Welcome to the MKTG 300 course research guide. The resources linked here will be helpful as you navigate the assignments for your class. Below, you will see a general collection of helpful databases, but you may find it most useful to use the tabs to the left.
For your environmental scan, take a look at the industry databases.
When you begin working on your brand analysis, doing research on the company will be useful. From there, Simmons will help you learn about the choices consumers make about your brand.
First time users: Create an account by visiting the Bloomberg registration page. Enter your @american.edu email address, then enter the verification code.
Bloomberg.com is a news source that provides global news and analysis, as well as focused business-specific coverage on companies, industries and markets. Includes access to Bloomberg Businessweek articles. Does not include the securities and financial information that can be found on the Bloomberg Terminal Workstations in Bender Library and the Kogod FSIT lab.
A major source of newspapers, web news, and industry news, containing 28,000 sources from over 200 countries in 23 languages. Includes Wall Street Journal television transcripts and newswires. Includes company profiles. **If you receive an error page when attempting to access Factiva, please clear your browser following the instructions in the library's FAQ, How do I clear my web browser's cache and cookies?**
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times. ** Registration required. Only current students, faculty, and staff are eligible to register for and access FT.com ** ** Note: There is a known issue where some registered users are unable to log in with SSO. In that case, visit ft.com in a clean browser, click on 'Sign In', enter your email address, then click on the 'Having problems logging in?' link. **
First time users: Follow the instructions in the library's account registration FAQ and complete registration using your AU email address. If you have an existing paid NYT subscription, you must cancel it before linking it to the library's subscription. Access to the website of the New York Times - one of the world's leading newspapers. Includes access to the New York Times InEducation curated reading lists. Click the Log In button and sign in to access full news content 1981-present.
Registration required! Please click on the database link for instructions on registering for your AU-sponsored account.
Once your account is verified and subscription connected to AU's organization, sign in on https://www.washingtonpost.com to access.
Full access to Washington DC's daily Pulitzer-Prize winning newspaper featuring local, national and international news.
NEW! Registration required! Please click on the database link for instructions on registering for or reactivating your AU-sponsored account. Once your account is activated, sign in on https://www.wsj.com/ to access. Full access to the Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, in addition to national and international news. Includes English, Chinese, and Japanese editions.