To aid in the selection of videos for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas.
If you'd like help linking streaming videos to your Canvas Course Reserves or reserving DVDs for you or your students, please contact
mediaservices@american.edu
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. Filmographies are created by doing multiple keyword searches in the catalog to capture as many titles on a topic as possible.
For complete, up-to-date holdings please search the library catalog search box on the Media Services homepage. (http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/) Finding Aids on the same page includes other subject oriented content.
For more information take a look at the Streaming Video Guides and Browsing Collections.
See also LGBTQ+ - Streaming Guide
20 centímetros. 2005. 1 videodisc (ca. 113 min.). Welcome to the vibrant world of Marieta/Adolfo - a narcoleptic, pre-op transsexual woman who longs to remove her last eight inches. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2456
A Church Divided: Methodists Clash Over Gay Marriage. 1 online resource (1 video file (7 min., 44 sec.)). Former Methodist minister Frank Schaefer discusses the division within the United Methodist Church (UMC) over the issue of homosexuality. Schaefer was stripped of his clerical credentials in December 2013 after a 13-member jury of pastors found him guilty of disobeying church law. The UMC Book of Discipline, which contains the church's laws and doctrines, forbids celebrations of same-sex marriages and asserts that the practice of homosexuality is "incompatible with Christian teaching." Schaefer is now an outspoken activist working to change Methodist policy on gay marriage. This movement within the UMC prompts the question: How do voluntary, private organizations change-or refuse to change- policies about matters that are central to their missions? Streaming video.
A history of equal rights in America. 2011, 4 videodiscs (ca. 224 min.). "Recounts the significant advances and the ongoing effort to gain a clear and permanent guarantee of privileges for women and all economically disadvantaged groups. From the right to own property, to the formation of labor unions, women's suffrage, consumer rights, equal pay, Title IX and the Disabilities Act. This series includes key historical individuals such as: Susan B. Anthony, Horace Mann, Mary Lyon, Juana Briones, Betty Friedan, Madeleine Albright and more."--Container. DVD 10628
A Perfect Ending. 1 videodisc (106 min.). She's elegant, wealthy, and proper, an upstanding wife and mother with three grown children, a swanky estate, and a horrible husband. But when Rebecca confesses to her friends about her unsatisfactory love life, they set her up with an exceptionally talented high-class call girl named Paris and, needless to say, the lives of both Rebecca and Paris are changed forever. Feature film. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 14915
A single man. 2010, 1 videodisc (100 min.). After the death of his longtime partner, a British college professor struggles to find meaning in his life. As he dwells in the past, he begins to contemplate suicide. A series of events and encounters will lead him to question if there really is a meaning to his life after all. Feature film. DVD 7250
A sinner in Mecca = Athim fi Makkah. 1 videodisc (79 min.). A gay filmmaker, filming in Saudi Arabia faces two challenges, filming is forbidden in the country and homosexuality is punishable by death. For Parvez Sharma (an AU alum) he faced these challenges when he embarked on his Hajj pilgrimage. DVD 13503
Africa's last taboo. 2010, 1 videodisc (49 min.). Sorious Samura investigates what it is like to be a gay person in Africa and discovers shocking levels of prejudice and hate, driven by governments, religious organizations and communities. He discovers that AIDS is spreading at an alarming rate amongst gay men in Africa who are not being given vital sex education and health care by governments that are opposed to homosexuality. DVD 10619 and Streaming video.
