Subject Guides: Journalism: Home

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

Welcome to the Communication LibGuide!

Journalism is a research-intensive field of practice that involves the collection, analysis, organization, and communication of news across a variety of media contexts.

This guide provides information about:

Getting Started with journalism research;
Major Topics in journalism research;
Databases for finding popular/scholarly articles;
Catalogs for finding books, journals & multimedia;
Directories for finding contacts & contact information; and
Websites for researching key journalism-related issues.

Quick Links: Journalism Resources

Factiva
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles.

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, Factiva will no longer be available after November 30, 2025.
We recommend these resources as alternatives:
Financial Times
Wall Street Journal
Hoover's
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.
Nexis Uni
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
AP Images Collection (EBSCO)
AP Images: Over 3.5 million news photographs from the 1840s through today. Also includes maps, timelines, logos and graphs.
** This interface will be discontinued. Access to the AP Newsroom platform continues unchanged. **
AP Stylebook
A guide to the style used by writers, editors and others in the media field.

Encyclopedia of Journalism
Published in 2009.
Covers all significant aspects of journalism, including print, broadcast, and Internet journalism. History, technology, legal issues, and economics of the field are covered.
TV News Search
A free Internet Archive service, launched in 2012, designed to "help engaged citizens better understand the issues and candidates in the 2012 U.S. elections by allowing them to search closed captioning transcripts to borrow relevant television news programs." Contains 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. Updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired.