Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Filmography - Film Studies Genre, Film Noir: Home

Titles available on DVD as of November 2015

FIlm Studies Genre, Film Noir

Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of November 2015.

Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.

This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the library catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.  All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm

 

Film Noir
The AU Library Media Services collection includes many titles that have been labelled noir, though for the sake of brevity and research interests, the titles on this list are restricted to American films of the classic period ending in 1955.

See Neo-Noir filmogrphy for later titles.  

 


99 River Street. 1953. 1 videodisc (83 min.).  Having lost his heavyweight championship match, boxer Ernie Driscoll now drives a taxi for a living and earns the scorn of his nagging wife, Pauline, who blames him for her lack of social status. Involved with jewel thief Victor Rawlins, Pauline is murdered by him when she impedes his ability to fence the jewels. Blamed for his wife's murder, Ernie must track down Rawlins before he leaves the country. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4014 

Ace in the hole. 1951. (111 min.). Chuck Tatum, an amoral newspaper reporter caught in dead-end Albuquerque, happens upon the story of a lifetime-and will do anything to ensure he gets the scoop. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2976

Act of violence / Mystery street. 1948 / 1950. (175 min.). Act of violence: Ex-World War II pilot Frank Enley is a respected contractor and family man. Then his troubled, gimp-legged bombardier shows up with a gun and a score to settle. Perhaps neither man is what he seems to be. Mystery street: Vivian is being brushed off by her rich, married boyfriend. To confront him, she hijacks Henry Shanway and his car from Boston to Cape Cod. Once there, she strands Henry. Months later, a skeleton is found on a lonely Cape Cod beach. Using the macabre expertise of Harvard forensic specialist Dr. McAdoo, Lt. Pete Morales must work back from bones to find the victim's identity and killer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5138

Angel face. 1952. (92 min.). When Mrs. Tremayne is mysteriously poisoned with gas, ambulance driver Frank Jessup meets her refined but sensuous stepdaughter Diane, who quickly pursues and infatuates him. Under Diane's seductive influence, Frank is soon the Tremayne chauffeur, but he begins to suspect danger under her surface sweetness. When he shows signs of pulling away, Diane schemes to get him in so deep he'll never get out. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2402

Asphalt jungle, The. 1950, 1 videodisc (112 min.).  An aging criminal is released from prison and decides to assemble the old gang to go on one last perfect heist. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8521 

Backfire / Deadline at dawn. 1950 / 1946. 1 videodisc (174 min.). Backfire:  A war veteran, aided by his resourceful nurse, is on a quest to prove his pal innocent of murder. Deadline at dawn: A gangster's sister lies dead. All clues point to sailor Bill Williams. He has mere hours to prove that he is innocent. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7324 

Bad for each other / The glass wall. 1953 / 1953. 1 videodisc (157 min.).  Bad for each other: A surgeon returning home from the Korean War gets drawn into a questionable lifestyle when he falls in with a socialite divorcee in his hometown. Her charms prove to be too much to resist, raising the concerns of of mother and a pretty young nurse. The glass wall: A European man who is desperate to immigrate to America, stows away and dodges quarantine to enlist the help of a pretty, down-on-her-luck jazz musician he helped in the war. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7312

Beast of the city, The. 1932. 1 videodisc (87 min.). Police captain Jim Fitzpatrick is shipped out to the suburbs by crime boss Sam Belmonte. Now rid of the do-gooder, Belmonte's stranglehold on the city tightens and crime is on the rise. Not to be thwarted, Fitzpatrick sets out to clean up the streets as well as the corruption within the department. When his brother Ed takes up with the gangster's moll, Fitzpatrick finds the war against crime hitting too close to home. Convinced that the legal system does not work, Fitzpatrick takes matters into his own hands. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11071 

Behind locked doors. 1948. 1 videodisc (62 min.). Private detective Ross Stewart checks himself into a mental hospital in an attempt to locate a corrupt judge hiding from justice. But before Stewart can reveal the truth his true identity is discovered and he becomes a victim of his own ruse. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3763  

Beware my lovely. 1952. (ca. 77 min.). A rambling mansion becomes the setting for blood-curdling terror in this 1950s thriller. Ida Lupino is a wealthy widow looking for a hired hand to help clean up her huge, badly neglected estate. But when she employs drifter Robert Ryan, he turns out to be dangerously insane, and she suddenly finds herself a hunted prisoner in her own home. VHS 4861

Big clock, The. 1947, 1 videodisc (96 min.). "Hotshot crime magazine editor George Stroud inadvertently becomes the subject of a murder investigation after spending an evening with his boss' mistress"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11251 

Big combo, The. 1955. (89 min.). Discouraged by his superior officers, a detective lieutenant doggedly continues his investigation to obtain evidence that would convict the head gangster of a crime syndicate. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5345,

Big heat, The. 1953. (89 min.). A crime melodrama about an honest police sergeant who risks his life and his job when his investigations lead to the exposure of the crime syndicate that controls the city administration. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 758

Big knife, The. 1955. (114 min.). "Charles Castle is a successful Hollywood actor who has opted for screen success over art. He must make critical decisions regarding his career, his marriage, his art & morality. In this screen adaptation of a Clifford Odets play, Castle is pressured by his studio boss and manipulated into a potentially murderous cover-up to protect his career. An indictment of the amoral world of 50's Hollywood and its corrosive effect upon the artist." -- taken from imdb.com plot summary. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2407

Big sleep, The. 1946. (230 min.). Hard-boiled private eye Philip Marlowe is hired by millionaire Gen. Sternwood to learn who is using nude pictures to blackmail his wild, young daughter, Carmen. Solving the case involves Marlowe in a web of sex, blackmail and murder even as he and the older daughter in the family are falling in love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1062

Bigamist, The. 1953. 1 videodisc (79 min.).  A travelling salesman is caught between two spouses, one an upper-crust lady and the other a tough-talking waitress. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8945

Black angel. 1946. 1 videodisc (80 min.).  1946. When a beautiful blackmailer is murdered, Catherine, the wife of the convicted murderer, sets out to clear her husband's name. She enlists the aid of Martin Blair, the dead woman's ex-husband, an alcoholic musician who believes he might remember a stranger leaving his wife's apartment the night of the murder. Their prime suspect is Marko, a shady nightclub owner, and Catherine and Blair team up to perform in the club. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4024
Black book, The. 1949, 1 videodisc (89 min.).  In the late 18th century, Maximilen Robespierre threatens to seize power as France's new dictator during the French Revolution.  Meanwhile, a freedom fighter, posing as a prosecutor, seeks to maintain his trust while secretly trying to destroy him and his allies. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3129 

Blue Dahlia, The. 1946. 1 videodisc (99 min.). A World War II veteran is accused of killing his unfaithful wife and races against time to find the real murderer with the help of a sympathetic stranger. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8520 

Blue Gardenia, The. 1953, 1 videodisc (88 min.).  Norah Larkin is a working girl who wakes up a murderess after passing out in the apartment of brutish playboy Harry Prebble. Branded "The Blue Gardenia" by a sensational columnist, Norah dodges dragnets, informants and the cruel hand of fate as she struggles to conceal her involvement with Prebble, and to remember the details of her ill-fated night. As her hopes for justice fade, she decides to gamble her future on the journalist who transformed her into such a notorious figure. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8527 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=57151 

Body and soul. 1947. (104 min.). Charley has become the middleweight champion of the world by winning a "fixed" fight. In his devious climb to the top, Charley has become hard and arrogant, and has estranged both his mother and the girl he loves. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 210

Boomerang. 1947. (88 min.). A prosecutor's fight to prove the innocence of a man accused of a notorious murder. Based on a true story. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7743

Border incident. 1949. (95 min.). The Mexico-California border is the power-keg setting for a tale of government agents versus greed and murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2408

Born to kill. 1947. 1 videodisc (92 min.). A classic film noir featuring a cold-hearted killer named Sam Wild who kills two innocent people and actively pursues the woman who finds the bodies, all while being married to the woman's half-sister. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7301 

