To aid in the selection of video's for your class and research needs, we've created a large number of filmographies on many subject areas. If you'd like to suggest a new filmography or ask that an existing one be updated, please contact Chris Lewis. (x3257)
Anthropology and American Studies
Art and Art History
Business and Public Administration
Communications and Journalism
Film Studies, Film Genres and National Cinema
Foreign Languages and Area and Regional Studies
Health and Fitness
International Service, US Foreign Policy and Peace and Conflict
Justice and Law
Math, Statistics and Computer Science
Philosophy and Religion
Physical Sciences and Environmental Science
Women's and Gender Studies
Titles available on DVD and streaming video as of June 2013.
Most streaming videos listed are available exclusively to AU students, staff and faculty after an online authentications by AUID#.
This is a selective list of video holdings in the American University Library. F All DVDs listed below are located in Media Services on the Lower Level of Bender Library. To search the library’s complete videos holdings on biology topics (including VHS tapes) keyword searches in the library catalog will be necessary: http://www.american.edu/library/mediaservices/index.cfm
20 centímetros. 2005. 1 videodisc (ca. 113 min.). Welcome to the vibrant world of Marieta/Adolfo - a narcoleptic, pre-op transsexual woman who longs to remove her last eight inches. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2456
The adventures of Priscilla, queen of the desert. 2007. 1 videodisc (103 min.). With a contract to perform a drag show way out in the Australian desert, Tick, Adam and Ralph each has his own reason for wanting to leave the safety of Sydney. Christening their battered, pink tour bus "Priscilla," this wickedly funny and high-drama trio heads for the outback and into crazy adventures in even crazier outfits. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 243
All over me. 2004? 1 videodisc (95 min.). In New York's Hell's Kitchen Claude and her best friend Ellen come of age in an urban culture which has many pitfalls for young women. Even if you don't decide you love your best friend. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2011
The alley cats. 1966. LGBT studies in video. 1 online resource (81 min.). The swinging Sixties have never looked so sexy, fun and erotic as in Radley Metzger's second solo feature The Alley Cats! When Leslie, a member of Europe's wealthy young swinging set, feels ignored by her fiancee Logan (who is in the midst of a tempestuous affair with Leslie's friend Agnes) she decides to do some swinging herself. Her first lover, the suave, debonair Christian, pleases her greatly, but is soon called away on business. Frustrated, Leslie responds to the advances of Irena, a beautiful lesbian socialite. Soon she must choose between fiancee Logan and her awakening lesbian feelings. Streaming video.
Amour de femme. 2004. 1 videodisc (89 min.). Jeanne, a happily married, 35-year-old osteopath with a 7-year old son meets a pretty dancer named Marie at a party arranged by her husband. While Marie is much younger than Jeanne, there is an immediate chemistry between them. The two soon become close friends and Jeanne decides to start taking a dance class taught by Marie. But when Marie starts to fall in love with Jeanne and decides to kiss her, Jeanne discovers she too loves Marie. Jeanne must now choose between the happy family life she currently maintains and her new love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4374
Anders als die andern Different from the others. 2004. Gay-themed films of the German silent era. 1 videodisc (50 min.). A prosperous man encounters a sleazy blackmailer who discovers that he is gay. Released in 1919, this film is an amazingly frank depiction of a homosexual relationship. Banned at the time of its release, later burned by the Nazis, the film was believed lost for more than forty years. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2453
