Skip to main content

Company Research

Business Librarian

American University  Librarians's picture
American University Librarians
Contact:
Reference Desk: (202) 885-3238
Website

Company

Company Research

Annual Reports   |   Finance   |   Company Research   |   Company Directories   |   Company News   |   M&A 

This guide lists internet sites for doing research on the sources of company information. Other sources can be found by searching the Aladin Catalog for books and the Aladin databases for journal articles. If you need more help in finding information, please contact a reference librarian.

Annual Reports

  • Annual Reports.com
  • Annual Reports Library - The Annual Reports Library has built a collection of over 1.45 million original reports (and proxies) from corporations, foundations, banks, mutual funds and public institutions.
  • CAROL - Company Annual Reports Online - A free corporate service offering direct links to the annual reports of a variety of European companies.
  • PRARS - Public Register Annual Report Service - This site lists companies alphabetically and by industry. The reports need to be ordered from PRARS but they are free.
  • Sid Cato's annual report web site - Self-proclaimed "annual report activist" Sid Cato wishes to Help those who produce annual reports continuously improve by achieving a uniformly meaningful, revelatory and shareholder-focused, external document each year, and one that adheres to the highest industry standards.

Annual reports may also be found by going to a particular company's homepage.

Finance

  • 10kwizard - A search engine for SEC filings
  • Financial Data Finder - A site out of Ohio State University that provides a variety of links for financial data.
  • FreeEdgar Database - Real time access to SEC filings.
  • Edgar Online
  • SEC Edgar Database - This site provides the financial (e.g. 10-K) which public companies are required to file with the SEC. Annual reports may be found here although companies are not required to file them. The 10-K reports often contain the same information that is found in the annual reports. Financial forms for private companies can not be found here.
  • SEC Info

Company Research

Getting Started

Company Research Sites

  • Business.com - The business search engine.
  • Business Nation - Company Profiles.
  • CEOExpress - A Business Portal for executives
  • Cogmap - An organization chart wiki.
  • Corporate Financials Online - This site gives links to news about and from publicly traded companies including press releases and investor information.
  • CRSwire.com - The Corporate Social Responsibility Newswire service.
  • Dow Jones Indexes
  • Fast Companies Database - A research directory of leading companies.
  • FindArticles.com - Search for Business related articles on the web.
  • Hemscott - Company Information Service.
  • Hoover's Online - Includes companies listed in the Hoover's MasterList of Major US Companies which covers all US public companies and US private companies with sales over $50 million as well as "emerging" US companies. Also included are various other not-for-profit organizations with revenues over $500 million (including about two dozen major universities).
  • InterNet Bankruptcy Library - Worldwide troubled company resources.
  • InternetNews.com - formerly Wall Street Research Net
  • InvestQuest - Annual reports, company information, prospectuses are available at this site.
  • Moreover - Real time news and information on companies.
  • Portfolio.com - Search for company profiles.
  • Private Companies and Becoming an Expert - From the National Center for Business Journalism
  • Reference for Business - Includes the International Directory of Company Histories and Leading American Businesses.
  • The Scannery - An investor focused search engine.
  • SkyMinder.com - Information on private companies. Subscription.
  • TechCompanies - Find profiles, news, product reviews and financial information on over 45,000 technology companies
  • They Rule - A site for board of directors information.
  • Trendwatching - Get the latest on emerging markets
  • Vault - For Company/Career Research
  • Wall-Street.com -Their mission is to be a leader in providing convenient, free access to all the important investment information on the Internet..
  • ZoomInfo

Company Directories

Company News

  • Bloomberg News
  • Individual.com - A leading provider of free, individualized news and information to business people over the Internet.
  • MarketWatch - Real time, interactive financial and general news.
  • NewsHub - NewsHub integrates and reports headlines from the world's premiere news sources every 15 minutes.

Mergers and Acquisitions