Brasher Doubloon, The. 1947. 1 videodisc (72 min.).  "Philip Marlowe is retained to recover a rare and valuable coin that turns out to be a medium of exchange for blackmail information and the key to the murderer of a cameraman."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4020

Brute force. 1947. (95 min.). Joe Collins of Cell R-17 in Westgate Penitentiary is planning a mass breakout. The chief guard, Capt. Munsey, gets wind of this plan and seeks to further his career by crushing it. Violence erupts and Collins and Munsey come face to face with each other. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5316

Call Northside 777. 1948. 1 videodisc (111 min.).  A Chicago reporter finds himself stuck in a decade-old murder investigation when he follows a newspaper ad offering a cash reward for information leading to the arrest of the killer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11337 

Captive city, The. 1953. 1 videodisc (91 min.).  A small town newspaperman's investigation into a local bookie operation turns up a web of organized crime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8780 

Caught. 1948. 1 videodisc (88 min.).  A tale of Leonora, an aspiring carhop who meets and marries a mysterious millionaire, Smith Ohlrig. Soon after the wedding, Laura realizes she's trapped in a loveless marriage with a ruthless workaholic husband who torments her with twisted mind games. Unable to obtain a divorce from Smith, she moves out of the mansion and goes to work for a dedicated doctor, Larry Quinada. The two quickly fall in love but the romance comes to an abrupt halt when Leonora learns that she is pregnant. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8456 

City that never sleeps. 1953. 1 videodisc (91 min.).  Film noir police thriller juggles around five characters through a particularly bad night in a Chicago police precinct: Johnny Kelly, a stressed out cop ready to crack; Sally 'Angel Face' Connors, a lounge singer looking for a way out; Hayes Stewart, a thug-for-hire who's dying to move up in the syndicate; Penrod Biddle, a smooth and corrupt district attorney; and Sgt. Joe, an honest cop trying to keep Joe on a straight path. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8879

Clash by night. 1952. 1 videodisc (105 min.).  A party girl decides she has had enough of the wild lifestyle and returns to her childhood home, where she finds security with a new husband but soon finds herself in an affair with his best friend. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7302

Cloak and dagger. 1946. (106 min.). Alvah Jesper, an American scientist, parachutes into war-torn Nazi Germany to obtain military secrets. But the deeper he probes, the deadlier his mission becomes - especially when his involvement with a mysterious woman, Gina, catapults him into an intense maelstrom of danger, betrayal, and murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 960

Colorado territory. 1949. 1 videodisc (94 min.).  A western remake of the 1941 film noir High Sierra. Joel McCrea plays veteran outlaw Wes McQueen (Humphrey Bogart in the original) who escapes from jail and hopes to pull off one last big train robbery. McQueen doesn't care for his new partners -- except perhaps Colorado Carson (Virginia Mayo), a dance-hall girl who may be the only person who genuinely cares about his well-being. McQueen, meanwhile, also has eyes for Julie Ann (Dorothy Malone), who is newly arrived from the east and setting up a new farm with her father. With a $10,000 reward on his head, McQueen makes a futile bid for escape to the mountains, with tragic consequences. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11783 

Conflict. 1945. 1 videodisc (85 min.). When a man murders his nagging wife because his affections have turned to her far-more-pleasant younger sister, it appears he has executed the perfect crime--until a minor slip-up arouses the suspicions of a family friend. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8535

Cornered / Desperate. 1945 / 1947. 1 videodisc (175 min.).  Cornered: Ex-RCAF pilot Dick Powell stalks the Nazi collaborator who murdered his bride, but no one can describe the mysterious man. Desperate: "Steve Brodie is a postwar Everyman who accepts what he thinks is an honest trucking job, only to find he's the driver in a botched heist that puts Brodie and his bride on the run from the cops and the cons who planned the job"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7321 

