Use these resources to build a baseline understanding of the topic. Read for content, but also for style. Can you tell who the intended audience was? Do they align with the structure you need for a policy memo or explainer blog?
All authors are academic experts writing for a general audience. Articles use a Creative Commons license, allowing other publications to redistribute the information as long as proper attribution is given.
Search 3.2 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, data sources and media in the Global Think Tank collection; surveys, reports, and research from the governments of 600+ North American cities, plus publications from local governments around the world in World Cities.
Integrates data including demographics, home sale statistics, health data, mortgage trends, labor data and more with web-based GIS. This allows users to view data on maps, table, and charts. ** Access restricted to current AU faculty, students and staff. **
Section on Health Policy includes chapters on The Challenge of Health Care Delivery and Health Policy, Organization of Care, The Politics of Health Care in the United States, and Comparative Health Systems
A partnership between Economic Studes at Brookings and the USC Schaeffer Center for Health Policy & Economics that aims to inform the national health care debate with rigorous, evidence-based analysis leading to practical recommendations.
A nonprofit organization focusing on national health issues. KFF develops and runs its own policy analysis, journalism, and communications programs, sometimes in partnership with major news organizations.
note: not associated with Kaiser Permanente.
Monthly publication prepared by the Council of Economic Advisers for the Joint Economic Committee. Provides economic information including GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, Federal finance, and international statistics.
This Very Short Introduction describes the modern welfare state, explaining its historical and contemporary significance and arguing that far from being 'a failure' or 'a problem', welfare states are an essential element of contemporary capitalism, and a vital concomitant of democratic government. In this accessible and entertaining account, David Garland cuts through the fog of misunderstandings to explain in clear and simple terms, what the welfare state is, how it works, and why it matters.
Analysis of the core issues related to the welfare state, including regional depictions of welfare states around the globe. Combines essays on methodologies, core concepts and central policy areas to produce a comprehensive understanding of what 'the welfare state' means around the world.
News and analysis covering climate policy developments in U.S. federal and state governments.
Previously InsideEPA/climate, Clean Energy Report, and Carbon Control News.
Includes access to general news available on the InsideEPA.com homepage.
A comprehensive analysis of diverse areas of scholarly research on U.S. environmental policy and politics, this Handbook looks at the key ideas, theoretical frameworks, empirical findings and methodological approaches to the topic. Separated into five distinct thematic sections, the Handbook moves from examining political institutions, to politics and behavior, policy tools and strategies, climate change, and finally ideas and challenges.
US Environmental Policy in Action provides a comprehensive look at the creation, implementation, and evaluation of environmental policy, which is of particular importance in our current era of congressional gridlock, increasing partisan rhetoric, and escalating debates about federal/state relations.
Integrates scholarship on terrorism and counterterrorism before and after 9/11. It introduces scholars and practitioners to approaches, methods, and issues in studying and teaching terrorism and locates terrorism within the wider spectrum of political violence.
This handbook surveys how the law has been deployed in all aspects of counter-terrorism. It provides an analysis of counter-terrorism laws in domestic jurisdictions, taking a comparative approach to a range of jurisdictions, especially the UK, the US, Australia, Canada, and Europe.
Defense and security news, intelligence, and analysis. Our subscription includes modules in the following areas:
Defence Equipment & Technology
Terrorism & Insurgency ** Log in using your @american.edu email address.
Access limited to 5 (five) concurrent users.
Please click the 'Log out' button when exiting to release the session for another user. **
An authoritative A-Z resource that covers biographies of reformers and dissenters, theoretical and ideological perspectives, key programs and legislation, judicial verdicts impacting educational change in America, dissent and resistance to reforms, and technology's impact on educational reform.
The ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) database is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature and indexes over 700 journals in the field of education. In addition, ERIC provides coverage of conferences, meetings, government documents, theses, dissertations, reports, audiovisual media, bibliographies, directories, books and monographs.
The COVID-19 pandemic has shaken long-accepted beliefs about education, showing that learning can occur anywhere, at any time, and that education systems are not too heavy to move. When surveyed in May 2020, only around one-fifth of OECD education systems aimed to reinstate the status quo. Policy makers must therefore maintain the momentum of collective emergency action to drive education into a new and better normal. This Handbook presents the current state-of-play in over 40 education systems, and efforts to improve pedagogical practices in the midst of the pandemic. Drawing on concrete examples of COVID-19 policy responses from primary to tertiary, as well as impactful pre-crisis policies, it addresses the policy areas of flexible learning, educator skills, and student equity.
The Handbook of Research on School Choice focuses on policy-relevant research on K-12 school choice. It begins with scholarly overviews that explore historical, political, economic, legal, methodological, and international perspectives on school choice. In the following sections, experts examine the research and current state of common forms of school choice: charter schools, school vouchers, and magnet schools. The concluding section brings together perspectives on other key topics such as accountability, tax credit scholarships, parent decision-making, and marginalized students.