This section will give a brief history of landowners before American University was founded. Before Bishop John Fletcher Hurst secured the location to build American University, the university’s land was owned by and passed down to several different families. Historically, the land was owned by slave owning families that operated tobacco farms. However, it unclear if any enslaved individuals worked on the land that became American University property. Below, you will also find resources related to each of the families.
In 1713, a tract of land called “Friendship,” which was granted to Colonel Thomas Addison and James A. Stoddert. The southern part of the Friendship tract became the site of American University. John Murdock’s father, William, married into the Addison family. In 1760, John Murdock inherited the land from his relative, Anthony Addison. At the time of his death, Anthony Addison owned 20 enslaved individuals. However, it is not clear if anyone lived or worked on the property that became American University. When John Murdock inherited the land from the Addison family, he built Friendship House, which is the site of the official home of the American University president.
In 1862, William D.C. Murdock, who was the great-grandson of John Murdock and landowner of the Friendship tract, emancipated nine enslaved individuals under D.C. law. Based on census and emancipation records, they were likely members of the Lee family. It is believed that the Lee family lived in Georgetown, and it is unclear whether the Lee family would have worked on the Friendship tract.
William D.C. Murdock lost ownership of the Friendship tract after the Civil War. At the time of Murdock’s death in 1886, James L. Davis, an unmarried real estate developer, owned the property.
Census data and cemetery records were gathered through Ancestry.com's database. American University students can access the Ancestry database through their AU Library account.
The Assessment of 1783 Index held at the Maryland State Archives provides information on John Murdock's property in Georgetown.
Emancipation petitions and records hosted by NARA were gathered through Ancestry.com's database. American University students can access the Ancestry database through their AU Library account.
James L. Davis acquired the Friendship tract from William D.C. Murdock in 1886. When James passed away in 1889, his sister Achsah C. Davis inherited the land. During the same year as James L. Davis’ death, Bishop Hurst and attorney Theodore Tallmadge began searching for a site to host American University. On February 28, 1990, Achsah C. Davis signed the deed for Friendship tract to transfer the property to Bishop Hurst. Based on federal census records and slave schedules, the Davis family owned several enslaved people. In 1862, Nancy W. Davis, sister of James L. Davis and Achsah C. Davis, emancipated four enslaved individuals under D.C. law.
Census data and cemetery records were gathered through Ancestry.com's database. American University students can access the Ancestry database through their AU Library account.
The Loughborough family owned property that is adjacent to the American University's current location. They owned a tract of land called “Grassland,” which consisted of the present-day locations of the NBC studio and the Department of Homeland Security. Based on census records and tax assessments, the Loughborough family owned several enslaved people. Hamilton Loughborough, who inherited the Grassland tract from his stepmother, owned 11 enslaved individuals living on the Grassland tract in 1855.
1850 Slave Schedule, West of 7th St Turnpike - Washington, DC, The National Archive in Washington DC; Washington, DC; NARA Microform Publication: M432; Title: Seventh Census Of The United States, 1850; Record Group: Records of the Bureau of the Census; Record Group Number: 29.
1860 Slave Schedule, Washington, DC, United States of America, Bureau of the Census. Eighth Census of the United States, 1860. Washington, D.C.: National Archives and Records Administration, 1860, 4.
These materials are located at Georgetown University's Booth Family Center for Special Collections. To access these materials, complete a Special Collections Information Request Form.
Loughborough Family Papers 2, 1796 – 1969, Majority of material found within 1800 – 1880
Loughborough Family Papers 3, 1800 – 1962, Majority of material found within 1900 – 1939