Skip to main content

Citation Style Guide

Click to Chat with a Librarian

 
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat Fall hours:  Monday-Thursday 10am to 2am; Friday, 10am to 6pm; Saturday, 1 to 6pm; Sunday 1 to 6pm and 8pm to 2am. We can take text messages during open hours at 571-766-6349.

 

Why Cite?

  • Citations let your professor, or anyone else that reads your work, find the items you used in your research. The key to a successful citation is providing all of the information so your reader can find the book, article, or other item you are citing.
  • Citing builds your credibility and shows that your ideas are shared by other scholars studying in the same field. Citing scholarly peer-reviewed sources lends extra credibility to your work.
  • Citation avoids plagiarism! Citing your sources properly gives credit to the original author. 

Citation Styles

Citation Styles:

  • ACS (American Chemical Society) - Chemistry - The ACS Style Guide - Official online source from the American Chemical Society or in print in the reference collection (QD8.5 .A25 2006).
  • AIP (American Institute of Physics) - PhysicsAIP Style Manual - Official rules from the AIP Style Manual
  • ALWD (Association of Legal Writing Directors) - Legal StudiesALWD Citation Manual: A Professional System of Citation in print at the Pence Law Library (KF245 .A45 2010) - also see Introduction to Basic Legal Citation by Peter W. Martin for a well organized guide to citing legal sources. Refers to both The Bluebook and the ALWD Citation Manual.
  • AMA (American Medical Association) Medical SciencesAMA Manual of Style: A Guide for Authors and Editors in the reference collection (R 119.A533 2007) or the online AMA Style Guide from University of Evansville Libraries.
  • AMS (American Mathematical Society) - Mathematics - AMS Author Handbook - Official source from American Mathematical Society.
  • APSA (American Political Science Association) - Political Science, International Studies -  Style Manual for Political Science - Official source from APSA  or in print in the reference collection (JA86 .A52 2006).
  • ASA (American Sociological Association) - SociologyASA Style - From the Purdue University OWL or in print in the reference collection (HM586 .A54 2010).
  • AP (Associated Press) Journalism, Public Relations - AP Stylebook - Official online version or in print in the reference collection (PN 4783 .A83 2010).
  • Bluebook - Legal StudiesThe Bluebook: A Uniform System of Citation in print in the reference collection (KF245 .B58) - also see Introduction to Basic Legal Citation by Peter W. Martin for a well organized guide to citing legal sources. Refers to both The Bluebook and the ALWD Citation Manual.
  • CSE (Council of Science Editors) - Biology -  Scientific Style and Format: The CSE Manual for Authors, Editors, and Publishers in print in the reference collection (QH 304.C13 2006) or see CSE Name-Year Citation Style Guide from McGill Library.
  • Harvard Business School - Business - Harvard Business School Citation Guide - Official citation guide from the Harvard Business School.
  • LSA (Linguistic Society of America) Linguistics - Unified Style Sheet for Linguistics​ - Official online guide from the Linguistic Society of America. 
  • Maroonbook - Legal Studies - University of Chicago Manual of Legal Citation - official online source for the Maroonbook, from the University of Chicago.
  • NLM (National Library of Medicine) - MedicineCiting Medicine - Official online guide from the National Library of Medicine.