Agassi = The handmaiden. 1 videodisc (145 min.). A Korean woman who is hired as handmaiden to a young Japanese lady is secretly plotting with a conman to defraud her of her large inheritance. Feature film. DVD 13860
All over me. 2004? 1 videodisc (95 min.). In New York's Hell's Kitchen Claude and her best friend Ellen come of age in an urban culture which has many pitfalls for young women. Even if you don't decide you love your best friend. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2011
Amour de femme. 2004. 1 videodisc (89 min.). Jeanne, a happily married, 35-year-old osteopath with a 7-year old son meets a pretty dancer named Marie at a party arranged by her husband. While Marie is much younger than Jeanne, there is an immediate chemistry between them. The two soon become close friends and Jeanne decides to start taking a dance class taught by Marie. But when Marie starts to fall in love with Jeanne and decides to kiss her, Jeanne discovers she too loves Marie. Jeanne must now choose between the happy family life she currently maintains and her new love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4374
Anders als die andern Different from the others. 2004. Gay-themed films of the German silent era. 1 videodisc (50 min.). A prosperous man encounters a sleazy blackmailer who discovers that he is gay. Released in 1919, this film is an amazingly frank depiction of a homosexual relationship. Banned at the time of its release, later burned by the Nazis, the film was believed lost for more than forty years. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2453
Angels in America. 2004. 2 videodiscs (352 min.). Set in 1985. Revolves around two very different men with AIDS, one fictional, one fictionalized. Roy Cohn, personifies all the hypocrisy, delusion and callousness of the official response to the plague. Nothing shakes Roy's lack of empathy: even on his death bed, he's fighting with his gay nurse and taunting the woman he helped put to death, Ethel Rosenberg. The other patient is Prior Walter, who is visited by an angel and deserted by his self-pitying lover, Louis. Louis moves on to a relationship with Joe Pitt, a Mormon lawyer whose closeted homosexuality drives his wife to delusions and brings his mother to New York. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 760
Another country. 2013, 1 videodisc (90 min.). An elderly, exiled British spy remembers his days at an English boarding school in the 1930s. In school, he fell in love with a male classmate, explored his homosexuality, and was exposed to Marxist ideas, both contributing to his activities as a spy. Based on the life of former Cambridge spy Guy Burgess. DVD 13167
Antigay Hate Crimes. 1 streaming video file (45 min.). Featuring interviews with experts who describe why crimes against gays have reached such a boiling point, this edition of Investigative Reports takes a discerning look at an escalating issue in American society. Streaming video.
Aravani Girl: India's Gender Conflicts. 1 streaming video file (53 min.). Sixteen-year-olds Palani and Karthik want to become "ladyboys." They're bullied in school and beaten by their families. Their parents would like to see them grow up as normal boys, but they're falling into the world of the Aravanis dance troupe. Loved as dance performers but hated as homosexuals, they symbolize the inner conflicts of India's gender culture today. "I felt like a girl when I was seven years old," says Karthik. "Now I find there are many like me!" "I don't want to live a bad life," says Palani, who understands the social exclusion he faces, "I worry about my future." Here is a powerful story of the loss of innocence in a culture struggling to come to terms with homosexuality. Streaming video.
Ask not. 2009, 1 videodisc (73 min.). "Explores the effects of the US military's 'don't ask, don't tell' policy on gay and lesbian soldiers and service members. The film exposes the tangled political battles that led to the discriminatory law and examines the societal shifts that have occurred since its passage in 1993. Current and veteran gay soldiers reveal how DADT affects them during their tours of duty, as they struggle to maintain a double life, uncertain of whom they can trust. The film also explores how gay veterans and youth organizers are turning to forms of personal activism to overturn the policy. From a national speaking tour of conservative universities to protests at military recruitment offices, these public events question how the U.S. military can claim to represent democracy and freedom while denying one segment of the population the right to serve"--http://www.asknotfilm.com/overview. DVD 7995 and Streaming video.
Assume nothing. 1 streaming video file (80 min.). Artistic expression of alternatively gendered people's lives reveals a captivating world where gender cannot be defined as simply male or female. This program features New Zealand photographer Rebecca Swan and her images for Assume Nothing, a book that explores the beauty and complexity of gender identity. Four of Swan's subjects speak candidly about their own gender identities and experiences, focusing on their creative expression as artists: Mani, born an intersex child who was raised as a girl by her parents from a very young age; Ema, a Maori woman who identifies strongly with elements of both the female and male genders; Jack, a transgender poet who underwent surgery to transition physically from female to male; and Shigeyuki, an internationally acclaimed multidisciplinary artist who is a Samoan-Japanese Fa'a fafine, who was born in a man's body but blessed with the spirit of a woman (and a man) Contains explicit language and imagery. Streaming video.