Angels in America. 2004. 2 videodiscs (352 min.). Set in 1985. Revolves around two very different men with AIDS, one fictional, one fictionalized. Roy Cohn, personifies all the hypocrisy, delusion and callousness of the official response to the plague. Nothing shakes Roy's lack of empathy: even on his death bed, he's fighting with his gay nurse and taunting the woman he helped put to death, Ethel Rosenberg. The other patient is Prior Walter, who is visited by an angel and deserted by his self-pitying lover, Louis. Louis moves on to a relationship with Joe Pitt, a Mormon lawyer whose closeted homosexuality drives his wife to delusions and brings his mother to New York. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 760
Bara no soretsu Funeral parade of roses. 2006. Master of cinema series. 1 videodisc (105 min.). Eddie and the transvestite Leda both have sexual desires on bar manager and drug dealer Gonda. Gonda fears Leda will expose him to the police if he does not give in to his advances. When Leda commits suicide, Eddie and Gonda are free to engage in their homosexual yearnings for each other. When Gonda discovers he is Eddie's father, he kills himself with a knife. A distraught Eddie uses the same knife to cut his own eyes. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2289
Before night falls. 2001. 1 videodisc (134 min.). A look at the life of Reinaldo Arenas, from childhood in Cuba to his death in New York City. His writings and homosexuality get him in trouble with Castro's Cuba and he spends two years in prison before leaving for the United States. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 486
Beginners. 2011. 1 videodisc (1 hr., 44 min.). A young man is rocked by two announcements from his elderly father: that he has terminal cancer, and that he has a young male lover. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2886
Beloved. 99? 1 videodisc (171 min.). After Paul D. finds his old slave friend Sethe in Ohio and moves in with her and her daughter Denver, a strange girl comes along by the name of "Beloved". Sethe & Denver take her in and then strange things start to happen. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1747
The birdcage. 98. 1 videodisc (119 min.). The story of a middle-aged gay couple's comic encounter with a self-righteously straight and conservative family. Armand and Albert reluctantly accept young Val's intention to marry the daughter of a conservative Senator, but when the fiancee's family comes to visit, the whole household is turned upside down. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 667
La bocca del lupo The wolf's mouth. 2010. 1 videodisc (76 min.). A touching tale of an enduring love found in the most improbable of places, Pietro Marcello's award-winning docufiction hybrid charts the life and relationship of Enzo and Mary, a couple living in the slums of the Italian city of Genoa. The unlikely romance begins in prison, where Enzo, a macho hardman serving a long stretch for shooting a police officer, meets Mary Monaco, a transsexual inmate serving time for prostitution, who works in the laundry repairing clothes. Falling for each other very quickly, Mary promises to wait for Enzo once she gets out of prison. When she is released, Mary finds a home for them to share, but in the meantime, she becomes addicted to heroin. . HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 10524
Boyfriends. 96. LGBT studies in video. 1 online resource (82 min.). Three gay couples, all at varying stages in their relationships, gather for a weekend in the country to celebrate a birthday. Streaming video.
Boys don't cry. 99. 1 videodisc (116 min.). Teena Brandon alters her appearance to appear as a man, and assumes the name Brandon Teena. She moves to a tiny Nebraska town and begins making new friends under her new identity. All goes well until her new friends discover her secret. Based on a true story about hope, fear, and the courage it takes to be yourself. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 90
Brokeback Mountain. 2006. Focus Features four-star collection. 1 videodisc (135 min.). It's 1963, a time in the United States when life was simple, straightforward and the lines between the sexes and sex roles were crisply drawn and severely delineated. Ennis Del Mar and Jack Twist find themselves thrown together when they are hired to tend sheep in the remote area of Brokeback Mountain, Wyoming. Because of the job, the two are forced to spend many hours together alone in the wild. Ennis and Jack are inexorably drawn to each other through their proximity, loneliness and through a shared lack of tenderness and emotion in their lives and are emotionally, physically and psychically bonded to each other almost from the start. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1924