Crime wave / Decoy. 1954 / 1946. 1 videodisc (150 min.).  Crime wave: Three San Quentin escapees kill a cop in a gas-station holdup. Wounded, one of the escapees flees through black-shadowed streets to the handiest refuge: with former cellmate Steve Lacey. Steve is paroled, with a new life and lovely wife, and can't afford to be caught associating with old cronies. But homicide detective Sims wants to use Steve to help him catch the other 2 escapees, who in turn extort his help in a bank job. Decoy: Gangster Frank Olins is about to die in the gas chamber much to the dismay of his girlfriend Margot Shelby. Only Frank knows the location of $400,000. Margot seduces gangster Jim Vincent to get him to engineer the removal of Olins body from the prison immediately after he dies. She forces the prison doctor to administer an antidote for cyanide gas poisoning to Olins. The revived Olins gives Margot half of a map showing the money location and Vincent, in a fit of jealousy, kills Olins and takes the other half. Because the doctor's plates on his car will get them through the police roadblocks, Vincent and Margot take him with them on the money hunt. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7307 

Criss cross. 1948. 1 videodisc (98 min.).  An armored car driver is suckered into a burglary by his ex-wife and her hoodlum husband. Multiple back-stabbing and double-crosses ensue. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7256 

Crossfire. 1947. (ca. 85 min.). A police captain methodically unravels the truth behind the brutal murder of an innocent Jewish man by a World War II soldier with a rabid hatred of Jews. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1369

Cry danger. 1951. 1 videodisc (79 min.).  Rocky is an innocent man released from prison. He's on the hunt for the people who framed him. Delong is a disabled veteran who produced the evidence that led to Rocky's release. He now wants part of the $100,000 in exchange for his help. However, after serving five years of a life-sentence for a crime he didn't commit, Rocky has a different plan. He wants to bring the real crooks to justice and clear the name of his friend Danny Morgan, who's unjustly serving time for the same crime. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7610 

Cry of the city. 1948. 1 videodisc (95 min.).  A police detective doggedly pursues a cop-killing gangster, whose devotion to his girlfriend could prove his downfall. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6567

D.O.A. 1949. (83 min.). "On vacation from his clinging girlfriend, a complacent accountant unknowingly swallows a drink spiked with radioactive poison and then spends the last desperate hours of his life trying to find out who 'killed' him-- and why." --from container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 930

Daisy Kenyon. 1947. 1 videodisc (99 min.).  Daisy Kenyon is a lovelorn commercial artist caught in a romantic triangle with two men-- one she loves but cannot have and one whose love she cannot return. While in an emotionally draining love affair with married attorney Dan O'Mara, who refuses to leave his wife, she meets returning Army sergeant Peter Lapham-- a decent and gentle man who instantly falls in love with her. Although she carries a torch for Dan, she knows Peter will give her the secure life she desires and agrees to marry him. But when Dan divorces his wife, Daisy is suddenly torn between her obligations and her passions. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2796 

Dark city. 1951. 1 videodisc (98 min.).  A stranger's suicide and a gambler's murder are both linked to an uncashed cashier's check won at a crooked card game. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5062 

Dark corner, The. 1946, 1 videodisc (ca. 99 min.).  A detective, already framed for murder once, is framed for the murder of his ex-partner, the man who framed him the first time. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6357

Dark mirror, The. 1946, 1 videodisc (85 min.).  Twin sisters are implicated in a Hollywood murder and a police detective must figure out if one or both were involved in the killing. A psychiatrist approached by the detective to help with the complicated case agrees to see them separately and is immediately attracted to one of them and fears the other one to be the killer, but he's worried that if he's wrong he could end up on a slab in the morgue himself. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10749 

Dark passage. 1947. (107 min.). After successful plastic surgery on his face, a man wrongly convicted of murder hides out in an apartment in San Francisco. Tension builds in this tale of a fugitive hiding from the law as he feverishly works to prove his innocence. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5359

Dead reckoning. 1947. 1 videodisc (105 min.).  Ex-G.I Rip Murdock tries to find out who framed his pal Johnny and then killed him. While tracking his war buddy's shadowy past, Rip becomes involved with the mysterious night club singer who had once been his friend's sweetheart. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11339 

