Subject Guides: Psychology: Tests and Measurements

Science Librarian

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

202-885-6648

Subjects: Biology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Environmental Studies, Mathematics / Statistics, Physics, Psychology, Science

Ways to Find a Test

There are several ways to find a test, depending on the resource:

KEYWORD SEARCH

Online resources can be used to search for keywords (like "anxiety and students"):

SUBJECT SEARCH

Tests are grouped into standardized categories (like "Behavior Assessment" or "Sensory Motor"). Most print resources have this.

SPECIFIC TEST SEARCH

Tests are either listed alphabetically or can be searched by name.

AUTHOR SEARCH

Many indices sort tests by author name, and can usually be searched for online.

BROWSE A FULL-TEXT RESOURCE

The serendipity method! Flip through a book or get a full online list of titles, not necessarily listed in any particular order.

Finding the Full Text of a Test

Please note! Many tests are NOT available for free - many must be purchased in order to use. if this happens, you can try asking faculty if they have a personal copy or finding a similar test that is freely available. You may wish to start your research with our full-text resources to ensure access to a free test/measurement.

APA's FAQ on Finding Information about Psychological Tests

ONLINE RESOURCES

ETS Test Locator ETS' online database of tests and measurements. "Availability" field will direct you to the resource - an address often indicates that payment will be required. Many tests are "downloadable" directly through ETS. Some tests are available through our Tests in Microfiche collection.

PsycTESTS This new database contains the full text of many measurements previously only available by contacting the author.

PsycInfo The best way to find the full text of a test in PsycInfo is to do a topic search, then under "Limits / Additional Limits", select "Tests and Measures". It's also helpful to search for the word "appended" in addition to your topic, as many tests are appended to articles.

Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences Database that searches through over 100 test and measurement print materials. Search the library catalog to determine how to access these print materials.

PRINT RESOURCES

Many books about psychological testing can be found in the BF176 call number range. Most of these will not have actual instruments. Here are some that do:

Handbook of Human Performance Measures by Valerie J. Gawron "Human performance measurement is the cornerstone of human factors and experimental psychology. This handbook provides the novice and experts in these fields with a unique reference covering the basics of measurement as well as authoritative summaries of over 100 performance, workload, and Situational Awareness measures. It can be used to supplement classes at both the undergraduate and graduate levels. It is also an excellent desktop reference for designers, test and evaluation specialists, and system specification developers."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Call Number: T59.7 .G38 2000
ISBN: 0805837000
Publication Date: 2000-07-01
Measuring Self-Concept Across the Life Span by Barbara M. Byrne Modern men are privy to anxieties their forefathers never had to face. Issues such as power and responsibility, work roles, gender confusion and role models have to be confronted and resolved. This book argues that therapy, educational and support groups are ideal forums to consider these issues.
Call Number: BF697.5.S43 B97 1996
ISBN: 1557983321
Publication Date: 1996-02-01
Death Anxiety Handbook by Robert A. Neimeyer (Editor)
Call Number: BF789.D4 D347
ISBN: 1560322829
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
Functional Psychological Testing by Raymond B. Cattell (Editor); Ronald C. Johnson (Editor)
Call Number: BF176 .F86
ISBN: 0876303637
Publication Date: 1986-12-01
Major Psychological Assessment Instruments by Charles S. Newmark
Call Number: BF176 .M35
ISBN: 0205084575
Publication Date: 1985-1989
2 volumes

OTHER RESOURCES

Tests in Microfiche Mfiche 54, Media Services (lower level). The index available just above the microfiche shelves. This microfiche collection consists of full text instruments. The index can be used to find these tests by individual call number, name, or subject. Call numbers for individual tests can also be found in ETS Test Locator.

Finding Reliability/Validity Measures

These resources will point you to the validity and reliability measures, which help determine whether a test is actually effective at measuring what it is supposed to measure. All of these resources except for PsycInfo will also give you basic information about the test, including the # of items on the test.

Mental Measurements Yearbook (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Descriptions and critical reviews of over 2,200 commercially available tests in categories such as personality, developmental, behavioral assessment, neuropsychological, achievement, intelligence, attitude measures, aptitude measures, educational, speech and hearing, and sensory motor.

Tests in Print V by Buros Institute Staff (Editor); Linda L. Murphy (Editor); James C. Impara (Editor); Barbara S. Plake (Editor)
Call Number: BF431.3 .M425 1999
ISBN: 0910674515
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
Designed to complement the Mental Measurements Yearbooks, Tests in Print fills a pressing need for a comprehensive bibliography of all commercially available English language tests in print. Although information on available tests and specific test bibliographies is valuable, the greatest service which Tests in Print can perform is to encourage test users to choose tests more wisely by consulting the MMY test reviews, test reviews from journals, and the professional literature on the construction, use, and validity of the tests being considered. Tests in Print V contains information on over four thousand instruments.
Tests by Taddy Maddox
Call Number: REF BF176 .T43 2008
ISBN: 9781416403418
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
This indispensable reference guide represents 2000+ tests from more than 164 publishers in three major fields: Psychology, Education, and Business. Tests does not attempt to review or evaluate tests; its primary purpose is to present concise descriptions for psychologists, educators, human resource personnel, students, librarians, and other nonspecialists who need to familiarize themselves with the broad range of available tests in the English language. Some Spanish language tests are also included due to the increasing growth of the Spanish population in schools.
Dictionary of Behavioral Assessment Techniques by Michel Hersen (Editor); Alan S. Bellack (Editor)
Call Number: BF176.5 .D53 1988
ISBN: 0080319750
Publication Date: 1988-05-01
This resource incorporates descriptions of both major and minor behavioral assessment techniques written by their leading proponents and practitioners in the field.
Handbook of Psychological Assessment by Gary Groth-Marnat; A. Jordan Wright
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 9781118960684
Publication Date: 2016-03-24
Organized according to the sequence mental health professionals follow when conducting an assessment, Groth-Marnat's Handbook of Psychological Assessment, Sixth Edition covers principles of assessment, evaluation, referral, treatment planning, and report writing. Written in a practical, skills-based manner, the Sixth Edition provides guidance on the most efficient methods for selecting and administering tests, interpreting assessment data, how to integrate test scores and develop treatment plans as well as instruction on ways to write effective, client-oriented psychological reports. This text provides through coverage of the most commonly used assessment instruments including the Wechsler Intelligence Scales, Wechsler Memory Scales, Minnesota Multiphasic Personality Inventory, Personality Assessment Inventory, Millon Clinical Multiaxial Inventory, NEO Personality, Rorschach, Thematic Apperception Test, and brief assessment instruments for treatment planning, monitoring, and outcome assessment.
Positive Psychological Assessment by Matthew W. Gallagher; Shane J. Lopez
Call Number: Online
ISBN: 1433830027
Publication Date: 2019-04-01
This book is a primer for practitioners and researchers striving to incorporate the assessment of human strengths, resources, and fulfillment into their work. Contributors examine the scientific underpinnings and practical applications of measures of hope, optimism, self-efficacy, problem-solving, locus of control, creativity, wisdom, courage, positive emotion, self-esteem, love, emotional intelligence, empathy, attachment, forgiveness, humor, gratitude, faith, morality, coping, well-being, and quality of life. Vocational and multicultural applications of positive psychological assessment are also discussed, as is the measurement of contextual variables that may facilitate the development or enhancement of human strengths.