Education

This guide provides an overview of materials and resources available at American University for teacher candidates, faculty, staff, and researchers in education. Use the left sidebar tabs to find useful education resources for finding articles, statistics, web sites, and more.

NEED TO GET STARTED QUICKLY?

Here are the top 5 things to know about starting your Education-based research:

1) Article literature is expansively indexed by the two main databases in the education field:

• Education Source (via EBSCO, includes Education Full Text, Education Abstracts, Education Index Retrospective, and Education Research Complete)  (AU Only)
• ERIC (via ProQuest)  (AU Only) or ERIC (free via the Web)

2) Get background information by using the authoritative reference works:

• Encyclopedia of Education, vol 1-8.
  Guthrie, J. W. (2003). Encyclopedia of education, 2nd ed. New York: Macmillan Reference USA.
  Call number: LB15 .E47 2003
• The International Encyclopedia of Education, (2010) 3rd ed., vol. 1-8, Oxford: Elsevier.
   (AU Only)
• Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: From Confucius to Dewey.
  Palmer, J., Bresler, L., & Cooper, D. E. (2001). Fifty major thinkers on education: From Confucius to Dewey. New York: Routledge. 
  Call number: LB17 .F56 2001

3) Statistical information (e.g. dropout or literacy rates) is central to educational research. Visit the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) to find data on all facets of education. Or visit the education statistics research page for other options.

4) Managing all the materials you find is a key to success. Use citation management tools such as Endnote, Zotero, or Mendeley to save, organize, and output all those citations.

5) Ask Hannah Park when you get stuck! I'm here to help you with your research needs. Just email me at hpark@american.edu.

(Thanks to New York University's Scott Collard for this excellent framework.)

School of Education (SOE)
American University offers programs in elementary education, secondary education, special education, international training & education, and education policy & leadership. Teacher preparation programs are approved by the District of Columbia and nationally accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation (CAEP).

Institute for Innovation in Education (IIE)
Based at American University in Washington, DC, the institute’s researchers undertake studies of education policy and education reform, learning technologies, and research on learning disabilities.