Subject Guides: MKTG 300: Principles of Marketing: Marketing Databases A to Z

Marketing

ABI/Inform (Business and Management) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
Winmo This link opens in a new window
Winmo contains all the data formerly contained in Advertising Redbooks and provides information about advertisers and ad agencies. This database lists over 19,000 advertisers that have at least $200,000 in advertising expenditures, the media they advertise by, as well as over 12,500 ad agencies that represent them.
**Access limited to a single concurrent user.**
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
English-language database containing economic and business data, as well as analyses, current news, policies, statistics, and political developments for countries across Asia and Europe.
Business Knowledge RESEARCH: The Conference Board This link opens in a new window
Full-text research reports, executive summaries, webcasts and podcasts on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. These reports include studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, and more. Full-text coverage begins with 1995 to the present.

Business Plans Handbook
Actual business plans compiled by entrepreneurs seeking funding for small businesses.

Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.
Consumer Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to full-text reviews and advice on consumer products and services. It is the online version of the print Consumer Reports magazine.
SAGE Data This link opens in a new window
Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.
Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
Dissertations and Theses (American University-authored) This link opens in a new window
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
Encyclopedia of Public Relations
This encyclopedia explores the evolution of the PR field, with examples from history describing events, changing practices, and the key figures who developed and expanded the profession.

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
**
European Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
English-language database containing economic and business data, as well as analyses, current news, policies, statistics, and political developments for countries in Europe.
First Research This link opens in a new window
Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data.
Hoover's This link opens in a new window
Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**
IBISWorld Industry Reports This link opens in a new window
Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than one million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTOR’s interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Browse Elsevier ScienceDirect journals. many with coverage: 1995-Present.
Note that we do not subscribe to all titles on this publisher platform.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.
SRDS Media Planning This link opens in a new window
Contains media information, including publication overviews, advertising rates, deadline dates and contact data for print and broadcast media. Includes Claritas 360 for analysis of customer data and markets.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage This link opens in a new window
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a financial information resource with access to S&P industry surveys. Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage gives users access to a number of S&P's research products, including: Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.
Telecommunications Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text of articles on the telecommunications industry.
Wall Street Journal - Historical This link opens in a new window
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Wall Street Transcript This link opens in a new window
Presents, in a series of question and answer formats, financial analyst and company CEO perspectives on a range of industry sectors relative to investment outlooks and financial performance.
** Access to full content available only when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.