Company Research

Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.

This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.

Bringing together two formerly separate products - Accounting & Tax and Banking Information Source – this database provides centralized access to top journals, reference reports, proceedings, dissertations and more.

Winmo contains all the data formerly contained in Advertising Redbooks and provides information about advertisers and ad agencies. This database lists over 19,000 advertisers that have at least $200,000 in advertising expenditures, the media they advertise by, as well as over 12,500 ad agencies that represent them.
**Access limited to a single concurrent user.**

American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.

This directory contains contact information for headquarters, subsidiaries, branches and executives of multinational firms. It does not include companies that solely operate domestically.

English-language database containing economic and business data, as well as analyses, current news, policies, statistics, and political developments for countries across Asia and Europe.

Full-text research reports, executive summaries, webcasts and podcasts on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. These reports include studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, and more. Full-text coverage begins with 1995 to the present.

Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.

Provides online access to full-text reviews and advice on consumer products and services. It is the online version of the print Consumer Reports magazine.

Sage Data Core provides U.S. and international statistical information. Includes the American Statistics Index, Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. As of June 2021, includes SAGE State Stats and SAGE Local Stats featuring statistical data series created from government and non-government datasets, covering topics of research interest for U.S. states, counties, cities, and metropolitan areas. See a comprehensive list of datasets included in AU Library's Sage Data Core subscription.

Data Axle Historical US Business provides establishment-level information on businesses in the United States, at national, state, county, and ZIP code levels. Data on businesses in US territories are also included. Data are collected from multiple sources, including direct calls to businesses. The resource is a comprehensive source of information on small- and medium-sized businesses. This premium dataset is integrated in search on the Sage Data platform.
 

Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.

Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
You can also log in in the app or at https://www.economist.com/. Select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.

** If you receive an error when logging in, please clear your browser then retry. **

Offers political and economic outlook, long-term trends, industry forecasts and key indicators for regions and countries, including country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Also provides in-depth market forecasts for the most frequently traded global commodities.
CityData was sunsetted in June 2024. Historical CityData files are available upon request.

eMarketer provides analysis, market data, and statistics on the internet, e-commerce, online marketing, social media, and emerging digital technologies around the world.
** Users may sign up to receive report notifications and custom alerts and may need to check their ProofPoint Digest emails or visit spam.american.edu to release messages.
See OIT's video for step-by-step instructions. **

Digital archive of facsimile editions of major trade and consumer magazines related to film, theater, music, television, and general entertainment industry. 
Includes 15 trade and popular magazines covering all aspects of the music industry, theatre and broadcast radio in the US and UK covering the period 1880-2000; 10 long-running and highly influential magazines which document all aspects of cinema going, the film industry and the evolution of television and popular culture between 1905 and 2000; and 12 further major consumer and trade publications from the US and the UK on film and television, from 1907 to 2015.
Provides complete runs of magazines from their inception to 2000, including Variety, Billboard, and Broadcasting & Cable, and the Hollywood Reporter to 2015.

Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **

English-language database containing economic and business data, as well as analyses, current news, policies, statistics, and political developments for countries in Europe.

The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Our authentication has been updated to SSO.  ** When visiting ft.com directly, click 'Sign In', and enter your @american.edu email address. Click 'Next' then 'SSO Sign In' and you will be routed through the AU Sign In page. **

Provides industry profiles covering over 900 industry segments in United States. Updated on a quarterly basis, the profiles contain critical analysis, statistics and forecast data.

Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.

Proprietary information on more than 65 million public and private companies, along with executive biographies and industry descriptions.
**Access limited to 51 concurrent users. Please click on 'Rolling User' > 'Logout' when exiting to release the session for another user.**

Developed by the Cleantech Group, it provides updates on clean technology investments, IPOs, mergers, acquisitions, business relationships, and other financing activity.

Contains detailed reports on over 700 industries in the United States. Also includes company and segment benchmarking metrics. Reports are based on the NAICS code.

More than 5 million IEEE documents in the areas of computer science, electrical engineering, mathematics, and communication. The library includes extensive conference proceedings, as well as peer-reviewed journal articles and industry standards.

Provides access to industry benchmarking data based on aggregated financial statements of public and private companies in 800 lines of business in Dun and Bradstreet’s (D&B) database. Features 14 key business ratios for the critical areas of business performance – solvency, efficiency and profitability. Ratios are arranged by the U.S. Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) codes.

Provides full text market research reports on services, consumer goods, demographics, food and beverage, heavy industry, life science, public sector and technology industries. Coverage varies depending on the type of report.

Contains:
Mergent Manuals - Corporate Manuals 1909 to 2018, and Municipal Manuals 1918-2018. These were print volumes with company descriptions.
D&B (Dun & Bradstreet) Manuals - Key Business Ratios 1979 to 2018. These were benchmarks for public and private companies.
Million Dollar Directory (MDDI) 1959 to 2019. These were directories of America's leading corporations.
Annual Reports - covering over 100 years dating back to 1844.
CRB Commodity Yearbook Collection - 1939 to present. This has historical commodity prices.

Built upon the Hoover's directory, this database provides financial data for private companies.

Provides corporate information on over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Market Atlas replaces Mergent Online, which was discontinued in August 2025.

Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.

MSCI ESG Direct is an integrated online environmental, social and governance (ESG) research, analytics and ratings platform designed to provide asset managers and owners with an integrated suite of tools to efficiently manage ESG analysis and compliance tasks across the spectrum of ESG factors. The subscription is comprised of the Intangible Value Assessment (IVA) and the Impact Monitor.

An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.

PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on US-based major privately held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, and venture backed companies. PrivCo covers more than 180,000 private companies, including financial data, more than 70,000 M&A transactions, and more than 50,000 funding rounds. It also includes more than 10,000 investor profiles.
**Create an account for personalization using your AU credentials or access the database by clicking the 'Direct Access' button on the landing page.**

Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.

U.S. statistical information from the American Statistics Index. Includes Statistical Abstract of the United States and a selection of full-text documents. Subject areas are wide ranging including population, health, industry, agriculture, culture and society, housing, labor, recreation, science and technology, education, energy, criminal justice, government, and politics.

This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Provides industry norms for over 600 industries. Reports are broken down by asset range and region. Provides five years worth of data.

Provides market reports across 43 industries in 40 countries, spanning the Europe, Asia Pacific, North America, and Latin America. Coverage from the early 2000s to about three years ago.

Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics.

Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.

Contains media information, including publication overviews, advertising rates, deadline dates and contact data for print and broadcast media. Includes Claritas 360 for analysis of customer data and markets.
 

Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage is a financial information resource with access to S&P industry surveys. Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage gives users access to a number of S&P's research products, including: Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Mutual Fund Reports, Bond Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, and The Outlook, among others.

A statistics portal that provides data from marketing surveys and industry studies.

Provides abstracts and full text of articles on the telecommunications industry.

Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.

The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.

Presents, in a series of question and answer formats, financial analyst and company CEO perspectives on a range of industry sectors relative to investment outlooks and financial performance. 
** Access to full content available only when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **

OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.

WRDS provides access to data in the university's subscriptions to Standard Poor's Compustat Global and Compustat North America, CRSP's daily and monthly stocks, CRSP's US Indices, CRSP's Ziman Real Estate Database, CSMAR China Stock Market Trading Database, and Thomson Reuters Institutional (13f) Holdings. WRDS is provided by The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.