Deception. 1946. (112 min.). World War II has separated pianist Christine Radcliffe from her great love, cellist Karel Novak. Thinking Karel has been killed in action, she is unexpectedly reunited with him. Now, Christine desperately strives to hide her wartime dalliance as the mistress of a wealthy, sadistic composer. She'll lie to keep her shameful past a secret. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4946

Desperate hours, The. 1955. (112 min.). Harrowing story about an escaped convict who breaks into a suburban home and takes a family hostage. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4562

Detour. 1945. (68 min.). "Hitchhiking across the country to reunite with his fickle girlfriend, the film's 'hero' encounters two sinister characters -- one of them a venomous, blackmailing woman whom he 'accidentally' murders. Full of wildly surrealistic touches, this seminal feature is one of the blackest and best of the early noirs." --from container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 931

Double indemnity. 1944. (108 min.). Walter Neff is a smooth talking insurance salesman who meets the very attractive Phyllis Dietrichson when he calls to renew her husband's automobile policy. The couple are immediately drawn to each other and have an affair. They scheme together to murder Phyllis' husband for life insurance money with a double indemnity clause. Unfortunately, all does not go as planned. Barton Keyes is the wily insurance investigator who must sort things out. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 51

Enforcer, The. 1951. 1 videodisc (87 min.).  A crusading District Attorney is out to convict the head of a vicious murder-for-hire ring. But when his star witness is killed, Bogart must race against time to find the evidence he needs to bring down the mob boss. Told in a series of flashbacks, this tense, tough-as-nails crime thriller on the cutting edge of film noir was based on actual Murder, Inc. trials. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7982 

Falcon takes over, The. 1942. (131 min.). "The Falcon takes over" when Moose Malloy starts asking about his lost love, and anyone with a wrong answer shuts up...permanently. A "Strange bargain" is revealed as a mild-mannered bookkeeper is caught in a web of complications when his boss stages a suicide to look like murder. HOME USE COLLECTION VHS 6573

Fallen angel. 1945. (97 min.). "June Mills and her sister Clara live a quiet life in a small coastal town until Eric Stanton, a smooth-talking con man, comes into their lives. He seems to fall hard for June, but Clara believes he's interested only in the family fortune. Meanwhile, sultry waitress Stella catches Stanton's fancy and thinks he might be her ticket out of town. The local cop knows more than he's telling about his fellow citizens and their tangled relationships, which draw even tighter after a shocking murder"--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2397

File on Thelma Jordon, The. 1950. 1 videodisc (100 min.).  A 1950 film noir directed by noir veteran Robert Siodmak. Barbara Stanwyck plays Thelma Jordon, a woman who seduces the married Assistant District Attorney and pulls him into a web of theft and murder. Her aunt's mansion is burglarized and the woman is murdered.  Thelma calls the Assistant DA to help her cover up evidence that may incriminate her. When she emerges as the prime suspect, the infatuated Assistant DA tries to sabotage the prosecution. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6419 

Five against the house. 1955. 1 videodisc (83 min.). Four Korean war vets dream up a college prank to rob a casino, convincing the girlfriend of one of them to help. Problems arise when one of the vets, who suffers from a war injury, turns the prank serious. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7293 
Force of evil. 1949. (82 min.). A racketeer's lawyer finds that his boss has found a way to bankrupt New York's numbers banks but gets wedged between the numbers racket and a new prosecutor's anti-crime campaign. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1298
Fourteen hours. 1951. 1 videodisc (92 min.).  A young man, morally destroyed by his parents not loving him and by the fear of not being capable to make his girlfriend happy, keeps police at bay for fourteen hours while attempting suicide. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7315 

Gilda. 1946. (110 min.). "Johnny Farrell goes to work for Ballin Mundson, the proprietor of an illegal gambling casino in a South American city and quickly rises to become Mundson's 'main man.' All is well until Mundson returns from a trip with his new bride, Gilda-- a woman from Johnny's past. Mundson, unaware of their previous love affair, assigns Farrell the job of keeping Gilda a faithful wife. Fraught with hatred, Gilda does her best to antagonize, intimidate, and instill jealousy in Farrell-- until circumstances allow him to get even."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1604

