American Orators of the Twentieth Century by Bernard K. Duffy (Editor); Halford R. Ryan (Editor)
Call Number: PN4193.P6 A44
Publication Date: 1987-02-01
Charge! by Steve Israel
Call Number: PN6122 .C43 2007
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Subtitle: History's Greatest Military Speeches. Congressman Steve Israel compiled an array of speeches by leaders and military personnel ranging from from Moses and Pericles to Nelson Mandela and George W. Bush. Each speech is introduced with an insightful historic context.
Documents of American History by Henry Steele Commager; Milton Cantor
Call Number: E173 .C66
Publication Date: 1988-04-01
This two volume set contains 670 documents, including many speeches, designed to "illustrate the course of American History. Documents are arranged chronologically spanning the years from 1492 to 1898. Each includes a brief introduction and bibliography.
An instant classic when it was first published a decade ago and now enriched by seventeen new speeches, Lend Me Your Ears contains more than two hundred outstanding moments of oratory. It is selected, arranged, and introduced by William Safire, who honed his skills as a presidential speechwriter.Covering speeches from Demosthenes to George W. Bush, this latest edition includes the words of Cromwell to the "Rump Parliament," Orson Welles eulogizing Darryl F. Zanuck, General George Patton exhorting his troops before D-Day, and Ruth Bader Ginsburg speaking onBush v. Gore. A new section incorporates speeches that were never delivered: what Kennedy was scheduled to say in Dallas; what Safire wrote for Nixon if the first moon landing met with disaster; and what Clinton originally planned to say after his grand jury testimony but swapped for a much fiercer speech.
Masterpieces of Negro Eloquence by Akasha Hull (Introduction by); Alice M. Dunbar-Nelson (Editor)
Call Number: PS663.N4 M37 1997
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
"Her first anthology for students, Alice Moore Dunbar-Nelson's Masterpieces of Negro Eloquence (1914) is a compilation of addresses and speeches by both her contemporaries and prominent African Americans of the past. Represented here are such figures as Alexander Crummell, Booker T. Washington, Fanny Jackson Coppin, and W. E. B. Du Bois in a volume dedicated "To the boys and girls of the Negro race ... with the hope that it may help inspire them with a belief in their own possibilities.""--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Representative American Speeches by various editors
Call Number: PS 408 .R45
Publication Date: 1935/37 -
Spanning the mid 1930s to the present, volumes in this series include speeches focusing on current issues and social trends in the United States and other countries. Each volume also contains brief biographical information for the individuals whose speeches are reprinted.
Speech Index by Charity Mitchell
Call Number: PN6121.3 .S88 1966 Suppl
Publication Date: 1990-06-01
An index to collections of world famous orations and speeches for various occasions. Fourth edition supplement, 1966-1980
Speech Index; An Index to 259 Collections of World Famous Orations and Speeches for Various Occasions by Roberta Briggs Sutton
Call Number: PN 6121.3 S88 1966
Publication Date: 1966
State of the Union by Deborah Kalb; Gerhard Peters; John T. Woolley; CQ Press Staff (Editor)
Call Number: J81.4 .S73 2007
Publication Date: 2006-12-14
State of the Union: Presidential Rhetoric from Woodrow Wilson to George W. Bush is a comprehensive reference containing all the state of the union addresses as well as well as all inaugural addresses delivered from Woodrow Wilson to George W. Bush. Headnotes accompanying each address provide valuable context for each address by outlining the events leading up to the address and exploring the ensuing public reaction.
Specialized Sources: Gender and Ethnicity
From Megaphones to Microphones by Sandra J. Sarkela; Susan Mallon Ross; Margaret A. Lowe
Call Number: PS 663 .W65 F76 2003
Publication Date: 2003-08-30
Subtitle: Speeches of American Women, 1920-1960. This anthology documents women's activism during this period by introducing heretofore unpublished public speeches that address a wide array of debated topics including child labor, international relations, nuclear disarmament, consumerism, feminism and anti-feminism, social welfare, family life, war, and the environment.
Lift Every Voice by Philip S. Foner (Editor); Robert James Branham (Editor)
Call Number: E185.18 .L54 1998
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
Subtitle: Subtitle: African American Oratory, 1787-1901
This compilation includes over 150 speeches by famous and little known African Americans of the 18th and 19th centuries. Each speech text is introduced by a brief contextual essay and biographical information on the speaker.
Index to American Women Speakers, 1828-1978 - Beverly Manning
Call Number: PS 400.3 .M35
Publication Date: 1980-04-28
First of two compilations by this author of speeches of American Women. See also We Shall Be Heard (below)
Voices of the U. S. Latino Experience by Rodolfo F. Acuna (Editor); Guadalupe Compean (Editor)
Call Number: Electronic Book
Publication Date: 2008-11-01
The history and experiences of the diverse groups labeled Latinos in this country are abundantly documented in this collection. From the Treaty of San Ildefonso in 1803 to remembrances of life on the frontier, to the Young Lords platform of 1969, to a discussion of Latinos and the war on Iraq today, this 3-volume collection showcases more than 400 crucial primary documents from and concerning the major Latino groups in the United States. Sources include letters, memoirs, speeches, articles, essays, interviews, treaties, government reports, testimony, and more.
Voices of Multicultural America by Deborah Gillan Straub (Editor)
Call Number: : PS663.M55 V64 1996
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
This anthology of speeches brings forward the rich array of African, Asian, Hispanic, and Native American voices in US history. Comprises 230 speeches by 130 persons, dating from 1790 to the present. Includes introductory essays and thematic indexes.
The Will of a People by Richard W. Leeman (Editor); Bernard K. Duffy (Editor)
Publication Date: 2012-02-01
Drawing upon nearly two hundred years of recorded African American oratory, The Will of a People: A Critical Anthology of Great African American Speeches, edited by Richard W. Leeman and Bernard K. Duffy, brings together in one unique volume some of this tradition's most noteworthy speeches, each paired with an astute introduction designed to highlight its most significant elements.
We Shall Be Heard by Beverley Manning
Call Number: PS 408.M26
Publication Date: 1988-11-01
Important women speeches from the period, covering issues of major interest to women. Updates the authors earlier volume: Index to American Women Speakers, 1828-1978.