Skip to main content

Curriculum Materials Center (CMC)

The CMC is the American University Library system's branch library that serves the School of Education community at AU's Spring Valley Building, 4801 Massachusetts Ave., NW, Washington, DC 20016. The phone number is 202-895-4904.

Curriculum Materials & Education Librarian

Hannah Park's picture
Hannah Park
Contact:
202-885-3845
Subjects:Education

Fall 2018 Hours

During Fall 2018 (August 27 to December 14), the CMC will be open Monday-Friday from 11:00 AM-6:00 PM. The hours may change during intercession. The CMC is inaccessible during the weekends because the Spring Valley Building is closed on Saturdays and Sundays, except for special events. For questions, please call (202) 895-4904.

In the event that you need access to the CMC when it is closed, please contact Hannah Park at hpark@american.edu or 202-885-3845.

Location & About the CMC

These are the types of materials you will find in the Curriculum Materials Center (CMC):

  • Larissa Gerstel Critical Literacy Collection (multicultural children's and young adult literature)
  • Teaching Collection (textbooks, reproduciblesmanipulatives, and teaching guides)
  • Education Reference Collection (encyclopedias, dictionaries, bibliographies)

The collections are managed by the University Library and are curated by the Education Librarian for the School of Education's curriculum.

Since July 2016, the CMC has been housed in American University's (AU) Spring Valley Building, in Room 418, where it is co-located with AU's School of Education. From 1992 through mid-2016, the CMC was previously housed on AU's main campus in Bender Library. The CMC collections may be used on site by community users. Only AU-affiliated users may borrow collection items. AU's teacher education candidates have priority for borrowing, as the collection is primary for their curriculum and in-service teaching needs.

AU students, faculty, and staff may request CMC items for pick-up at the Main Library through the Library's online catalog.