Glass key, The. 1942, 1 videodisc (85 min.).  When a corrupt politician is accused of murder, his friend and right hand man is determined to track down the real killer. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11369 

Gun crazy. 1950. (87 min.). Although Bart is not a violent man at heart, he allows the no-good Laurie to lure him into a life of crime. They become the most wanted criminals in America as they blast their way through a series of deadly bank jobs. Eventually the police catch up with them for a final bloody showdown in the wilderness of Madera National Park. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5406

Hangmen also die. 1943. (134 min.). Pursued by the Germans after the assassination of Reinhard Heydrich, Dr. Svoboda enlists the aid of a young woman who is oblivious to the lethal crosscurrents that surround her in Czechoslovakia. As she learns more about the mysterious doctor, she grows aware of the involvement of her father and fiance in the resistance, and soon finds herself entangled in the revolution's secret operations. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 106

He walked by night. 1948. (79 min.). An Los Angeles Police Department sergeant (Brady) follows the trail of a devious, clever and psychopathic burglar who has killed a cop. Film is done in semi-documentary style and marks the moment in cinema history when crimefighting became more a matter of forensic science than daring gunplay. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 80

High Sierra. 1941. (101 min.). Set against the captivating background of California's High Sierra Mountains, the story begins when convicted killer Roy Earle (Bogart in a performance that made him a a star) is sprung from jail by mobster "Big Mac" (MacBride), who wants Earle to assist in a California hotel hold-up. As a favor to his old friend, he agrees to pull one more job and then settle down to a normal life. When things go wrong Earle finds himself trapped 11,000 feet up in the High Sierras shouting defiance at an army of coppers below. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4948

High wall. 1947. 1 videodisc (99 min.).  "Steven Kenet (Robert Taylor) says he killed his wife, but even he doesn't really know. ... So Kenet enters a psych ward where, the DA asserts, he'll hide behind the wall of an insanity plea. But truth cannot hide. And Kenet - assisted by a ward doctor (Audrey Totter) - is driven to find the truth."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5225 

His kind of woman. 1951. (120 min.). Hard-luck gambler Dan Milner is in sudden luck. He'll get $50,000 to hang out at a posh Mexican resort. $5,000 now and the big payoff when the reason he's been sent there is revealed. Of course, the gangsters making the offer don't expect him to live long enough to collect. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2409

Hitch-hiker, The. 1953. (72 min.). Classic film noir that concerns two middle-class American family men (Edmond O'Brien and Frank Lovejoy) on vacation in Mexico on a long-awaited fishing trip. Suddenly their car and their very lives are commandeered by a psychopathic serial killer who would not hesitate to shoot them down in cold blood. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5544

House by the river. 1950, 1 videodisc (85 min.).  A second rate writer strangles his maid when she rejects him and frames his brother for the crime after they dispose of the body. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7264 and Streaming video.
http://proxyau.wrlc.org/login?url=http://digital.films.com/PortalPlaylists.aspx?aid=8604&xtid=57121 

House of bamboo. 1955. 1 videodisc (ca. 102 min.).  "Sandy Dawson has assembled a platoon of ex-Army thugs to run pachinko parlors while pulling off bloody heists and armed robbery. The murder of a friend brings Eddie Spanier into the group, along with his beautiful mistress. But Spanier's behavior grows treacherous, and his loyalties become questionable, leading to a breathless, murderous conclusion high above the ancient city of Tokyo."--Container. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 36 

House of strangers. 1949. (ca. 100 min.). Max Monetti is consumed with vengeance for his brothers after their betrayal lands him in prison for seven years. When he learns that it was his father who created all the heartache within the family, he makes peace with his brothers. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2398

House on 92nd Street, The. 1945, 1 videodisc (89 min.).  When a young German American is solicited as a Nazi spy during WWII, he accepts the job after agreeing to go undercover for the FBI. Once he learns that his mission is to send atomic bomb secrets to the German government, the FBI chief works relentlessly to prevent this while not giving his agent's identity away. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7895  