Ayinah ha-yi rubiru. 2012, 1 videodisc (c. 102 min.). "Rana has chosen a path in order to support her family, while Adineh (Eddie) has fled his home and city to escape his complicated situation as a transsexual man prevented from living as his true self by his family. They find themselves on the same journey and caused to know each other in a better way."--From IMDB listing. Feature film. DVD 11365
Bara no soretsu Funeral parade of roses. 2006. Master of cinema series. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Eddie and the transvestite Leda both have sexual desires on bar manager and drug dealer Gonda. Gonda fears Leda will expose him to the police if he does not give in to his advances. When Leda commits suicide, Eddie and Gonda are free to engage in their homosexual yearnings for each other. When Gonda discovers he is Eddie's father, he kills himself with a knife. A distraught Eddie uses the same knife to cut his own eyes. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2289
Becoming me: gender within. 1 streaming video file (40 min.). What ultimately determines a person's gender? Is it chromosomes, hormones, genitals, or an innate sense of self? In this Telly Award-winning program, five transgendered individuals between the ages of 20 and 50 speak openly about what it has meant to them to be transgendered-their first experiences of gender confusion, life after coming out, family responses, and more. Advice for others who may be questioning their own gender is provided, and the process of sexual reassignment surgery is addressed. Contains clinically explicit language. An expanded version of Becoming Me: The Gender Within with graphic operating room footage of male-to-female and female-to-male SRS performed by Dr. Marci Bowers included on DVD only. Streaming video.
Before night falls. 2001. 1 videodisc (134 min.). A look at the life of Reinaldo Arenas, from childhood in Cuba to his death in New York City. His writings and homosexuality get him in trouble with Castro's Cuba and he spends two years in prison before leaving for the United States. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 486
Beginners. 2011, 1 videodisc (1 hr., 44 min.). A young man is rocked by two announcements from his elderly father: that he has terminal cancer, and that he has a young male lover. Feature film. DVD 2886
Beginners. 2011. 1 videodisc (1 hr., 44 min.). A young man is rocked by two announcements from his elderly father: that he has terminal cancer, and that he has a young male lover. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2886
Behind the candelabra. 2013, 1 videodisc (118 min.). Drama recreating the glittering private world of Liberace, the flamboyant, phenomenally successful entertainer whose extravagant costumes, trademark candelabra, and elaborate stage shows made him the most bankable entertainer of his time. Feature film. DVD 6479
Beloved. 99? 1 videodisc (171 min.). After Paul D. finds his old slave friend Sethe in Ohio and moves in with her and her daughter Denver, a strange girl comes along by the name of "Beloved". Sethe & Denver take her in and then strange things start to happen. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1747
Bisexual virgins: Crossing the line. 1 streaming video file (48 min.). Bisexual Virgins follows two small town young women, Tina and Samantha, who are unsure about their sexual identity but want to explore the possibility that they may be bisexual. 'Bi-curious' might be a more accurate description of their state of mind at the start of this provocative film, which follows them as they confront their fears and inhibitions, and begin to explore Toronto's active bisexual scene. Streaming video.
Black womyn: Conversations with lesbians of African descent. 2011, 1 videodisc (90 min.). A documentary film focusing on the lives and views of lesbians of African descent from various backgrounds. Interviews were conducted with close to 50 out black lesbians including Cheryl Clarke, Aishah Shahidah Simmons, Staceyann Chin, Michelle Parkerson, KIN (IQ & NOR), and Fiona Zedde. DVD 9115
Blue is the warmest color. 1 videodisc (179 minutes). The colorful, electrifying romance that took the Cannes Film Festival by storm courageously dives into a young woman's experiences of first love and sexual awakening. Blue is the Warmest Color stars the remarkable newcomer Adèle Exarchopoulos as a high schooler who, much to her own surprise, plunges into a thrilling relationship with a female twentysomething art student, played by Léa Seydoux. Directed by Adbellatif Kechiche, this finely detailed, intimate epic sensitively renders the erotic abandon of youth. It has captivated international audiences and been widely embraced as a defining love story for the new century. Feature film. DVD 11180
Bones of contention. 1 streaming video file (75 min.). Lining the roads of Spain, masked by miles and miles of pine trees, are unmarked graves in which over a hundred twenty thousand victims of the Franco regime are buried. Among them is Spain's most famous poet, Federico García Lorca, who has become the symbol for both the historical memory and LGBT movements. The film explores the examined history of LGBT oppression during Spain's fascist regime, and places it within the larger human rights struggle to find some justice for Franco's victims. But how does a country excavate a past that is actively suppressed? Streaming video.
Born this way: Gay and lesbian in Cameroon. 1 videodisc (55 min.). "There are more arrests for homosexuality in Cameroon than any other country in the world. With intimate access to the lives of four young gay Cameroonians, Born This Way steps outside the genre of activist filmmaking and offers a vivid and poetic portrait of day-to-day life in modern Africa. Lyrical imagery, devastating homophobia, the influence of western culture and a hidden-camera courtroom drama mysteriously coalesce into a story of what is possible in the global fight for equality."-- Unedited summary from the film's website. DVD 12318
Boyfriends. LGBT studies in video. 1 online resource (82 min.). Three gay couples, all at varying stages in their relationships, gather for a weekend in the country to celebrate a birthday. Streaming video.
