Health Promotion Management

National Library of Medicine

• PubMed - NLM's article database for medicine
• Clinical Trials - A database of Clinical Trials being conducted at NIH
• ToxNet - A database of toxicology information
• LOCATORplus - National Library of Medicine's Library Catalog
• Drug Information Portal - NIH

Full Text Databases

• The Merck Manual
• The Merck Manual of Geriatrics
• Medline Plus
• Online Medical Dictionary

Electronic Journals

• Pubmed Central - full text of all USA government sponsored medical research
• Directory of Open Access Journals: Public Health (128 journals as of 7/28/09)
• Directory of Open Access Journals: Sports Medicine (12 journals as of 7/28/09)
• Directory of Open Access Journals: Sports Science (16 journals as of 7/28/09)
• Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Reports
• The Lancet Interactive
• The California Journal of Health Promotion - peer reviewed
• Human Movement

Gateway Sites and Pathfinders

• National Cancer Institute
• CDC National Prevention Information Network
• HealthFinder - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
• Institute of Medicine at the National Academies
• National Institute of Mental Health
• National Women's Health Information Center
• Martindale's Health Science Guide
• Medical Library Association -Top 100 health websites.

Government Health Organizations

• Office of the Surgeon General
• National Institutes of Health (NIH)
• National Institute for Mental Health (NIMH)
• Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
• U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA)
• Department of Health and Human Services
• National Center for Health Statistics
• Agency for Healthcare Policy Research
• Centers for Medicare and Medicaid
• Healthy People 2010
• Healthcare 411: Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
• Office of Minority Health - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
• Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

Organizations

• American Medical Association
• World Health Organization
• Joint Commission on the Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations
• American Psychiatric Association
• National Alliance for the Mentally Ill
• World Health News
• The Commonwealth Fund -a private research organization with an emphasis on health issues

Health Promotion

• American Public Health Association - Some material restricted for members only
• National Association for Health and Fitness - the network of state and governor's councils

Tobacco Users Resources

• American Cancer Society
• American Heart Association
• American Legacy Foundation
• American Lung Association
• Centers for Disease Control
• National Cancer Institute
• US Department of Health & Human Services

Exercise and Sports Science

• American College of Sports Medicine
• The International Sports Engineering Association
• International Sports Sciences Association
• The Kinesiology Network

Alternative and Complementary Medicine

• The American Massage Therapy Association
• Medline Plus: Complementary and Alternative Medicine - NIH
• National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine - NIH
• Tai Sophia Institute - Local institute offering graduate programs in alternative and complementary medicine and instructor supervised clinics

International Health Issues

• Demographic and Health Surveys - USAID
• Refugee Health Information Network
• World Health Organization

Other Useful Internet Resources

• CenterWatch: Clinical Trials Listing Services
• Centers for Disease Control (CDC) -Travel Health
• Health on the Net Foundation - Non-profit, non-governmental organization, accredited to the Economic and Social Council of the United Nations.
• MayoClinic.com
• RxList: The Internet Drug Index
• University of California National Adolescent Health Information Center
• Johns Hopkins Medicine Podcasts
• The Dartmouth Atlas of Health Care
• TRIP Database - For Evidence Based Medicine
• Research Channel - Online videos 
• MDVU: We Move's Movement Disorder Virtual Library