Subject Guides: ARTH-210; How Art Became Modern. Prof. Andrew Wasserman: Finding Primary Sources

Searching for Primary Sources in AU Library Search

1, Use the Advanced Search

2. Change the field to search in to "Subject" in the first row. In the Search for: box, type one of these words or phrases:

Sources, Early Works, Records, Personal Narratives, Correspondence, Diaries

3. You can add another term, such as the artist, the title of the work, etc.

Local DC History Guide

DC History & Local Area Studies
by Kathryn Ray Last Updated Sep 7, 2023 647 views this year

Historical News: Single Paper Databases

Atlanta Constitution - Historical This link opens in a new window
A digitized version of the complete Atlanta Constitution newspaper starting in 1868 and running to 1945. Every year three additional years of content will be added.

AU Catalog: Newspapers
400+ separate newspaper titles available through the AU catalog. Includes records for print, microfilm, and microfiche newspapers.

Baltimore Sun - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the Baltimore Sun from 1837-1994. This resource was made possible through the Class of '32 Library Fund.
Chicago Defender (1910-2010) This link opens in a new window
A digitized version of a leading African American newspaper, with more than two-thirds of its readership outside Chicago. This database contains the complete run of the Chicago Defender from 1910 to 2010.
Chicago Tribune - Historical This link opens in a new window
A digitized version of the complete Chicago Tribune newspaper starting from 1849 to 1990.
Eagle, The (American University) This link opens in a new window
A complete digitized copy of American University's undergraduate student newspaper, The Eagle, from 1925 to 2004.
Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 This link opens in a new window
Digitized version of the complete British weekly news magazine from inception in 1843 to 2020. The Economic Financial indicator tables from May 1983 to December 2020 are available for exporting into a spreadsheet format.
Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2021 This link opens in a new window
The Financial Times provides international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis. This archive is a complete, fully searchable facsimile edition of the FT. It offers the complete run of the London edition of the newspaper, from its first issue to the end of 2021.
Los Angeles Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the Los Angeles times from 1881 through 2012.
March of Time This link opens in a new window
A collection of streaming video from the March of Time newsreel series, produced by Time, Inc. from 1935-1967. The newsreels include reporting, location shots, and dramatic reenactment of events, and have a subjective point of view. Videos are fully transcribed and cross-searchable by subject, historical event, people, and more.
New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.
Pennsylvania Gazette, 1728-1815 This link opens in a new window
Transcribed text of the Pennsylvania Gazette, a prominent early American newspaper.
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
The complete London Times newspaper with coverage from 1785 and rolling forward one year each year from 2019.
Note: This resource does not include the Sunday Times, a publication separate from the London Times.
This resource was made possible through the Lee Somers Endowed Library Fund.
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
Complete run of Vogue from 1892 to the present, with high resolution page images.
Wall Street Journal - Historical This link opens in a new window
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Washington Post - Historical This link opens in a new window
Access to the Washington Post from 1877 through 2007.

Useful Website

Archives of American Art
The Archives vast holdings—more than 20 million letters, diaries and scrapbooks of artists, dealers, and collectors; manuscripts of critics and scholars; business and financial records of museums, galleries, schools, and associations; photographs of art world figures and events; sketches and sketchbooks; rare printed material; film, audio and video recordings; and the largest collection of oral histories anywhere on the subject of art—are a vital resource to anyone interested in American culture over the past 200 years.