To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
A brief history of time. The Criterion collection ; 699. 1991. 1 videodisc (84 min.). Errol Morris (The Fog of War) turns his camera on one of the most fascinating men in the world: the pioneering astrophysicist Stephen Hawking, afflicted by a debilitating motor neuron disease that has left him without a voice or the use of his limbs. An adroitly crafted tale of personal adversity, professional triumph, and cosmological inquiry, Morris’s documentary examines the way the collapse of Hawking’s body has been accompanied by the untrammeled broadening of his imagination. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11342.
Cosmos: a spacetime odyssey. 2014. 4 videodiscs (553 min.). This documentary series explores the history of science and how we found our place in the cosmos. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11454.
Hawking. 2013. 1 videodisc (approximately 90 min.). The film features exclusive access to Hawking’s life story, told largely in his own words. It includes dramatic accounts of his life from childhood through university, intimate footage of Hawking today, including his home routine and his work life at the University of Cambridge, archival footage and candid insights from family members, friends and colleagues. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11784.
Space, time, and the universe. Fabric of the cosmos. 2011. 2 videodiscs (222 minutes, 3 seconds). Host Brian Greene, professor of physics and mathematics at Columbia University and best-selling author, takes viewers on an exciting and in-depth exploration of a groundbreaking new theory: One of the most ambitious and exciting scientific theories ever posed, and one that may be the long-sought ’Theory of Everything.’ HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9167.
Space, time, and the universe. The elegant universe. 2003. 2 videodiscs (165 minutes, 17 seconds ). Host Brian Greene, professor of physics and mathematics at Columbia University and best-selling author, takes viewers on an exciting and in-depth exploration of a groundbreaking new theory: One of the most ambitious and exciting scientific theories ever posed, and one that may be the long-sought ’Theory of Everything.’ HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9166.
Stephen Hawking’s grand design. 2012. 1 videodisc (129 min.). Is the apparent ’grand design’ of our universe evidence of a benevolent creator who set things in motion, or does science offer another explanation? Delve into the mind of Stephen Hawking as he attempts to answer some of life’s biggest questions: Is there a god? What is the meaning of life? And why does the universe exist? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11559.
Wonders of the universe. 2011. 2 videodiscs (ca. 240 min.). Who are we? Why are we here? Where do we come from? These are among the most enduring and profound questions we can ask, and it is an essential part of human nature to want to find the answers. We can trace our ancestry back hundreds of thousands of years to the dawn of humankind, but in reality our story extends much further back: it starts with the beginning of the universe. In this groundbreaking new series, Professor Brian Cox tells the epic story of the universe. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6589.