To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
Brand new you : makeover television and the American dream. 2014. 1 videodisc (53 min.). "Offers a wide-ranging cultural analysis of the stories makeover programs tell about beauty, success, and happiness at a time of accelerating social and economic change. The result is a look at how our ideas about the American Dream, meritocracy, and personal transformation relate to institutional power structures and issues of race, gender, sexuality, and class"--Container. DVD 11822.
Farmland. 2014. 1 videodisc (77 min.). An in-depth documentary covering multiple personal stories of young US farmers and ranchers. Most Americans have never stepped foot on a working farm or ranch or ever had the opportunity to talk to the people who grow and raise the food we eat. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11964.
Fire in the blood. 2013. 1 videodisc (83, 60 minutes). Fire in the Blood tells the true story of how Western pharmaceutical companies and governments blocked access to low-cost AIDS drugs in Africa and the global south in the 1990s, leading to the preventable deaths of at least ten million people, and how a remarkable coalition of people came together to stop them. Shot on four continents and featuring contributions from global figures such as Bill Clinton, Desmond Tutu, and Joseph Stiglitz, the film offers devastating insights into the lethal decision-making process that led to this humanitarian catastrophe. And it shows how, if not for the passion and tactical ingenuity of a group of courageous and relentless activists, millions of more people would have died. The result is a gripping look at corporate greed, government collusion, the cutthroat economics of medicine and healthcare, and the power of ordinary people to make meaningful change on a global scale. DVD 3643.
Goodbye Tibet. 2013. 1 videodisc (60 min.). The story of a 20,000-foot high mountain pass on the border between Tibet and Nepal. For thousands of Tibetan refugees it has been their gateway to freedom, but for many it has been a fatal gauntlet. It is the story of Kelsang Jigme, a legend among guides who help refugees escape over the treacherous mountain pass. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6622.
How racism harms white Americans. 2013. 1 videodisc (45 min.). "Distinguished historian John H. Bracey Jr. offers a provocative analysis of the devastating economic, political, and social effects of racism on white Americans. In a departure from analyses of racism that have focused primarily on white power and privilege, Bracey trains his focus on the high price that white people, especially working class whites, have paid for more than two centuries of divisive race-based policies and attitudes. Whether he’s discussing the pivotal role slavery played in the war for independence, the two million white Americans who died in a civil war fought over the question of slavery, or how business owners took advantage of the segregation of America’s first labor unions and used low-wage, non-unionized black workers to undercut the bargaining power of white workers, Bracey’s central point is that failing to acknowledge the centrality of race, and racism, to the American project not only minimizes the suffering of black people, but also blinds us to how racism and white privilege have harmed white people as well."--Container. DVD 11820.
I am. 2010. 1 videodisc (ca. 78 min.). Don’t know who Tom Shadyac is? As a writer and a director, Shadyac first unleashed Ace Ventura: Pet Detective and The Nutty Professor remake on the world, and then a string of film fiascoes, but that’s all behind him now. A bike accident left him with a host of debilitating maladies and brought him to the verge of suicide, so he took stock of his life and set out on a quest to answer some of life’s greatest questions. What’s wrong with the world? How do we go about fixing it? Is the fundamental nature of man essentially benevolent or cruel? So he traveled around, enlisting the aid of what he calls "significant minds" --journalists, scientists, spiritual leaders, scholars--to understand life’s essential questions. "I Am" is his documentary about this quest. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11826.
Iceberg Slim : portrait of a pimp. 2012. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Examines the legendary life of Iceberg Slim, a notorious pimp and author of seven ground-breaking books. Insightful interviews with well-known artists, scholars, friends and family members create a riveting tapestry as colorful as the subject himself. The autobiographical work of Iceberg Slim is considered to be the genesis of Blaxploitation films and Gangster rap and it continues to influence artists today. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5059.
Inreallife. 2014. 1 videodisc (85 min.). It takes us on a journey from the world of Silicon Valley to the bedrooms of British teenagers in order to ask an important question: What exactly is the internet doing to our children? This revealing documentary examines how children are adapting to the technological world we live in, and how free and open connectivity can have alienating and addictive side-effects, especially on the youngest minds using it. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11621.
