Subject Guides: Finding Images: Finding Art Images

Search These Online Collections for Art and Cultural Heritage Images

Cooper-Hewitt Collection
Images relating to design history up to present day.
Europeana
Portal for digital images from European museums.
Flikr Commons
Public domain images from around the world.
Frick Collection Photoarchive
Images of western art from the fourth to the mid-twentieth century.
Getty Search Gateway: Images
Free, unrestricted high-resolution images from the J. Paul Getty Museum
Google Cultural Institute

JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than one million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTORs interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
Indexes the art of the entire Christian world from apostolic times up to 1400 C.E.

Library of Congress Digital Collections
Mary Ann Beinecke Decorative Art Collection
From the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute Library, an extraordinary digitized collection focused on costume history, handicrafts, and textile design.
Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection Online
National Gallery of Art Public Domain Images
New York Public Library Digital Collections
Open F|S
Complete collections (Asian Art) from the Freer and Sackler Galleries and the Freer Study Collection.

Visual Resources Center This link opens in a new window
American University's Visual Resources Center (VRC) provides access to a teaching collection of ~35,000 art-related images through the JSTOR image library.