Boys don't cry. 99. 1 videodisc (116 min.). Teena Brandon alters her appearance to appear as a man, and assumes the name Brandon Teena. She moves to a tiny Nebraska town and begins making new friends under her new identity. All goes well until her new friends discover her secret. Based on a true story about hope, fear, and the courage it takes to be yourself. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 90
Breaking through. 1 online resource (84 minutes). A documentary on confronting the demons that stand in the way of living life fully, told by those who ran openly LGBT campaigns - and won. Openly LGBT elected officials tell their stories of self-doubt and triumph. Streaming video.
Bridegroom. 1 videodisc (82 min.). Shane Bitney Crone's plans to marry Tom Bridegroom in California after the same-sex marriage law is passed takes a tragic turn when his partner of six years is killed and his family refuses him from attending the funeral. DVD 11100
Brokeback Mountain. 2006. Focus Features four-star collection. 1 videodisc (135 min.). It's 1963, a time in the United States when life was simple, straightforward and the lines between the sexes and sex roles were crisply drawn and severely delineated. Ennis Del Mar and Jack Twist find themselves thrown together when they are hired to tend sheep in the remote area of Brokeback Mountain, Wyoming. Because of the job, the two are forced to spend many hours together alone in the wild. Ennis and Jack are inexorably drawn to each other through their proximity, loneliness and through a shared lack of tenderness and emotion in their lives and are emotionally, physically and psychically bonded to each other almost from the start. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1924
Brüno. 2009. 1 videodisc (82 min.). As Bruno travels the world in search of fame, no one, whether they are celebrities, politicians or even terrorists, will be spared from his signature sense of style and his wickedly off-kilter manner. And, yes, they are all real situations. Prepare yourself for non-stop laughs and outright gasps when you experience the unforgettable antics of Bruno. Bonus material included. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6594
Bullied. 2010, 1 videodisc (48 min.). This film tells the story of Jamie Nabozny, a gay student who endured relentless bullying in both middle and high school despite seeking help from school administrators. Jamie fought back, not with his fists but in a courtroom. His historic federal case established that gay and lesbian students have a constitutional right to be free from harassment and bullying. Why is a film on anti-gay bullying necessary? Lesbian, gay, bisexual or transgender (LGBT) are still subject to physical and verbal harassment or isolation, educators are wary of raising issues relating to sexual orientation or gender identity because the subject is seen as politically or religiously charged. Until school personnel understand that, unless all students feel safe, the school is not providing the best environment in which to learn, they risk sending the message that some bullying is acceptable. DVD 12351
But I'm a cheerleader. 99. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Megan's super normal suburban existence is filled with friends, pom-poms and rah-rah enthusiasm until her parents suspect that she may, in fact, be showing deviant tendencies. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4347
Call me Kuchu. 2013, 1 videodisc (86 min.). In Uganda, a new bill threatens to make homosexuality punishable by death. David Kato, Uganda's first openly gay man, and retired Anglican Bishop Christopher Senyonjo work against the clock to defeat state-sanctioned homophobia. But one year into filming and just three weeks after a landmark legal victory, David is brutally murdered. This depicts the last year in the life of a courageous man whose wisdom, achievements and memory has inspired a new generation of human rights advocates. DVD 9019
Call me Malcolm. 2010, 1 videodisc (90 min.). Documents Malcolm's final year of seminary after transgender surgery. He is unemployed, uncertain about his future as a minister, unrecognized as 'Malcolm' by his parents, and without a love in his life. He leaves the safe environment of seminary and sets out on a road trip where viewers will see one man's struggle with faith, love, and gender identity. Includes a study guide. DVD 9335
Campaign of hate: Russia and gay propaganda. 1 online resource (79 minutes). Lucas returns to his native country with co-director Scott Stern to shine a light on the truth of LGBT men and women in Russia and their ever-increasing prosecution. DVD 11411 and Streaming video.
