Subject Guides: Islamic Finance: Library Resources: Databases & Tools

General Databases

Africa Bibliography
The Africa Bibliography is an authoritative guide to works in African Studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984.
Coverage: 1984-2022.

There is a known issue preventing OpenURL queries from working correctly. To find full text, either copy and paste article titles into AU Library Search, or connect to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN) and click on Google Scholar links.

Cambridge Companion to the Quran
As the living scriptural heritage of more than a billion people, the Qur'an (Koran) speaks with a powerful voice. Just as other scriptural religions, Islam has produced a long tradition of interpretation for its holy book. Nevertheless, efforts to introduce the Qur'an and its intellectual heritage to English-speaking audiences have been hampered by the lack of available resources. The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an seeks to remedy that situation. In a discerning summation of the field, Jane McAuliffe brings together an international team of scholars to explain its complexities. Comprising fourteen chapters, each devoted to a topic of central importance, the book is rich in historical, linguistic and literary detail, while also reflecting the influence of other disciplines. For both the university student and the general reader, The Cambridge Companion to the Qur'an provides a fascinating entrée to a text that has shaped the lives of millions for centuries.

Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials
Produced by Atla, a membership association of collectors and connectors in religion and theology, Atla Religion Database is a major international index for the scholarly study of religion. All major religious faiths are represented. The Atla Religion Database with AtlaSerials collection contains over 2.7 million records, indexing over 2,300 journals, 276,000 essays, and 826,000 reviews. Full text is provided for more than 340 journals.
International Political Science Abstracts
Citations and abstracts from roughly 900 journals and yearbooks in the fields of political science, international relations, and public administration. Covers publications from 1975 to the present. In most cases the abstracts are in English, and in some cases (non-English articles) in French. When the original article is not in English, the title in the record is in its own language, English and French.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a major political science index providing citations and abstracts to journal articles, book chapters, books, and websites on subjects including international relations, law, and public administration and policy. Dating from 1975 and updated monthly, the WPSA is built on two indices: Political Science Abstracts and ABC POLSCI. Roughly 1,510 titles are being monitored for coverage; of these, 67% are published outside the United States.