and off stage- but when an unexpected tragedy hits their new family, everything they know and love is tested. An intensely moving portrait of a relationship from beginning to end, propelled by a soundtrack of foot-stomping bluegrass, The Broken Circle Breakdown is a romantic drama of the highest order. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11475.
The liberator. 2013. 1 videodisc (119 min.). Bookended by a foiled attempt on Bolv̕ar’s life in Bogota in 1828, it charts the story of the revolutionary leader’s impassioned fight for independence from Spain and creation of a united South American nation, the great stories of love and loss in his life, the political intrigue and drama following his ascension to power and his mysterious death. Simon Bolv̕ar fought over 100 battles against the Spanish Empire in South America. He rode over 70,000 miles on horseback. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11899.
The mystery of happiness. 2014. 1 videodisc (92 min.). Santiago and Eugenio are best friends who run a thriving electronics store together. One day, Eugenio doesn’t come to work, and Santiago delays telling anyone while trying to figure out why. Then Laura, Eugenio’s wife, shows up to say that Eugenio has disappeared. Perplexed, the two embark on a journey to find him, only to discover that true happiness can sometimes mean losing everything. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3351.
Trinidad. 2009. 1 videodisc (85 min.). Uncovers Trinidad, Colorado’s transformation from a Wild West outpost to "sex change capital of the world," and follows three transgender women who may steer the rural ranching town toward becoming the "transexual Mecca." DVD 11823.
Un flic = Dirty money.1972. 1 videodisc (ca. 98 min.). Paris police Commissaire Edouard Coleman discovers that his nightclub-owner friend, Simon, also leads a group of bank robbers. When he’s tipped off that the same robbers are planning a drug heist, Edouard means to defeat his two-faced friend. Meanwhile, Edouard has engaged in some doube-crossing himself. He shares the same woman, Cathy, with the man he calls his friend. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4015.
Una noche. 2013. 1 videodisc (approximately 91 min.). Raul feels trapped in the slums of Havana and dreams of escaping to Miami. After he is accused of assault, he must flee the country to save himself. He begs his best friend Elio to leave and help him travel 90 miles across the ocean. But Elio is torn between helping his best friend and protecting his twin sister Lila. Soon the trio’s commitment to their homeland and their desire of starting life anew in America is put to the test. Inspired by a true story. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11667.
Vuelve Sebastiana!: los Chipayas. 1953. 1 videodisc (29 min.). Documentary shows daily life of a group of Chipaya Indians in Bolivia in the early 1950s. Drought had made food production very difficult for these people at that time. DVD 6429.
What now, remind me. 2014. 1 videodisc (164 min.). Pinto, who has been living with HIV for more than two decades, looks back at his life in cinema, at his friendships and loves, at the mysteries of art and nature, while undergoing an experimental drug treatment. Moving freely between past and present, fact and fantasia, a beautiful portrait of a man looking beyond his own mortality at the world around him. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11627.
Xingu. 2014. 1 videodisc (103 min.). The three Villas Boas brothers, Orlando, Claudio, and Leonardo, are on a mission to protect the indigenous Amazon natives. Seeking adventure, they join the March to the West, an expedition to explore the Amazon rainforest. After befriending the native tribes, they become the leading advocates for the creation of the Xingu National Park. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11734.