Caravaggio. 2008. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A film based on the life and art of Caravaggio, the greatest of the Italian post-Renaissance painters. Centers on the love triangle between the artist, his model Ranuccio and Lena, Ranuccio's low-life partner. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4492
Carol. 1 videodisc (118 minutes). Two women from very different backgrounds find themselves in an unexpected love affair in 1950s New York. As conventional norms of the time challenge their undeniable attraction, an honest story emerges to reveal the resilience of the heart in the face of change. A young woman in her twenties, Therese is a clerk working in a Manhattan department store and dreaming of a more fulfilling life when she meets Carol, an alluring woman trapped in a loveless, convenient marriage. Feature film. DVD 13123
CenterLink the community of LGBT centers . 2012, 1 videodisc (17 min.).
Chely Wright: Wish me away. 2012, 1 videodisc ( 96 min.). Over a three-year period, filmmakers Bobbie Birleffi and Beverly Kopf followed Chely's struggle - some of which was recorded on private video diaries - and her unfolding plan to come out publicly. Using interviews with Chely, her family, key players in Nashville and her management team, the film goes deep into Chely's back story as an established country music star and then forward in verite scenes as she prepares to step into the media glare to reveal that she is gay. Finally, the film chronicles the aftermath of that decision in Nashville, her hometown and within the LGBT community. DVD 5553 and Streaming video.
Chun feng chen zui de ye wan = Spring fever. 2010. 1 videodisc (107 min.). Wang Ping's wife suspects him of adultery. She hires Luo Haitao to spy on him and discovers that her husband's lover is a man, Jiang Cheng. It's with this man that Luo Haitao and his girlfriend, Li Jing, form a torrid love triangle. For all three, it's the beginning of asphyxiating, sultry nights of physical abandon that exalt the senses. A sulfurous journey into the confines of jealousy and obsessive love. Feature film. DVD 14917
Chun guang zha xie Happy together. 98. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Yiu Fai and Po Wing left Hong Kong for a great waterfall in South America, but in the end are stuck on the streets of Buenos Aires. Yiu Fai's life takes on a new spin, while Po Wing's life shatters continuality in contrast. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5295
Cloudburst. 1 videodisc (93 min.). Stella and Dot have been together for 31 years and have faithfully accompanied one another through life's ups and downs. Now in their seventies, Stella is hard of hearing and Dot is legally blind. Dotty's prudish granddaughter, Molly, decides the best place for Dot is a nursing home that will provide all the necessities. This forces Stella and Dot to make a bold decision: they will leave their hometown in Maine and make their way to Canada, where same-sex marriage is legal. DVD 13750
Coming Out of the Nkuta. 1 online resource (1 video file (51 min., 49 sec.)). Or "Coming out of the Closet" as it means in Cameroon, is a criminal offence for the country’s homosexuals. But Alice, a bold and intrepid lawyer, is standing alone against a wall of vitriol to defend them. Rejected by their families and imprisoned by their government, the brave individuals that Alice defends can only lead half lives in their own country. This heartbreaking documentary exposes their desperate plight and search for acceptance. Streaming video.
Conceiving Family: Stories of Gay and Lesbian Adoption. 1 streaming video file (50 min.). Following filmmaker Amy Bohigian and her partner as they adopt 15-month-old twins, this program highlights the legal, social, and personal difficulties that accompany the rewards of parenthood when gays and lesbians start families through adoption. Required to live with the twins' foster parents for two weeks to help the children transition, Bohigian and the other adults are forced to work out their different attitudes towards same-sex parenting, with surprising results. Also profiled: long-term partners fighting to both be legitimized as legal parents, a birth family with second thoughts about giving their child to a same-sex couple, lesbian foster parents grappling with the return of a baby to her native community, and two men daunted by the cost of surrogacy. Streaming video.
