To aid in the selection of videos for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas.
If you'd like help linking streaming videos to your Canvas Course Reserves or reserving DVDs for you or your students, please contact
mediaservices@american.edu
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.
For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.
Cine a contracorriente un recorrido por el otro cine latinoamericano. 2010, 1 videodisc (166 min.). The DVD serves as a catalogue accompanying the international travelling cinema program "Cine a Contracorriente: Latinoamérica y España" ... [This] edition produced jointly by Cameo, containing a selection of Latin American experimental film, from the 1930s to the present day. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11219.
Disparen a matar = Shoot to kill. 1 videodisc (93 min.). An innocent man is murdered during a police round-up while his mother watches. Refusing to accept the official version of the story, she launches a campaign for justice. DVD 13586.
Embrace of the serpent. 1 videodisc (125 min.). The film centers on Karamakate, an Amazonian shaman and the last survivor of his people, and the two scientists who, over the course of 40 years, build a friendship with him. The film was inspired by the real-life journals of two explorers (Theodor Koch-Grünberg and Richard Evans Schultes) who traveled through the Colombian Amazon during the last century in search of the sacred and difficult-to-find psychedelic Yakruna plant. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13288.
The liberator. 1 videodisc (119 min.). Bookended by a foiled attempt on Bolivar's life in Bogota in 1828, it charts the story of the revolutionary leader's impassioned fight for independence from Spain and creation of a united South American nation, the great stories of love and loss in his life, the political intrigue and drama following his ascension to power and his mysterious death. Simon Bolivar fought over 100 battles against the Spanish Empire in South America. He rode over 70,000 miles on horseback. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 11899.
Pelo malo = Bad hair. 1 videodisc (approximately 93 min.). A nine-year-old boy's preening obsession with straightening his hair elicits a tidal wave of homophobic panic in his hard-working mother. A nine-year-old boy's preening obsession with straightening his stubbornly curly hair--"bad hair" inherited from his absent father--elicits a tidal wave of homophobic panic in his hard-working mother. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 13327.
Postales de Leningrado = Postcards from Leningrad. 2007, 1 videodisc (90 min.). A story of two children who reinvent the adventures of their parents who were part of a revolutionary group, The Fuerzas Armadas de Liberación Nacional (English: Armed Forces of National Liberation, FALN). They construct a maze of superheroes and strategies of revolutionary warfare where you never know who is crazy and who is not, expecting them to return soon. In reality they know that their parents probably will never return and they will only continue to receive the postcards that they send from Leningrad. DVD 9110.
Punto y raya = Step forward. 2006, 1 videodisc (105 min.). Defying the odds, a young Colombian army recruit is befriended by one of his over-the-border Venezuelan adversaries while on patrol. Enmity and friendship spark in this comedy about two guys who really have more in common than they'd like to admit. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6896.
Secuestro express. 2006, 1 videodisc (87 min.). Two wealthy young Venezuelans are kidnapped by small-time criminals from Caracas. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9414.
South of the border. 2010, 1 videodisc (78 min.). Director Oliver Stone visits seven presidents in five countries in South America to gain some understanding about the political and social ideas and the revolutions, and to clear up how people view them. Includes interviews with Venezuelan president Hugo Chavez, Argentinean president Cristina Kirchner, Cuban president Raul Castro. DVD 7790.