To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Media Services is continually adding DVDs and streaming videos to the library collection. This is a snapshot of some of the titles purchased in the last year under various subject areas.
Older, more complete filmographies for these topics can be found on the filmographies index page. Because it takes time to research and compile full filmographies, they may not contain the most recent titles acquired by the library. The library catalog always has an up to date listing of all Media Services items.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the ALADIN catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible. All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings (including streaming videos) search the library catalog at: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
May 2014 - July 2015 Additions
America’s Victoria: remembering Victoria Woodhull. 2007. 2 videodiscs (84 min.). "In 1872 Victoria Woodhull became the first woman to campaign for US President. An advocate of free love, she was a radical suffragist who refused to restrict her Presidential campaign to the issue of women’s suffrage. Victoria Woodhull advocated marriage reform, a single sexual standard and the legalization of prostitution. In America’s Victoria, Kate Capshaw lends her voice to Victoria’s speeches. Interviews include an admiring Gloria Steinem and archival images combine to evoke the life of this brave woman." HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11861.
Campaign of hate : Russia and gay propaganda. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 78 min.). As most of the world moves forward toward gay equality, Russia is seemingly heading backward. In 2013, the Russian parliament passed a ban on so-called ’gay propaganda’ that effectively makes nearly any public discussion of gay equality a crime. Violent attacks against Russian gays or suspected gays are more and more common. Videos of young LGBT people being taunted and tortured have been widely distributed on the internet. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11411.
Half the road : the passion, pitfalls & power of women’s professional cycling. 2014. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Modern society has long believed that women hold up half the sky in terms of equality and progression. So when it comes to the sport of professional cycling, why aren’t women receiving half the road? Directed by pro-cyclist Kathryn Bertine, it explores the world of women’s professional cycling, focusing on both the love of sport and the pressing issues of inequality that modern-day female athletes face in male dominated sports. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8455.
I’ll cry tomorrow. 1955. 1 videodisc (119 min.). Biographical film that tells the story of Lillian Roth, who battled alcoholism as she worked her way to Broadway stardom. After her fall from fame to a booze-hazy existence on L.A.’s Skid Row, she fought her way back with the help of Alcoholics Anonymous. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11912.
L’inconnu du lac = Stranger by the lake. 2013. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Franck spends his summer vacation searching for companionship and sexual encounters at a popular cruising spot on the shores of a picturesque lake in rural France. One day, he meets Michel, an attractive yet darkly mysterious man and falls blindly in love. When a death occurs, Franck and Michel become the primary suspects but they choose to ignore the dangers and instead continue to engage in their passionate and potentially lethal relationship. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11623.
Operation fine girl: rape used as a weapon of war in Sierra Leone. 2001. 1 videodisc (46 min.). Documentary about the use of sexual violence against women as a weapon in the Sierra Leone civil war. The story is told through the eyes of survivors: women and girls, as well as the child soldiers and perpetrators. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6431.
Out at work: a documentary. 2009. 1 videodisc (56 min. and 58 min.). [Original version] (ca. 56 min.) Looks at the lives of three gay workers as they struggle to gain equal rights and eradicate homophobic treatment in the workplace. [Out at work: America undercover] (ca. 58 min.) Includes two of the stories found in the orginal version of Out at work as well as the story of a stock trader who was maltreated and sexually harassed by his employers because of his sexual orientation. DVD 12043.
Pride. 2014. 1 videodisc (approximately 120 min.). U.K. gay activists work to assist miners during their extended strike of the National Union of Mineworkers in the summer of 1984. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11730.
Smash-up : the story of a woman. 1947. 1 videodisc (104 min.). A night-club singer is beset by emotional problems that drive her to refuge and escape in alcohol. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11930.
They are their own gifts. 1978. 1 videodisc (55 min.). Uses documentary photographs and interviews to present the lives and contributions of poetess Muriel Rukeyser, portrait artist Alice Neel, and choreographer Anna Sokolow. Includes commentary by the artists. DVD 12052.
Where love has gone. 1964. 1 videodisc (111 min.). Danny, a young woman, has murdered a man who was the latest lover of her mother. Danny’s father, Luke Miller, describes the events that led to the tragedy, causing many family secrets to be revealed. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 12026.