Subject Guides: Business Research: How do I find..?: Market Share

Getting Started

Locating market share can be tricky. While the library has several resources for determining a company or brand's market share, there a few points one should keep in mind when looking at the data.

Understand how a market's scope is being defined in the report. This is especially important when comparing market share reports from different sources. (For example, the market share for Samsung microwave ovens will be represented differently in a report listing the small household appliances as opposed to one on small kitchen appliances.)

Whenever possible, look at the market share as a percentage of value and in actual units.

Don't use just one year's worth of data, find multiple years. Trends are important! Is the market share increasing, decreasing or flat?

Market Share Resources

Business Source Premier
Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.
Euromonitor Passport
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff. **
Gale Directory Library
Collection of directories, including the Encyclopedia of Associations, the Encyclopedia of Government Advisory Organizations, the Directory of Early Stage Investment, the Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Market Share Reporter, the Medical and Health Information Directory, and the National Faculty Directory.
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes
Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.