Subject Guides: Polls and Public Opinion: Databases & Internet Sites

Introduction to Polling Data at American University Library

Guide is arranged first geographically:

World
United States - general, then by topic
- crime
- health
- media
- religion
- voting & elections
Regions
Countries

For printed guides and books, click the "Selected Print Resources" tab.

Polls and Public Opinion - World

World

Gallup Analytics This link opens in a new window
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll since 1935. Data is available from the United States as well as 160 countries dating from 2005. User can create custom tables and export data.
ICPSR: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Science Research This link opens in a new window
This subscription is available to AU community. This resource includes both publicly available and non-publicly available datasets on public policy and social science research. NOTE: Access to datasets requires a free user-specific login. To log in using your existing account or to create a new account, click on "MyData Login/Create Account" from the ICPSR page.
iPOLL and RoperExpress (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
Subscription available to AU community. U.S. and international public opinion polls (iPOLL) and datasets (RoperExpress) from 1935 to present. Includes the major academic, commercial and media survey organizations.

Pew Global Attitudes Project

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Subscription available to AU community. Polling the Nations is an online database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries. Note: 4 simultaneous users only Subscription database available to AU community only.

World Values Survey
Opinion research on values and cultural changes in societies all over the world, including analysis of social and political change.

Access to Gallup Poll microdata

American University faculty, students, and staff have access to microdata from several Gallup polls:

Gallup World Poll
Daily US Tracking Survey
Gallup Poll Social Series

"Microdata" means the respondent-level data, with one record per respondent (as opposed to aggregated data) - as collected by the Gallup organization - for these three polls, in SPSS or Stata format. For more information, see the guide (accessible only from AU): Accessing Gallup Poll microdata at AU.

Polls and Public Opinion - United States - Multi-subject

United States - Multi-subject Polls (Scroll down for Subject-Specific Polls)

Gallup Analytics
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 questions, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll since 1935. Data is available from the United States as well as 160 countries dating from 2005. User can create custom tables and export data.

Gallup Brain This link opens in a new window
Searchable resource of 70+ years of public opinion data and analysis compiled by Gallup, Inc. Includes answers to more than 125,000 question, and responses from more than 3.5 million people interviewed by the Gallup Poll from 1935 to 2016.
See Gallup Analytics for current content.

General Social Survey
Since 1972, the General Social Survey (GSS) has provided politicians, policymakers, and scholars with a clear and unbiased perspective on what Americans think and feel about such issues as national spending priorities, crime and punishment, intergroup relations, and confidence in institutions.
Harris Poll
Search data back to The Harris Poll’s inception in 1963.

iPOLL and RoperExpress (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
Subscription available to AU. U.S. and international public opinion polls (iPOLL) and datasets (RoperExpress) from 1935 to present. Includes the major academic, commercial and media survey organizations.

National Network of State Polls
Contains over 350 state-level studies from 22 survey organizations in 19 states. Now part of the Odum Archives http://arc.irss.unc.edu/dvn/dv/odvn at the University of North Caroling at Chapel Hill
Pew Research Center

Polling the Nations This link opens in a new window
Polling the Nations is a database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000 questions and responses from 15,000 surveys conducted from 1986 to the present in the United States and 90 other countries.
**Access limited to 4 concurrent users.**

Survey Research Center

Polls and Public Opinion - United States - Crime

Sourcebook for Criminal Justice Statistics
Public attitudes toward crime and criminal justice-related topics
Results of public opinion polls on criminal justice-related issues results are presented in this section. Perceptions of problems in schools; ratings of the police and courts; fear of crime; and attitudes toward the death penalty, firearms laws, marijuana legalization, doctor-assisted suicide are some of the topics covered.

Polls and Public Opinion - United States -. Health and Health-Care Polls

Kaiser Polls
Yale Climate Opinion Maps
"These maps show how Americans’ climate change beliefs, risk perceptions, and policy support vary at the state, congressional district, metro area, and county levels."

Polls and Public Opinion - United States -. Media Polls

United States - Media Polls

Polls and Public Opinion - Religion Polls

Religion Polls

Polls And Public Opinion - United States - Voting and Elections

American National Election Studies
1948-present. Demographic and opinion time series data from surveys with national samples conducted during U.S. presidential and congressional election years, . These studies allow researchers to explore the relationship between demographics, socioeconomics, party affiliation, and electoral participation, among other variables. Available for download to SPSS or Stata, or for online analysis using SDA.

