To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
Alive inside. 2014. 1 videodisc (78 min.). A joyous cinematic exploration of music’s capacity to reawaken our souls and uncover the deepest parts of our humanity. Filmmaker Michael Rossato-Bennett chronicles the astonishing experiences of individuals around the country who have been revitalized through the simple experience of listening to music. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11960.
Citizen autistic. 2013. 1 videodisc (68 min.). Director William Davenport offers an inside look at the activists on the frontlines of the autism war: the fight for human rights and self-advocacy. He details the mounting battle between the neurodiversity movement and the ’cure mentality’ of fundraising juggernaut Autism Speaks. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12047.
Mind in the making: experiments in children’s learning. 2011. 2 videodiscs. This two-volume series of 42 videos take viewers on a series of virtual "field trips" to laboratories in the U.S. and abroad. Here are actual experiments in children’s learning, from the classic studies to the cutting edge, conducted by well-known researchers from a number of academic disciplines. DVD 6418.
The United States of autism. 2013. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A couple, Richard Everts and Sugey Cruz-Everts, parents of a child with autism, travel the United States to make a film to help their family and others affected by the condition. Along the way, they meet people from a broad cultural spectrum who discuss how autism has affected them. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7603.
Tim’s Vermeer. 2014. 2 videodiscs (80 min. each). Tim Jenison, a Texas-based inventor, attempts to solve one of the greatest mysteries in all art: How did seventeenth century Dutch Master Johannes Vermeer manage to paint so photo-realistically, 150 years before the invention of photography? Spanning ten years, his adventure takes him to Delft, Holland, where Vermeer painted his masterpieces, to the north coast of Yorkshire to meet artist David Hockney, and even to Buckingham Palace to see a Vermeer masterpiece in the collection of the Queen. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD & BLU 11496.
Too sane for this world. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 63 min.). Explored are the challenges, gifts, and unique perspective of twelve adults on the autism spectrum. Discussed are the many problems facing the autism community, from bullying to marginalization. The difficulties and experiences that have shaped these twelve individuals should serve as an inspiration to anyone who marches to the beat of a different drummer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11543.
Trial. 1955. 1 videodisc (109 min.). A hispanic boy is accused of killing a white girl. Although the boy is innocent, his trial is more about his race than the evidence. So as the hearing begins, law professor David Blake, and attorney Barney Castle, work to represent the boy. The professor tries to save his life, while the attorney hopes to use the boy’s hanging as a tool to ignite the Communist party. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11612.
Up / down. 2011. 1 videodisc (approximately 82 min.). "In an attempt to eliminate the mystery and misinformation surrounding the illness, many throughout the country diagnosed with this condition were interviewed extensively. They diligently explain the struggle to balance themselves between floating to a state of euphoria and sinking to a devastating depression"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6403.
Your inner fish. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 180 min.). Examines the many ways that our animal ancestors shaped our anatomical destiny. Using both the fossil record and DNA evidence, traces various parts of the human body’s structure to creatures that lived long, long, ago. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6745.