Media Services catalogs many streaming videos available on the web. We have chosen ones of particular educational or intellectual value from sources which are likely to remain viable.
Videos of lectures by top scholars in subjects that range from Astronomy to Entrepreneurship to Religion, and come from universities as celebrated as MIT, Berkeley, Harvard, and Stanford. Visitors must register to view the lectures, but registration is free. There are over 1500 video lectures available, with more being added everyday. Visitors can even keep a playlist or download their favorite lectures.
Thousands of television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s. Hosted by Duke University.
has been in the forefront of distributing video content over the internet. Their extensive website provides video on demand of hundreds of their educational programs. These streaming video programs are provided free of charge. After creating an account, users can watch full-length programming on their desktop. Many of the programs are multi-part series which cover several hours.
Annenberg distributes programming on an extremely wide range of topics. Media Services has almost 300 Annenberg/CPB productions in its collection. When a title is available, the record in the catalog will direct users to the specific streaming video on the Annenberg website.
C-SPAN Video Library
This library contains every C-SPAN program aired since 1987, now totaling over 170000 hours.
Called a "national preserve of hard-to-find documentary films about American folk or roots cultures". In 1999, filmmaker Tom Davenport realized that the internet could provide exposure for documentary films that didn't fit into mainstream programming constraints - films with uncommon running times or with subjects who didn't speak "broadcast English". The website has become a treasure house of American cultural richness - documentaries on topics as varied as Florida shrimpers, New England stone carvers, schoolyard games, immigrant life, rural life, music, dance, and food.
Folkstreams films are listed in the catalog and can be searched by title or subject keyword. For a complete list search keyword = folkstreams.
Contains video programs of hundreds of talks, lectures, conferences, and debates on all topics. The frontpage includes lists of recent additions, most popular videos, and guest favorites. Videos are searchable and are separated into channels - arts and culture, business, education, environment, giving, health & wellness, politics, religion, science, and technology.
An archive of Shakespeare productions from around the world. The archive currently includes a catalogue of more than 296 productions, 75 video clips, and online videos of over 30 full productions.
International Monetary Fund Videos
The IMF produces videos of press conferences, speeches, seminars and topic sessions - even animated documentaries. Several hundred are available on their website, free to view and to re-post. Content can be sorted by catagory, country, date, or language.
Internet Archive - Moving Image Archive
1.5 million items in this collection of movies, TV, sports, religion - everything.
Free training courses in the sciences, humanities, and math. Grade school level to MCAT preparation.
The Mike Wallace Interview
An archive created by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas and contains 65 interviews from the ABC show, The Mike Wallace Interview, conducted in 1957 and 1958. At a time when ABC News was virtually non-existent (most of its news footage was provided by Telenews, the newsreel unit of MGM), Wallace independently produced the program - live - through his Newsmakers Productions, Inc. The earliest interview in the collection, broadcast on April 28, 1957, features Gloria Swanson, the silent-movie actress who made a sensational comeback in the 1950 classic Sunset Boulevard. The interviews, many of them featuring Wallace's trademarked confrontational approach, were originally "kinescoped" (a movie camera captured the image on the TV screen), then, in later years, transferred to videotape and eventually digitized.
Hundreds of classics, independent films, and documentaries. Includes discussion boards and news. Un Chien Andalou, Betty Blue, 24 City. Luis Buñuel, Wong Kar-wai, Abbas Kiarostami. Pay structure: free to $3.
Provides direct access to visual news stories and analysis of the current issues, selected from the web by journalists and documentarians. Sources include (among many others): ABC, CBS, Fox News, NBC, PBS, Associated Press, Al Jezeera, C-Span, Time, Washington Post.
A video portal and repository for the State of New Jersey. Participants include William Patterson University, NJEDge.Net, Rutgers University, and The Institute of Museum and Library Services.
Many PBS programs have extensive internet resources that supplement their broadcast. In addition, the Frontline website includes complete streaming versions of over fifty titles from the last four years as well as Frontline "classics".
At present there are a reported 850 films available. The list includes work from ITVS, PBS, National Geographic, and several notable independents including Icarus Films and Kartemquin Films. Titles that might be familiar include: The American Ruling Class, Biggie and Tupac, Cosmos, Father Roy: Inside the School of Assassins, The Life and Times of Allen Ginsberg, The Times of Harvey Milk, Trembling Before G-D, and T-shirt Travels.
TV News Search and Borrow
Allows you to search through three years of major news programs and share clips with others. Content is usually available through one day ago. This is a great collaborative tool for quickly finding soundbites from the news for academic research. You can narrow your search further by network or program. All major networks are included as well as local affiliate news and programs such as BBC World News, China International News, and The Daily Show.
World Wide TV
Links to television station websites, many with live streaming programming, from nearly 150 countries world wide.
A channel of the most popular educational videos on YouTube.