Subject Guides: International Trade Data: Home

Ask a Librarian

Katie Hut

she/her/hers

Email Me

Subjects: Business, Economics

United States Data

Interactive Tariff and Trade DataWeb
Produced by the United States International Trade Commission. Customized import and export data that may be viewed by country, value, etc. or HTS, SIC, SITC, and NAICS codes. You must create a free account in order to access the data.
TradeStats Express
Displays the latest annual U.S. merchandise trade statistics at the national (1989-present) or the state level (1999-present).

(Data Source: Foreign Trade Division, U.S. Census Bureau.)
Foreign Trade Statistics (Census Bureau)
Import/Export statistics consist of goods valued at more than $2,000 per commodity shipped by individuals and organizations (including importers and customs brokers) in and out of the United States.
Exporters Database
Produced by the Office of Trade and Industry Information, contains historic data on the export activity of small and medium-sized enterprises (SME).

International Data (Subscription)

IMF eLibrary - Data
Includes the following statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund: Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); Financial Access Survey (FAS); Government Finance Statistics (GFS); International Financial Statistics (IFS); and International Reserves Template.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN comtrade)
Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.

To download bulk data you must register for an account.
1. Click the login link in the top right corner of the main page.
2. Select "Sign up now" to create an account.
3. Enter a valid AU email address and click on "Send Verification
Code".
4. Check your email inbox & Spam folder for the verification code
(account verification can take up to one business day) then
copy/paste the code into the verification code box.
5. Click on "Verify Code" to complete the email verification.
6. Once verified, you can continue with registration.
7. When you have successfully created your account, you will be
logged in and directed to the main landing page. You should
now see the link on the top right "My Comtrade Premium".
WDI Online (World Development Indicators)
World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.
WISERTrade
Coverage: Varies; mostly 1998 to present.
Updated: Monthly or quarterly. Provides extensive U.S. and world trade statistics. Includes exports and imports data of U.S. states, customs districts, and individual ports, as well as the EU (1998 to present), Canada (2002 to present), China (2003 to present), Taiwan, Japan (1998 to present), and 184 UN countries. Also includes the Kompass database of 2.8 million companies. From the World Institute for Strategic Economic Research.

In support of the University's budget mitigation efforts, AU Library had to make cuts to our collection and cancel some resources. Unfortunately, WISERTrade will no longer be available after December 7, 2025.
We recommend United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN comtrade) as an alternative.
For more information about the library’s cancellation process, please see the Scholarly Resource Cancellations Subject Guide.

International Data (Web Resource)

World Integrated Trade Solution (WITS)
WITS gives you access to major international trade, tariffs and non-tariff data compilations
World Trade Organization
WTO Tariff Data
Trade Data Online
Provides the ability to generate customized reports on Canada's and U.S. trade in goods with over 200 countries. Users can search by product or by industry.