Brüno. 2009. 1 videodisc (82 min.). As Bruno travels the world in search of fame, no one, whether they are celebrities, politicians or even terrorists, will be spared from his signature sense of style and his wickedly off-kilter manner. And, yes, they are all real situations. Prepare yourself for non-stop laughs and outright gasps when you experience the unforgettable antics of Bruno. Bonus material included. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6594
But I'm a cheerleader. 99. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Megan's super normal suburban existence is filled with friends, pom-poms and rah-rah enthusiasm until her parents suspect that she may, in fact, be showing deviant tendencies. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4347
Caravaggio. 2008. 1 videodisc (90 min.). A film based on the life and art of Caravaggio, the greatest of the Italian post-Renaissance painters. Centers on the love triangle between the artist, his model Ranuccio and Lena, Ranuccio's low-life partner. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4492
Chun guang zha xie Happy together. 98. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Yiu Fai and Po Wing left Hong Kong for a great waterfall in South America, but in the end are stuck on the streets of Buenos Aires. Yiu Fai's life takes on a new spin, while Po Wing's life shatters continuality in contrast. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5295
Contracorriente Undertow. 2011. 1 videodisc (100 min.). Miguel, a respected Peruvian fisherman, is expecting his first child with his beautiful wife, Mariela. However, their peaceful existence is threatened by Miguel's love for Santiago, a visiting artist whose presence is viewed as a threat by the villagers. When a fatal accident befalls the community, Miguel is faced with hiding his true feelings or coming to terms with who he is and risk losing everything, including those he loves. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 8696
The country teacher. 2007. New world cinema: independent features & shorts, 1990-present. 1 online resource (115 min.). A gifted and well-qualified young teacher takes a job teaching natural sciences at a grammar school in the country. Here he makes the acquaintance of a woman and her troubled 17-year old son. The teacher has no romantic interest in the woman but they quickly form a strong friendship, each recognizing the other's uncertainties, hopes and longing for love. When the teacher's ex-boyfriend comes to visit from the city, he quickly realizes that nobody in the village knows that the teacher is gay and harbors a secret affection for the teenage boy. His jealous actions set in motion a series of events that will test the inner strength and compassion of the teacher, the woman and her son to a breaking point. A beautifully shot, powerfully acted, profoundly moving story of desire, responsibility, forgiveness and the need to belong, from the internationally-acclaimed director of Something Like Happiness and Wild Bees. Streaming video.
Cruising. 2007. 1 videodisc (102 min.). Based on a series of grisly slayings that occurred in the sadomasochistic-heavy leather gay scene of Manhattan's West Village in the early 70's. Pacino plays an undercover cop assigned to penetrate this male S & M subculture. Dressed in black leather, gestapo cap and chains, he hopes to draw an attack from the psychotic killer by posing as a victim. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3132
Dakan. 97. 1 streaming video file (87 min.). The first feature film on homosexuality from sub-Saharan Africa, Dakan (it means "destiny") was met with angry protests and heated debate when it was shot in the director's native Guinea. The film is a contemporary African reinterpretation of the age-old conflict between love and social convention, the story of two men who by coming out become invisible to their society. The men try to deny their sexual orientation to please their families, but eventually accept it, and each other, as their destiny. Contains nudity and mature themes. French and Mandikan with English subtitles. (87 minutes). Streaming video.
