Subject Guides: Economics: Finding Articles

Scholarly articles databases

ABI/Inform (Business and Management) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of the world's economic literature produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) is the online database equivalent of four separate print indices: the International Bibliography of Political Science, International Bibliography of Anthropology, International Bibliography of Economics, and the International Bibliography of Sociology. It covers journal articles and book titles and includes literature from more than 100 different languages and countries.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than one million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTOR’s interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
PAIS International with Archive This link opens in a new window
The PAIS International database from ProQuest contains references to more than 634,401 journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Includes publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. In addition to English, some of the indexed materials are published in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish.
PAIS Archive is a retrospective conversion of the PAIS Annual Cumulated Bulletin, volumes 1-62, published 1915-1976.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.

Working Papers

Working papers are drafts that have not yet been published. Authors typically release working papers before they're officially published to share information and/or invite feedback. Economists often use working papers to quickly communicate research findings, as the editorial cycle for a peer-reviewed article can be quite long.

Bureau of Economic Analysis Working Papers

CEPR Discussion Papers Online This link opens in a new window
Economic working papers from the Centre for Economic Policy Research. CEPR research covers areas such as banking and corporate finance, development economics, labor economics, political economy, and public economics.

Economics Research Network
Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis Working Papers
IDEAS
"IDEAS is the largest bibliographic database dedicated to Economics and available freely on the Internet. Based on RePEc, it indexes over 3,000,000 items of research, including over 2,700,000 that can be downloaded in full text."

IMF E-Library This link opens in a new window
Contains the working papers as well as books, periodicals, and reports published by the International Monetary Fund.
NBER: National Bureau of Economic Research This link opens in a new window
Working papers from the National Bureau of Economic Research, a private, nonprofit, nonpartisan organization that conducts economic research. Key focus areas of the papers include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
OECD iLibrary This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
World Bank This link opens in a new window
On June 30, 2024, the World Bank eLibrary subscription platform was discontinued. Content is available open access on the following platforms:
World Bank Open Knowledge Repository
The World Bank’s official open access repository from which anyone can access its research outputs and knowledge products released since 2000.
Documents and Reports
Access all publicly disclosed project and institutional documents since 1946 made available in compliance with the World Bank’s Access to Information Policy.
World Bank Open Data portal
Access to global development data including World Development Indicators and hundreds of datasets, including embeddable data visualizations.
World Bank Group (WBG) Archives
The institutional memory of the WBG providing public access to its documentary heritage. Digitized materials and engaging discovery tools including Country Historical Profiles .