House on Telegraph Hill, The. 1951. 1 videodisc (93 min.).  "Victoria Kowelska is tortured in a concentration camp during the final days of World War II, and her family in Poland is slaughtered. Her best friend, Karin, who is ill, hopes to recover and make it to San Francisco, where a wealthy aunt is taking care of her son. But when Karin dies and the camp is liberated, Victoria exchanges identity papers with the dead woman, thereby gaining a new identity and family. After five years in relocation camps, Victoria finally gets to America, only to learn that Karin's aunt has recently died, and her nephew is in charge of the estate and Karin's son."--Booklet. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3784 
Human desire. 1954. 1 videodisc (91 min.). A Korean War vet comes back to his job as a railroad engineer, and promptly falls prey to his boss' wife, starting a trail of deception, suspicion, and murder. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7296 

I wake up screaming.  1941, 1 videodisc (ca. 82 min.). Somebody killed Vicky Lynn and the police are looking at only one suspect, promoter Frankie Christopher. Frankie believes Inspector Ed Cornell is trying to pin him for the murder of Vicky. Did he really kill her, or does he know who did? HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8552 

I was a communist for the F.B.I. 1951. 1 videodisc (ca. 83 min.).  The FBI infiltrates one of their agents in the US Communist Party. This causes big problems in the normal life of the agent. Nobody knows that he is with the FBI, including his family. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5222 

Illegal / The big steal. 1955 / 1949. 1 videodisc (160 min.).  Illegal: Ambitious D.A. Victor Scott zealously prosecutes Ed Clary for a woman's murder. But as Clary walks to the electric chair, Scott receives evidence that exonerates the condemned man. Realizing that he's made a terrible mistake he tries to stop the execution, but is too late. Scott resigns as a prosecutor and enters private practice. He draws the attention of mob kingpin Frank Garland. Scott represents one of Garland's stooges on a murder rap and Scott, in a grand display of courtroom theatrics, wins the case. Embroiled in dirty mob politics, the situation becomes intolerable when his former protege is charged with a murder that seems to implicate her as an informant to the Garland mob. The big steal: Jane and Duke (alias Capt. Blake) accidently meet in Vera Cruz while chasing flim-flam man Fiske. Soon the local Inspector General (El Gato) is involved. Fiske races across Mexico, pursued by Jane and Duke, trailed by the real Capt. Blake. The crafty Inspector General is waiting for them in Tihuacan but they all give him the slip. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7308 

Impact. 1949. 1 videodisc (111 min.).  Millionaire industrialist Walter Williams is marked for murder by his wife and her lover. When the plot ends in a fiery disaster, Williams is thought dead. In reality, he finds himself without a clue of who he is or what happened. As his memory returns, his life becomes a roller coaster ride of suspense and excitement. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7628 

In a lonely place. 1950, 1 videodisc (94 min.).  A hotheaded Hollywood screenwriter, questioned for murder, is drawn to his neighbor when she confirms his alibi. His volatile nature eventually threatens to destroy their one last chance for real love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7588 

Johnny Guitar. 1954, 1 videodisc (105 min.).  Johnny Guitar rides into a lonely Arizona town, passing by a dynamite blast and a stage robbery in the canyon below, arriving at Vienna's saloon in the middle of a raging dust storm.  He's looking for a new life, for a job where he can play guitar and be nice to the customers.  There's no sense, to him anyway, in resurrecting Johnny Logan, the deadly gunslinger he once was and hopes never to be again.  But Vienna's feud with local cattle baron Emma Small--over the favors of a cowboy called the Dancin' Kid and the location of the railroad--is approaching its apex, and Johnny's skills will be needed.  Both lauded and lamented by critics, the film has been called a psycho sexual melodrama, an anti-McCarthy parable, an expressionistic experiment, and a masterpiece of symbolism in Technicolor so lurid it almost overwhelms the neurotic story.  Whatever the final verdict, this is certainly not a typical Western. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8768 

Journey into fear. 1943. (69 min.). Howard Graham is an American naval engineer trying to return to the States with his wife. But the Nazi agents trailing him have a detour in mind -- murder! Stalked like a wild animal, Graham has only a passenger list of mysterious characters to turn to for help. HOME USE COLLECTION VHS 6207