Joystick warriors: video games, violence & militarism. 2013. 1 videodisc (56 min.). "For years, there has been widespread speculation, but very little consensus, about the relationship between violent video games and violence in the real world. Joystick Warriors provides the clearest account yet of the latest research on this issue. Drawing on the insights of media scholars, military analysts, combat veterans, and gamers themselves, the film trains its sights on the wildly popular genre of first-person shooter games, exploring how the immersive experience they offer links up with the larger stories we tell ourselves as a culture about violence, militarism, guns, and manhood. Along the way, it examines the game industry’s longstanding working relationship with the US military and the American gun industry, and offers a riveting examination of the games themselves -- showing how they work to sanitize, glamorize, and normalize violence while cultivating dangerously regressive attitudes and ideas about masculinity and militarism"--Media Education Foundation website. DVD 11824.
Jupiter’s wife. 1994. 1 videodisc (78 min.). This is the story of Maggie, a beguiling homeless woman living in New York City’s Central Park. In her forties, Maggie’s vibrant personality and unconventional persona attract attention since she has 6 dogs and carries a huge backpack full of her personal belongings. A captivating jumble of cryptic stories, Maggie’s conversations are laced with intriguing claims - including the claim that she is the daughter of actor Robert Ryan and that she is married to the Roman god Jupiter. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4016.
Lady valor : the Kristin Beck story. 2014. 1 videodisc (84 min.). Former U.S. Navy SEAL Christopher Beck embarks on a new mission as Kristin Beck. Kristin₂s journey in search of the American ideals that she protected has a whole new meaning as she lives her life truthfully as a transgender woman. After a lifetime of service, Kristin has learned that her fight for life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness did not end on the battlefield. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7106.
Lost angels. 2010. 1 videodisc (approx. 75 min.). Looks at the plight of eight homeless persons living in the Skid Row section of downtown Los Angeles. Examines the effects of gentrification, mental illness and drug abuse, and the criminalization of homelessness on the individuals profiled. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7611.
Masters of sex. The complete first season. 2013. 4 videodiscs (approximately 676 min.). Chronicles the lives of sex researchers William Masters and Virginia Johnson. Masters, a successful OB/GYN, is conducting a secret study of human sexuality. Soon, he meets Virginia Johnson, a former nightclub singer who is now part of the hospital secretarial staff. He enlists her help with his study, and she quickly proves to be an asset to Masters’ work. Together, they delve deeper than anyone before them into the science of sex and later become participants in their own research. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14210.
Mea maxima culpa : silence in the house of God. 2012. 1 videodisc (107 min.). Investigates the secret crimes of Father Lawrence Murphy, a Milwaukee priest who abused more than 200 deaf children in a school under his control. The film documents the first known public protest against the pontiff himself. The investigation helped uncover documents from the secret Vatican archives that show the Pope, who must operate within the mysterious rules of the Roman Curia, as both responsible and helpless in the face of evil. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11992.
My Brooklyn. 2012. 1 videodisc (approximately 76 min.). "My Brooklyn follows director Kelly Anderson’s journey, as a Brooklyn gentrifier, to understand the forces reshaping her neighborhood. The film documents the redevelopment of Fulton Mall, a bustling African-American and Caribbean commercial district that - despite its status as the third most profitable shopping area in New York City - is maligned for its inability to appeal to the affluent residents who have come to live around it. As a hundred small businesses are replaced by high rise luxury housing and chain retail, Anderson uncovers the web of global corporations, politicians and secretive public-private partnerships that drive seemingly natural neighborhood change. The film’s ultimate question is increasingly relevant on a global scale: who has a right to live in cities and determine their future?" -- http://www.newday.com/ DVD 11825.