Contracorriente = Undertow. 2011, 1 videodisc (100 min.). Miguel, a respected Peruvian fisherman, is expecting his first child with his beautiful wife, Mariela. However, their peaceful existence is threatened by Miguel's love for Santiago, a visiting artist whose presence is viewed as a threat by the villagers. When a fatal accident befalls the community, Miguel is faced with hiding his true feelings or coming to terms with who he is and risk losing everything, including those he loves. Feature film. DVD 8696
Contracorriente Undertow. 2011. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Miguel, a respected Peruvian fisherman, is expecting his first child with his beautiful wife, Mariela. However, their peaceful existence is threatened by Miguel's love for Santiago, a visiting artist whose presence is viewed as a threat by the villagers. When a fatal accident befalls the community, Miguel is faced with hiding his true feelings or coming to terms with who he is and risk losing everything, including those he loves. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8696
Cruising. 2007. 1 videodisc (102 min.). Based on a series of grisly slayings that occurred in the sadomasochistic-heavy leather gay scene of Manhattan's West Village in the early 70's. Pacino plays an undercover cop assigned to penetrate this male S & M subculture. Dressed in black leather, gestapo cap and chains, he hopes to draw an attack from the psychotic killer by posing as a victim. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3132
Cure for Love. 1 streaming video file (59 min.). There's a bride, a groom, and the usual happy crowd of well-wishers. But this is no ordinary wedding. Ana and Brian are ex-gays - adherents to a controversial evangelical movement that purports to convert gay people into heterosexuals. Cure for Love goes inside the unusual Christian subculture and follows the lives of several young people whose homosexuality is at odds with their religious beliefs, using their moving testimonies to fashion a nuanced critique of 21st-century fundamentalism. Jonathan, a soft-spoken young Texan, was driven into an ex-gay "ministry" by crippling self-loathing - but he now embraces a Christianity that leaves room for a loving gay relationship. Darren, another refugee, looks back at the ex-gay experience with mixed feelings and wry humor. Ana and Brian remain within the flock, carving out a progressive Canadian position within the movement. Cure for Love makes a big-hearted contribution to the ongoing dialogue on difference and tolerance. Streaming video.
D.E.B.S. 1 videodisc (91 min.). Plaid-skirted schoolgirls are groomed by a secret government agency to become the newest members of the elite national defense group, D.E.B.S. Feature film. On order 1/12/2018. Check catalog for call number.
Dakan. 97. 1 streaming video file (87 min.). The first feature film on homosexuality from sub-Saharan Africa, Dakan (it means "destiny") was met with angry protests and heated debate when it was shot in the director's native Guinea. The film is a contemporary African reinterpretation of the age-old conflict between love and social convention, the story of two men who by coming out become invisible to their society. The men try to deny their sexual orientation to please their families, but eventually accept it, and each other, as their destiny. Contains nudity and mature themes. French and Mandikan with English subtitles. (87 minutes). Streaming video.
Diagnosing difference. 2009, 1 videodisc (64 min.). A documentary film featuring thirteen transgender and genderqueer scholars, artists, and activists discussing the impact and implications of the Gender Identity Disorder diagnosis on their lives and communities. DVD 10577
Dong gong xi gong East palace, West palace. 2003. 1 videodisc (90 min.). This film focuses on a young gay Chinese writer, A-Lan who, being attracted to a young policeman, manages to have himself interrogated for a whole night. His life story which he tells during the interrogation reflects the general repression of society. The policeman's attitude shifts from the initial revulsion to fascination and finally, to attraction. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5622
Dostana. 2008. 1 videodisc (ca. 204 min.). "After the passing of her parents, Neha Melwani lives in Miami with her aunt. She rents out a room in her apartment to two seemingly gay Indian men, Kunal Chauhan and Sameer Acharya, a photographer and nurser respectively. She introduces them to her departing gay boss, Murli, and falls in love with her new boss, Abhimanyu Singh. She will soon realize that she has two rivals for her new love - none other than Kunal and Sameer." --IMDb. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7259
Drunktown's finest. 1 videodisc (93 minutes). On a beautifully desolate Navajo reservation in New Mexico, three young people, a college-bound, devout Christian woman; a rebellious and angry father-to-be; and a promiscuous but gorgeous transsexual woman, search for love and acceptance. As the three find their lives becoming more complicated and their troubles growing, their paths begin to intersect. DVD 14673
Edward II. 2005. 1 videodisc (90 min.). King Edward II enfuriates his queen and imperils his throne by bringing his lover Gaveston to court. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5736
Einayim Petukhoth = Eyes wide open. 2010, 1 videodisc (90 min.). Aaron, a butcher and devout family man in Jerusalem's ultraorthodox Jewish community, has his quiet life interrupted when Erzi, a handsome, young Yeshiva student, happens on his shop. Intrigued by the young man, Aaron offers Erzi a job and becomes his friend and mentor. The two grow closer, and soon other feelings surface. As their forbidden desire grows, Aaron begins to neglect his business and his family. But guilt, torment, and pressure from the community lead him to make a radical decision. Feature film. DVD 7738
Einayim Petukhoth Eyes wide open. 2010. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Aaron, a butcher and devout family man in Jerusalem's ultraorthodox Jewish community, has his quiet life interrupted when Erzi, a handsome, young Yeshiva student, happens on his shop. Intrigued by the young man, Aaron offers Erzi a job and becomes his friend and mentor. The two grow closer, and soon other feelings surface. As their forbidden desire grows, Aaron begins to neglect his business and his family. But guilt, torment, and pressure from the community lead him to make a radical decision. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7738
Faith and Gay Fear. 1 online resource (47 min.). In 2014, Cold Fear: Gay Life in Russia revealed shocking footage of a man hunted, trapped, then beaten and humiliated by a group of 30 anti-gay activists in Russia. It was just the tip of an iceberg. Across the world, there is a growing movement to halt the advance of gay rights by direct persecution and support for anti-homosexual laws. The movement has created some unlikely international allies. Now, the team behind Cold Fear - Gay Life in Russia investigates the groups and individuals coordinating the campaign. The investigation team crosses continents as it tracks the money, political campaigns and secret meetings to piece together the network. From the antigay agenda spreading across Europe from Russia to the extreme homophobia in Africa sponsored by western evangelists and right-wing Christians - this film reveals that far from the hatred originating from rogue extremists, it is an organised movement with a shared source of funding. The trail ends in the United States. Streaming video.
