Skip to main content

Speeches

A guide to text, video, audio resources in print and electronic formats that document speeches of recognized leaders in politics and other fields

Ask Me!

American University  Librarians's picture
American University Librarians
Contact:
Reference Desk: (202) 885-3238
Website / Blog Page

Click to Chat with a Librarian

 
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.

Chat Fall hours:  Monday-Thursday 10am to 2am; Friday, 10am to 6pm; Saturday, 1 to 6pm; Sunday 1 to 6pm and 8pm to 2am. We can take text messages during open hours at 571-766-6349.

 

Welcome

This guide will help you locate important speeches of U.S. and world leaders in variety of professional fields.

Use the green tabs above to find:

  • full text of speeches using library databases
  • compilations of speeches in books in the library's collection
  • Video resources in the AU Library
  • Collections of speeches on the web in print, audio, and video formats

Transcripts of important speeches of major world leaders are often reproduced in major newspapers.  You may want to check the News and Newspaper Library Guide for additional resources,  especially for recent speeches.

Speeches in American University Archives

American University Archives and Special Collections, on the third floor of the Library, holds transcripts, audiotapes and videotapes of selected speeches given on campus.  These include speeches from American University commencements , Kennedy Political Union forums and other campus events.  For more information, contact University Archives at 202-885-3256 or archives@american.edu.

John F. Kennedy 's AU Commencement Speech 1963

On June 10 1963, John F. Kennedy gave one of his most important speeches in which he dealt with nuclear disarmament issues and put forth a "Strategy of Peace"