Once upon a time : when childcare for all wasn’t just a fairytale. The raising of America ; Episode 2. 2014. 1 videodisc (32 min.). "Childcare in America is a patchwork--uneven in quality, unaffordable to most and failing many of our youngest children. Once Upon a Time allows us to imagine how things might be different if all of America’s children had access to high-quality early care and education--in fact, we almost did. In 1971, Congress passed a bill providing high-quality childcare, home visiting and other services to every family which wanted it, the Comprehensive Child Development Act (CCDA). But for the bill to become law, it needed President Nixon’s signature. Patrick Buchanan, a young White House speechwriter at the time, reveals how powerful conservatives went to work to secure the president’s veto, re-casting the bill as government intrusion in the family. Nixon’s veto message, written by Buchanan, called the CCDA ’a communal approach’ to childrearing. The veto marked the first time ’family values’ were invoked to undermine families and was a seminal inflection point in our nation’s history towards our ’fend-for-yourself’ society of today"--from container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11754.
Pornland : how the porn industry has hijacked our sexuality. 2014. 1 videodisc (35 min.). In this multimedia presentation based on her acclaimed book, leading anti-porn feminist and scholar Gail Dines argues that the dominant images and stories disseminated by the multibillion-dollar pornography industry produce and reproduce a gender system that undermines equality and encourages violence against women. In direct opposition to claims that porn has delivered a more liberated, edgy sexuality, Dines reveals a mass-produced vision of sex that is profoundly sexist and destructive - a vision that limits our ability to create authentic, equal relationships free of violence and degradation. DVD 11821.
Return to zero. 2014. 1 videodisc (107 min.). Maggie and Aaron Royal must come to terms with their first child’s death in the womb and stillbirth, the resulting strain on their marriage, and their hesitant joys and turbulence of a second pregnancy. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6604.
Teenage. 2013. 1 videodisc (80 min.). Teenagers didn’t always exist. They had to be invented. As the cultural landscape around the world was thrown into turmoil during the industrial revolution, and with a chasm erupting between adults and youth, the concept of a new generation took shape. Whether in America, England, or Germany, whether party-crazed Flappers or hip Swing Kids, zealous Nazi Youth or frenzied Sub-Debs, it didn’t matter - this was a new idea of how people come of age. They were all ’Teenagers.’ A hypnotic rumination on the genesis of youth culture from the end of the 19th century to the first half of the 20th, TEENAGE is a living collage of rare archival material, filmed portraits, and diary entries read by Jena Malone, Ben Whishaw, and others. Set to a a shimmering contemporary score by Bradford Cox (Deerhunter / Atlas Sound), TEENAGE is a mesmerizing trip into the past and a riveting look at the very idea of ’coming-of-age.’ HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11562.
The greatest silence : rape in the Congo. 2007. 1 streaming video file (77 min.). "Since 1998 a brutal war has been raging in the Democratic Republic of Congo (DRC). Over 4 million people have died, and many tens of thousands of women and girls have been systematically kidnapped, raped, mutilated and tortured by soldiers from both foreign militias and the Congolese army. Until now, the world has known nothing of their stories. A survivor of gang rape herself, Emmy Award-winning filmmaker Lisa F. Jackson has created an extraordinary film in which these brave women finally speak." --Publisher excerpt. Streaming video.
The last white knight. 2012. 1 videodisc (78 min.). In 1965, 21-year-old Torontonian, Paul Saltzman, drove to Mississippi, volunteering as a civil rights worker with the Student Non-Violent Coordinating Committee. He was arrested, spending ten days in jail. He was assaulted by a young Klansman. In 2007, Saltzman returned to find the KKK member who had punched him in the head, to explore if individual reconciliation was possible. He found him, and a five year dialogue has ensued. Featuring interviews with Morgan Freeman and Harry Belafonte. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7104.
The life and times of Rosie the Riveter. 1980. 1 videodisc (65 min.). Five women, who worked in the shipyards and defense plants during World War II, recount their experiences at work and offer comments on society’s expectations of them during the war effort and after the war. Their narratives are interspersed with sequences from war department films, newsreels, and Hollywood movies made during that time which concerned women working outside the home. DVD 5425.
The normal heart. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 143 minutes). This HBO Films drama tells the dramatic, poignant and often-exasperating story of the early days of the HIV-AIDS crisis in New York City in the early 1980s, taking an unflinching look at the nation’s sexual politics as gay activists and their allies in the medical community fight to expose the truth about the burgeoning epidemic to a city and nation in denial. This film boasts an all-star cast, including Oscar nominee Mark Ruffalo, Oscar winner Julia Roberts, Matt Bomer, Taylor Kitsch, Alfred Molina and three time Emmy winner Jim Parsons. "The Normal Heart" is directed by Emmy winner Ryan Murphy and written by Oscar nominee Larry Kramer, adapting his groundbreaking, Tony Award-winning play of the same name. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11480.
The overnighters. Drafthouse Films ; no. 27. 2014. 1 videodisc (102 min.). An intimate portrait of job-seekers desperately chasing the broken American Dream to the tiny oil boom town of Williston, North Dakota. With the town lacking the infrastructure to house the overflow of migrants, pastor Jay Reinke starts the controversial ’overnighters’ program, allowing down-and-out workers a place to sleep at the church. His well-meaning project immediately runs into resistance with his community, forcing the clergyman to make a decision which leads to profound consequences. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12225.
Thy will be done: a transsexual woman’s journey through family and faith. 2010. 1 videodisc (55 min.). "Follows male-to-female transsexual Sara Herwig in her journey to ordination in the Presbyterian Church ... Highlights that point of tension where gender, family relationships and faith intersect"--Container. DVD 11773.
Tibet: murder in the snow. 2008. 1 videodisc (52 min.). In an incident that shocked the world, a teenage Tibetan nun, Kelsang Namtso, was killed when Chinese border police opened fire on a group of pilgrims as they fled Tibet over the infamous Nangpa Pass. The shooting was witnessed by many international mountain climbers, some of whom videotaped or photographed the events and also helped rescue survivors and sent the story out to the world. Using the original climber footage, reenactments and interviews with witnesses and survivors, the films tells the story of young Tibetans who risk their lives each year to illegally cross the rugged Himalaya Mountains in an attempt to see their spiritual leader, the Dalai Lama, or attend school in India. DVD 3638.
Tricked. 2015. 1 videodisc (approximately 75 min.). Modern day slavery is alive and well in the United States, as thousands of victims are trafficked throughout the country to satisfy America’s three billion dollar annual sex trafficking industry. Meet the pimps, the johns, the police, the parents, and the victims of the thriving sex trade. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11946.
When the dragon swallowed the sun. 2013. 1 videodisc (112 min.). The tragic history of Tibet is revealed with new facts, internal conflicts, and contradictions. Viewers are rewarded with spectacular visuals and strong emotions. The combination of stunningly filmed footage from India, China and Tibet creates not only the definitive treatment of the Tibetan crisis, but a film with overwhelming emotional impact. Features Richard Gere, Archbishop Desmond Tutu, the 14th Dalai Lama, and all the leading figures of the exiled Tibetan freedom movement. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4032.
Wounded places : confronting childhood PTSD in America’s shell-shocked cities. The raising of America ; Episode 4. 2014. 1 videodisc (42 min.). "PTSD isn’t only about combat vets. Too many children, especially children of color living in areas of concentrated poverty, show the effects of unrelenting structural racism, street violence, and domestic instability. And their symptoms look a lot like post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). Except for many of these kids there is no ’post.’ Wounded Places travels to Philadelphia and Oakland where disinvestment and racial exclusion have ravaged entire neighborhoods. We meet families and young people wounded not just by shootings, but fear, uncertainty and a sense of futurelessness. The wrestle with hyper-vigilance, sudden rages, nightmares, suspicion and difficulty concentrating in school. Too often, police, teachers, the medi and even social workers peg these kids as ’bad’ or ’impaired.’ We also meet a remarkable group of doctors, community organizers and peer counselors blazing a new model of trauma-informed care. Rather than ask ’What’s wrong with you?’ they ask, ’What happened to you?’ and ’How can we help you heal?’ This simple shift can be transformative--for those suffering from trauma, for neighborhoods and even for the providers themselves"--from container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11756.