Subject Guides: Health Studies: Home

Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Bender Library
B-37

202-885-3841

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Health Studies, Mathematics / Statistics, Physics, Psychology

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

All Health Studies Databases

For a list of all databases related to Health Studies, please visit this webpage.

Other Research Guides

Finding Data and Statistics
by Clarissa Ihssen Last Updated Dec 4, 2025 965 views this year
Citation Style Guide
by American University Librarians Last Updated Nov 21, 2025 18420 views this year
Psychology
by Clarissa Ihssen Last Updated Oct 29, 2025 947 views this year

Welcome

Welcome to the Health Studies research guide! Here you will find different resources for a variety of your research needs. Use the tabs on the left to navigate. Reach out to the subject librarian via email or schedule an appointment if you would like help with:

Searching and retrieving resources for research papers and assignments
Developing research strategies to search information resources
Booking a library instruction class for your students
A topic specific literature search
Suggesting a book or journal for the library collection

Universally Helpful Databases

Databases Run by the National Library of Medicine

PubMed - NLM's article database for medicine
MedlinePlus - a public facing resource for health information
Clinical Trials - A database of Clinical Trials being conducted at NIH
ToxNet - A database of toxicology information
LOCATORplus - National Library of Medicine's Library Catalog
Drug Information Portal - NIH

Web of Science
A large database that collects articles from across scientific disciplines. A great starting place for research.
Scopus

A citation and abstract database for peer-reviewed research literature, primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
PsycINFO (Ovid)
Indexing and abstracting of over 1800 journals in psychology, books, book chapters, technical reports and dissertations.
Note: To link out to ProQuest dissertations from search results, use the OpenURL link rather than 'Find It @ AU Library'.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
SPORT Discus is the most comprehensive source of full text for sports and sports medicine, including 490 journals, books, book chapters, and reference proceedings.
ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source
Covers the literature of nursing, allied health, and alternative and complementary medicine. Includes scholarly literature, clinical training videos, reference materials, and evidence-based resources, including dissertations and systematic reviews. Coverage dates: 1976-present.
Consumer Health Database
Covers over 370 journals on a wide range of health issues, from diseases to nutrition to sports injuries.

Reference Resources

Use these reference resources when beginning your research to gain a better understanding of the scholarly landscape.

Oxford Reference Library
A full collection of more than 200 scholarly reference resources, including dictionaries and subject specific works.
**Access limited to 5 concurrent users.**
JoVE Science Education Videos
A series of educational videos demonstrating proper laboratory technique in various scientific disciplines. Video modules include biology, psychology, environmental science, chemistry and clinical skills.
Very Short Introductions
More than 600 concise ebooks offering readable introductions to a range of subjects, written by experts in the field. Subject areas include arts and humanities, law, medicine and health, science and mathematics, and social studies.
Annual Reviews
Annual Reviews is a collection of more than 50 annual review journals covering many science and social science disciplines. Each journal exclusively publish review articles which synthesize and summarize research within a field or discipline. This database includes full-text access to every historical article and issue within the collection as well as the most recent articles published.