Skip to Main Content

Case Studies

This guide shows you how to find the various case study repositories available at AU Library

Harvard Business School Case Studies

While Harvard Business Publishing does not make all of their case studies available through a university-wide subscription, the library provides a couple of different ways to access some of them. In addition, it's possible to order them directly from the HBS website, for around $6.50 - $12.00 each.

The first way to access HBS case studies is through our subscription to Harvard Business School Case Studies and Core Curriculum. This EBSCO database provides access to over 2,000 case studies curated by editors from Harvard Business Publishing. 

Search for cases using keywords or the title. Note that the search results will include documents from Harvard Business Press Core Curriculum, which provides access to readings that cover entrepreneurship, finance, accounting, marketing, operations management, organizational behavior and strategy. To make sure you're looking at HBS cases, look for HBS Case Study Collection in the results list: 

In addition, you can find some Harvard Business School case studies in Business Source Premier. Harvard Business Review publishes one case study per issue. In the advanced search, select Full Text, enter Harvard Business Review under Publication, and select Case Study under Document Type. See image below.

 

Sage Knowledge Business Cases

IDC Cases

You can find cases on the tech sector using IDC. To search for case studies, enter "case study" in the search box on the main page. You can then use the filters on the left side of the search results page to narrow down the case studies based on audience (tech supplier or tech buyer), document type, topic or region. 

Case Studies in Journals

Search the following databases to find articles dealing with your particular topic (e.g., employee empowerment and airlines). You can search specifically for case studies in some databases. From the advanced search in both ABI/Inform and Business Source Premier, you can select "case study" under document type.