Subject Guides: SIS 734: International Peace and Conflict Resolution: Introduction

Click to Chat with a Librarian

Text: (571) 248-7542

Librarian Profile

Sarah Gilchrist

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

American University Library, B 46

202-885-3181

Subjects: International Studies, Political Science & Government, Public Administration

Introduction

Welcome to the Library Guide for SIS 734!

Resources included in this guide focus on background research sources, conflict analysis tools, and program design. Please explore the assignment modules below, review the conflict analysis tool page, and investigate the resources listed for each conflict.

Conflict case studies used for this class include:

Cyprus
Myanmar
Northern Ireland
Rwanda

Analysis tools for this class include:

Interagency Conflict Assessment Framework
Working With Conflict: Skills and Strategies for Action (pp. 67-175)
Conflict Analysis Framework: Field Guidelines and Procedures
Conflict Assessment and Peacebuilding Planning: Toward a Participatory Approach to Human Security (pp. 85-113 and 113-141)

If you have any questions about your assignment, please contact your professor. Librarians are here to help you navigate our resources and to find new materials related to this course.

This guide was created for the SIS 734 class with Professor Hrach Gregorian in Summer 2025.

Conflict Assessment and Peacebuilding Planning by Lisa Schirch
ISBN: 1565495799

Publication Date: 2013-04-30

Offers a systematic approach that links practical conflict-assessment exercises to the design, planning, monitoring, and evaluation of peacebuilding efforts in a concise handbook, informed by on-the-ground realities.
Working with Conflict by Simon Fisher
Call Number: HM1126 .W67 2000

ISBN: 1856498360

Publication Date: 2000-08-01

This source book is for people working in areas affected by conflict and violence. It provides a range of practical tools - processes, ideas, techniques -- for tackling conflict.

Conflict Analysis Framework
This document represents a framework and practical guidelines for conflict analysis that members of the GPPAC network and various other organisations can adapt and localise to fit their respective contexts and organisational needs.
Interagency Conflict Assessment Framework
The Interagency Conflict Assessment Framework (ICAF) is a tool that enables a team comprised of a variety of USG agency representatives (“interagency”) to assess conflict situations systematically and collaboratively and prepare for interagency planning for conflict prevention, mitigation and stabilization.

Step 1: Background Research

The American University Library has many resources related to international studies. Start by looking for background research on your country using some of the reference tools listed below, search for news and coverage related to conflict as primary sources, and include academic resources to provide context.

A few things to keep in mind as you start your research:

Library Guides (LibGuides) include curated resource lists that relate to your topic and area of study and can be found under the Subject Guides tab on the library homepage.
Databases are another starting point. Seek out additional relevant databases in our A-Z List of Databases on the library homepage.
Use tools like Scopus to find related materials. Scopus links scholarship to the sources citing it and to the sources cited by it.

LibGuides:

International Studies
Resources covering all aspects of International Studies including International Communication, International Development, International Politics & Relations, International Statistics, and Peace Studies.
Country Reports
Country reports and profiles that are free on the Web, print publications, or from American University Library's subscription databases.
Finding Data and Statistics
Guide to statistical information resources by subject, for U.S. and international.
Government and Political Science Research Guide
Magazine articles, books, chapters, conference papers, and government publications on peace and conflict.

Databases:

Access World News Research Collection
The electronic editions of record for local, regional, and national U.S. newspapers as well as full-text content of key international sources. Over 4,500 news sources are included. Each provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community. Paid ads are excluded.
Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive
The Cross-National Time-Series Data Archive, launched in 1968, contains domestic conflict, political, legislative and economic data (around 200 variables) on over 200 countries from 1815 onward.
JSTOR
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than two million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTORs interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
Oxford Handbooks Online
Oxford Handbooks Online provides introductions and a critical survey of the current state of scholarship on major topics. The handbooks date from 2004 to present. Subject areas include Criminal Justice, Law, Music, Political Science, History, Religion, Psychology, Literature and Classical Studies.
Peace Research Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal and magazine articles, books, chapters, conference papers, and government publications on peace and conflict studies.
Scopus

A citation and abstract database for peer-reviewed research literature, primarily in the sciences and social sciences.
SIPRI Yearbook
An annual compendium of data and analysis in the areas of security and conflicts, military spending and armaments, and non-proliferation, arms control, and disarmament. Produced by the Stockholm International Peace Research Institute.

Step 2: Conflict Analysis

After beginning your research using library sources and tools, continue to analyze and develop ideas from your sources and incorporate frameworks and theories from the Conflict Analysis Tools listed above (Department of State, 2017; Fisher, 2000; Global Partnership for the Prevention of Armed Conflict, 2017; Schrich, 2013).

Connect your library background research to specific Conflict Case Study resources listed in the tool menu of this guide.
Begin to apply frameworks and theories from Conflict Analysis Tools and connect background research to Case Studies.

Conflict Analysis Example:

Figure: Conflict Dynamics in Burundi from the Global Partnership for the Prevention of Armed Conflict report "Conflict Analysis Framework"

Step 3: Program Design

Design a program based on your research and the analysis you conducted. Consult your syllabus for additional details.