Dong gong xi gong East palace, West palace. 2003. 1 videodisc (90 min.). This film focuses on a young gay Chinese writer, A-Lan who, being attracted to a young policeman, manages to have himself interrogated for a whole night. His life story which he tells during the interrogation reflects the general repression of society. The policeman's attitude shifts from the initial revulsion to fascination and finally, to attraction. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5622
Dostana. 2008. 1 videodisc (ca. 204 min.). "After the passing of her parents, Neha Melwani lives in Miami with her aunt. She rents out a room in her apartment to two seemingly gay Indian men, Kunal Chauhan and Sameer Acharya, a photographer and nurser respectively. She introduces them to her departing gay boss, Murli, and falls in love with her new boss, Abhimanyu Singh. She will soon realize that she has two rivals for her new love - none other than Kunal and Sameer." --IMDb. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7259
Edward II. 2005. 1 videodisc (90 min.). King Edward II enfuriates his queen and imperils his throne by bringing his lover Gaveston to court. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5736
Einayim Petukhoth Eyes wide open. 2010. 1 videodisc (90 min.). Aaron, a butcher and devout family man in Jerusalem's ultraorthodox Jewish community, has his quiet life interrupted when Erzi, a handsome, young Yeshiva student, happens on his shop. Intrigued by the young man, Aaron offers Erzi a job and becomes his friend and mentor. The two grow closer, and soon other feelings surface. As their forbidden desire grows, Aaron begins to neglect his business and his family. But guilt, torment, and pressure from the community lead him to make a radical decision. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 7738
Farewell my concubine. 99? 1 videodisc (172 min.). Story that spans more than 50 years in the lives of two men at the Peking Opera, friends since childhood, and the woman who comes between them. Also an absorbing drama of the period in Chinese history from the warlord era through the Cultural Revolution. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 436
Fresa y chocolate=Strawberry and chocolate. 2003. 1 videodisc (104 min.). David, a student at Havana University, is devastated when his girlfriend marries someone else. When he meets a gay artist, Diego, he is drawn to his cultured lifestyle and a friendship forms between them. With the help of two new friends, a young man learns everything there is to know about things not taught in school. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1163
Geschlecht in fesseln=Sex in chains. 2004. Gay-themed films of the German silent era. 1 videodisc (90 min.). When Sommer accidentally kills a nightclub patron harassing his wife Helene, he's sentenced to three years in prison. Denied the comforts promised in their marriage, the young newlyweds risk their future and find release where they can -- Sommer in the arms of a handsome fellow prisoner and Helene with the boss whose kindness becomes her only solace. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 2452
Ghosted. 2009. LGBT studies in video. 1 online resource (78 min.). Monika Treut, the noted director of provocative films such as Seduction: The Cruel Woman, Female Misbehavior and Gendernauts, returns with a mysterious love story set in Taiwan and Germany. Streaming video.
Huhoe haji ana = No regret. 2008. 1 videodisc (112 min.). Su-min is a poor laborer and a gay bar host. Chae-min is from rich family and about to marry a woman. Su-min and Chae-min fall in love and this is their love story. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 3465
Hustler white. 2002. 1 videodisc (81 min.). A gay romantic comedy about male hustling in Los Angeles. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 4495
Jin nian xia tian=fish and elephant. 2006. 1 videodisc (106 min.). Xiao Qun works at the Beijing Zoo as an elephant keeper, while her lover, Xiao Ling runs a clothes stall in an indoor market. Their relationship comes under fire; however, with the arrival of Qun's divorced mother who, unaware that her daughter is gay, tries to set her up with a man. Further complicating matters is the appearance of Qun's ex-girlfriend, Junjun, now wanted by the police for killing her abusive father. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9137
Kaboom. 2011. 1 videodisc (86 min.). Smith is an 18-year-old living the life of a college freshman who is lusting after his straight roommate, hanging out with his lesbian bestie, and trying to decide, if he can, whether he digs boys or girls. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 9321
Karmen Geï. 2005. Library of African cinema: New African cinema: Library of African cinema (Videodisc): New African cinema (Videodisc). 1 videodisc (82 min.). Karmen escapes prison through her lesbian relationship with the warden. She then wrecks the marriage and career of a police corporal by making him her lover and co-conspirator in a smuggling ring. She abandons the corporal who, in a fit of jealous rage, stabs her. Contains much singing and dancing. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 6650
Kiss of the spider woman. 2008. 2 videodiscs (120 min.). Luis, a homosexual, and Valentin, a political prisoner are mismatched cell mates in a South American prison. To escape reality Luis invents romantic movies, while Valentin tries to keep his mind on the situation he's in. Eventually, the two men come to understand and respect one another. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 5187
Kissing Jessica Stein. 2002. 1 videodisc (97 min.). Fed up with her fruitless search for "Mr. Right" and tired of blind dates from hell, attractive journalist Jessica Stein whimsically responds to a classified ad-- from Helen! Making and breaking new rules of dating as they go, the two women muddle through an earnest but hilarious courtship that blurs the lines between friendship and romantic love. HOME USE COLLECTION DVD 1986