National Annenberg Election Survey
2000- present (Confirm date range on website) National sample of public opinion regarding beliefs, attitudes, intentions, and behavior relevant to presidential campaigns, with particular emphasis on "the effects of media exposure through campaign commercials and news," .
General Social Survey
1972 - present (Confirm date range on website) Public opinion and lifestyle survey, widely regarded as the single best source of data on societal trends, conducted almost annually since Covers demographics and personal background as well political and social attitudes and voting behavior. Can be viewed in convenient Quick Tables, analyzed online using SDA interface, or downloaded in its entirely from the Roper Center.
Cooperative Congressional Election Study
2006- present (Confirm date range on website 30,000+ person national stratified sample survey on general political attitudes, various demographic factors, assessment of roll call voting choices, and political information.

Census Bureau Voting and Registration
Information on reported voting and registration by various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics is collected for the nation in November of Congressional and Presidential election years in the Current Population Survey (CPS). The CPS is a monthly survey of about 50,000 households conducted by the Bureau of the Census for the Bureau of Labor Statistics. The CPS is the primary source of information on the labor force characteristics of the U.S. population. The voting supplement does not provide estimates of partisanship, such as what candidate a voter supported or what political party a voter aligned themselves with.
CCES Cooperative Congressional Election Study
2006- present (Confirm date range on website 30,000+ person national stratified sample survey on general political attitudes, various demographic factors, assessment of roll call voting choices, and political information.

iPOLL and RoperExpress (Roper Center) This link opens in a new window
Select Data Access > US Elections for general and primary election exit polls, polls on voter attitudes, and vote percentages by demographic, socioeconomic and political groups, for election years starting in 1976. (Consult database to confirm dates covered.)

Polls and Public Opinion - Africa

Africa

Afrobarometer
(See also ICPSR)

Polls and Public Opinion - Asia

Asia

Asiabarometer

Polls and Public Opinion - Europe

Europe

Eurobarometer/European Commission Public Opinion Analysis

Polls and Public Opinion - Latin America

Latin America

Americas Barometer (LAPOP) This link opens in a new window
Subscription for AU community. From the Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP) at Vanderbilt University. Coverage: 2004 to present. Updated: Every two years.
Multi-country, regularly conducted survey of democratic values and behaviors in the Americas.

Latin American Databank (LAD)
LAD acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. To date, the LAD collection holds nearly twelve hundred studies from 16 countries, with the largest contributions coming from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.
more...less...
The Latin American Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research locates, acquires, processes and archives public opinion surveys conducted by the survey research community in Latin America, including universities, institutes, individual scholars, private polling and public opinion research firms. To date, the LAD collection holds nearly twelve hundred studies from 16 countries, with the largest contributions coming from Argentina, Chile, Mexico, Peru and Venezuela.

Latinobarómetro This link opens in a new window
Subscription for AU community. Latinobarmetro is an annual public opinion survey that involves some 19,000 interviews in 18 Latin American countries, representing more than 400 million inhabitants. Data files are available for different years, in various formats and in both Spanish and English.

Polls and Public Opinion - Middle East

Middle East

ArabBarometer

Polls and Public Opinion - Canada

Canada

Canadian Opinion Research Archive

Polls and Public Opinion - Russia

Russia

FOM: Public Opinion Foundation
Levada Center
Levada Analytical Center (Levada-Center) is a Russian non-governmental research organization. The Centre regularly conducts sociological research. Levada-Center is one of the largest Russian centers in the field.
VCIOM (Russian Public Opinion Research Center)
VCIOM (Russian Public Opinion Research Center) is the first and the largest polling firm in the Former Soviet Union (FSU). Established in 1987 it is most widely known polling company in Russia. Since 1990 VCIOM has conducted more than 1000 regular nationwide representative surveys (omnibus). Until 2005 such surveys were carried out on a monthly basis, from 2017 on a daily basis.

Polls and Public Opinion - Ukraine

Kyiv Archive, Includes data from the Kyiv International Institute of Sociology which is the authoritative survey institution in Ukraine.

Ukraine

Polls and Public Opinion - United Kingdom

United Kingdom