Environmental Studies Filmography
A thorough listing of environment-focused films, documentaries, and other media, including streaming videos, available at AU.
Writing in the Biological Sciences
by
Encyclopedia of Life Sciences
by
"The most ambitious single source reference source ever produced in the biological sciences" --American Reference Books Annual Spanning the entire spectrum of life science research, the Encyclopedia features more than 3,000 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles. These concentrate primarily on the molecular and cellular life sciences, including biochemical topics, methods and techniques. Applied areas of science are also included on a selective basis, as are biographies and general interest articles on ethics and the history of science. Articles are divided into three categories indicating their level of complexity: Introductory articles ELS features more than 1,400 introductory level articles. These have been written primarily for undergraduates and non-specialists requiring the basic concepts of a particular subject. Scientists and researchers looking to extend their knowledge outside their own specific field of interest will also find these articles useful. Advanced articles Over 1,800 advanced articles provide more detailed discussions of specialised subjects, at a level equivalent to that found in graduate level texts. Keynote articles Written by leading international scientists, these keynote articles cover hot topics and controversial issues. All articles have been rigorously peer-reviewed and edited prior to publication by an international Editorial Advisory Board of 180 subject specialist advisors. Most articles are accompanied by colour illustrations and tables, with appendix and glossary material providing essential information for the non-specialist, including biochemical and taxonomic information, acronyms/synonyms, units and other technical data. "In particular, the illustrations are excellent..." --Microbiology Today The ELS provides an excellent source of information for undergraduates, graduates, post-graduates, teachers/lecturers as well as professionals and researchers working in the biomedical sciences and related areas. Although chapters on more complex subjects have been written primarily for those with a scientific background, unnecessary technical jargon is avoided, enabling the material to be accessed by the non-specialist. "This resource is a must-have for all biological sciences libraries and most larger academic and public libraries. It will be used often by undergraduate and graduate biology students, scientists, researchers, professors and government employees and journalists." --American Reference Books Annual
Browse Elsevier ScienceDirect journals. many with coverage: 1995-Present.
Note that we do not subscribe to all titles on this publisher platform.
** ScienceDirect is experiencing issues with its authentication service. You can access content while connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN) by visiting this direct link to ScienceDirect. **
Encyclopedia of Environmental Science
by
Provides interdisciplinary data and information related to human interactions in the environment
A searchable repository of environmental data sets.
Statistics, reports, maps and other data from the US Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
Last updated October 2015.
Non-profit conservation organization working to provide the scientific data needed for informed action.
One source to search over 60 databases and 2,200 selected websites offering scientific information from the US government.
Columbia University hosted site, provides information related to human impact on the environment.
Provides a variety of publications on People & Ecosystems, Governance, Climate Protection and Markets & Enterprise.
Local DC environmental events and resources.
U.S. Department of Energy - Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
Search by thematic area, e.g., Climate Change or Ecosystem Management.
Focuses on the impact of development on the environment; includes data regarding population density and other data sets.
Focuses on biodiversity, from the UN Environment.
MyEnvironment (EPA) The MyEnvironment search application is designed to provide a cross-section of environmental information based on the user's location.
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) The National Aeronautics and Space Administration is America’s civil space program and the global leader in space exploration.
National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA) From daily weather forecasts, severe storm warnings, and climate monitoring to fisheries management, coastal restoration and supporting marine commerce, NOAA’s products and services support economic vitality and affect more than one-third of America’s gross domestic product.
National Park Service The National Park Service preserves unimpaired the natural and cultural resources and values of the National Park System for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of this and future generations. The Park Service cooperates with partners to extend the benefits of natural and cultural resource conservation and outdoor recreation throughout this country and the world.
National Science Foundation - Environmental Research and Education In August 1998, the National Science Board established the Task Force on the Environment within its Committee on Programs and Plans. The Task Force was created to provide guidance to the National Science Foundation (NSF) in defining the scope of its role with respect to environmental research, education, and scientific assessment and in determining the best means of implementing related activities related.
United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) The EPA is the US governmental body responsible for environmental affairs. In addition to advocacy, the EPA is involved in the enforcement of environmental legislation, regulation, and policy.
US Fish & Wildlife Service "We are the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the only agency in the federal government whose primary responsibility is the conservation and management of fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats for the American people."
US Forest Service (USDA) The United States Forest Service is an agency of the U.S. Department of Agriculture that administers the nation's 154 national forests and 20 national grasslands. The Forest Service manages 193 million acres of land.
Information about protected marine life, including critical habitat maps
Looking for some environmental-related light reading? Our popular periodicals, located on the Lower Level, offer a variety of options, including:
We also have popular science books available to browse on the first floor near the Info Desk.