Farewell my concubine. 99? 1 videodisc (172 min.). Story that spans more than 50 years in the lives of two men at the Peking Opera, friends since childhood, and the woman who comes between them. Also an absorbing drama of the period in Chinese history from the warlord era through the Cultural Revolution. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 436
Fest selects. 2011, 1 videodisc (101 min.). A collection of lesbian short films from some of the top films festivals. DVD 8711
Fest selects. 2011, 1 videodisc (104 min.). A collection of gay short films from some of the top films festivals. DVD 8712
First Perspectives on Sexual Awakening and Identity. 1 streaming video file (38 min.). Joy, fear, wild pleasure, a sense of danger-these emotions are at the core of almost any coming-of-age experience. Multiply them by a thousand, and maybe throw disgust or boredom into the mix, and you have a fleeting glimpse of the thoughts and sensations surrounding a young woman's first sexual encounter. This program collects stories and reflections on that very subject from ten unique women, all of whom speak candidly about their backgrounds, their expectations prior to having sex, and how they have learned to define themselves sexually. Participants range from Trish, age 16 and the only virgin in the group, to 45-year-old Annee, who remembers hiding her feelings of triumph after her first lovemaking, to Pauline, an octogenarian who wistfully recalls losing her virginity-on her wedding night. Heterosexual and gay issues are both addressed in detail. Streaming video.
Fish out of water. 2009, 1 videodisc (60 min.). Director Dickens explores the contentious issue of faith, homosexuality and same-sex marriage. DVD 7700 and Streaming video.
Folsom forever. 1 videodisc (72 min.). In 1984, a scrappy little neighborhood in San Francisco, home too many low-income tenants and the heart of the gay male leather scene, faced destruction from the bulldozers of redevelopment and the AIDS crisis. The Folsom Street Fair was started to call attention to gentrification and raise money for AIDS charities. The film tells the story of how this small street fair grew into the biggest outdoor kink and fetish event in the world, and managed to do a lot of good along the way. DVD 12760
Forbidden love: The unashamed stories of lesbian lives. 1 streaming video file (85 min.). Compelling, often hilarious and always rebellious, nine women paint a portrait of lesbian sexuality against a backdrop of tabloid headlines, book covers and dramatizations from lesbian pulp novels. Streaming video.
Fresa y chocolate=Strawberry and chocolate. 2003. 1 videodisc (104 min.). David, a student at Havana University, is devastated when his girlfriend marries someone else. When he meets a gay artist, Diego, he is drawn to his cultured lifestyle and a friendship forms between them. With the help of two new friends, a young man learns everything there is to know about things not taught in school. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1163
From Pleasure to Sin. 1 online resource (53 min.). Sex and the church. In the first part of a major three-part series, the eminent theological historian Professor Diarmaid MacCulloch explores how Christianity has shaped western attitudes to sex, gender and sexuality throughout history. Travelling from Israel to Greece, Italy and Ireland, he begins by showing how the early Christians transformed sex from a biological necessity into a vice, from a pleasure into a sinches Even though Jesus Christ said very little about sex, Christianity soon promoted celibacy as the Christian ideal, turned sex into something dangerous and made even marriage second-best. Streaming video.