Subject Guides: International Business: International Business Databases A to Z

International Business

ABI/Inform (Business and Management) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic citations, abstracts, and full text of articles appearing in international business and management publications, academic journals, and trade magazines published worldwide.
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
This scholarly database contains over 3,600 peer-reviewed publications in full-text on every subject.
Alternative Press Index and Archive This link opens in a new window
Alternative Press Index is an index of articles from more than 300 alternative, left and radical newspapers and periodicals from 1991 to present. Born of the New Left, it was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change.
The Alternative Press Index Archive (APIA) is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 700 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals that cover the period of 1969 through 1990.
To limit search to only one of the collections, once on the EBSCO search screen, click on the link above the search box to "Choose Databases", then deselect the other collection.
**Access limited to 5 concurrent users.**
American Doctoral Dissertations This link opens in a new window
American Doctoral Dissertations provides electronic access to the print index Doctoral Dissertations Accepted by American Universities. The enhanced database includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations from 1902 to the present.
Asian & European Business Collection This link opens in a new window
English-language database containing economic and business data, as well as analyses, current news, policies, statistics, and political developments for countries across Asia and Europe.
Conference Board (The) This link opens in a new window
Full-text research reports, executive summaries, webcasts and podcasts on the latest issues in business management and US and global economics. These reports include studies of Fortune 500 companies on business trends, leadership decisions, performance excellence, corporate governance, HR, productivity, and more. Full-text coverage begins with 1995 to the present.
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
Major business resource that provides access to scholarly and peer-reviewed articles from all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and industry information, in addition to market research reports. Articles, many of which are full-text, are from thousands of scholarly business journals.
Statistics Canada | Statistique Canada This link opens in a new window
Canadian statistical data, including population, agriculture, food, business, education, and construction. Updated once a year in the summer.
Dissertations and Theses (American University-authored) This link opens in a new window
Access full text of dissertations and theses in PDF format authored by American students. Access includes digitized and electronic dissertations and theses from 1916 until present. To see other formats, check our library catalog.
EconLit This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts of the world's economic literature produced by the American Economic Association. It includes coverage of over 400 major journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.
Economist.com This link opens in a new window
Authoritative weekly newspaper focusing on international politics and business news and opinion.
Includes mobile app and subscriber-only podcasts and events.
For quick access, click on the link above.
For a personalized experience or in the app, visit https://www.economist.com/, select the option to Log In, choose SSO, and select American University Library (not American University) from the list of institutions.
Economist Intelligence Unit This link opens in a new window
Offers political and economic outlook, long-term trends, industry forecasts and key indicators for regions and countries, including country-level data providing advice on risk, foreign investment and industry, and the business climate. Also provides in-depth market forecasts for the most frequently traded global commodities.
CityData was sunsetted in June 2024. Historical CityData files are available upon request.

Encyclopedia of American Industries
Information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.

Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new window
Passport is a global market information database examining countries, consumers and industries. It offers integrated access to internationally comparable statistics, market reports and interactive visualization tools.
** Access limited to current AU students, faculty, and staff.
**
Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Economic, political, and geographical background information and statistical data by country. Includes a listing of around 1,900 international organizations.
European Business (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
English-language database containing economic and business data, as well as analyses, current news, policies, statistics, and political developments for countries in Europe.
Financial Times This link opens in a new window
The latest UK and international business, finance, economic and political news, commentary and analysis from the Financial Times.
** Registration required. Only current AU students, faculty, and staff are eligible to register for and access FT.com **
Fuente Académica Premier This link opens in a new window
Fuente Academica Premier is a rapidly expanding collection of over 570 scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain. All major subject areas are covered with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. The database is updated weekly.
IEA Statistics (International Energy Agency) This link opens in a new window
Access International Energy Agency statistics on coal, electricity, oil, natural gas, and renewables. Also features IEA energy projections for member countries, general statistics, CO2 emissions from fuel consumption, and world energy statistics and balances.
IMF eLibrary - Data This link opens in a new window
Includes the following statistical databases from the International Monetary Fund: Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS); Coordinated Direct Investment Survey (CDIS); Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS); Financial Access Survey (FAS); Government Finance Statistics (GFS); International Financial Statistics (IFS); and International Reserves Template.
Janes This link opens in a new window
Defense and security news, intelligence, and analysis. Our subscription includes modules in the following areas:
Country Intelligence
Defence Budgets
Defence Equipment & Technology
Military Capabilities
Terrorism & Insurgency
** Log in using your @american.edu email address. **

Direct links:
Defence Equipment & Technology

Defence Budgets
Military Capabilities
Terrorism & Insurgency
Defence Programmes
JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences, plus a collection of more than one million digital art images for teaching and research.
American University is participating in JSTORs interactive research tool beta testing. View our FAQ for details.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
An excellent source of up-to-date news, business and legal information. News stories date back to the late 1970s. U.S. and international sources are available for most content areas. Includes Company Dossier content.
Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new window
Provides corporate information on over 50,000 US and foreign public companies, current and historical (past 15 years) firm descriptions, statistics, financial information and ratios, annual reports, mergers, acquisitions, disposals, joint ventures, long-term debt, capital stock, and insider trading.
Market Atlas replaces Mergent Online. Access to Mergent Online will be available concurrently until it is discontinued in August 2025.
Mintel Academic and Market Sizes This link opens in a new window
Provides 600 yearly industry reports covering consumer markets, financial services, media, retail, leisure, and industrial spaces for the U.S. and select international markets. Mintel Trends also available.
MSCI ESG Direct This link opens in a new window
MSCI ESG Direct is an integrated online environmental, social and governance (ESG) research, analytics and ratings platform designed to provide asset managers and owners with an integrated suite of tools to efficiently manage ESG analysis and compliance tasks across the spectrum of ESG factors. The subscription is comprised of the Intangible Value Assessment (IVA) and the Impact Monitor.
OECD Publications This link opens in a new window
Books, periodicals, statistics and working papers from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window
Multi-subject reference source covering general and academic periodicals; full-text is available for many articles.
Social Science Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and some full text of journals and magazines in anthropology, sociology, psychology, business management, public administration, political science, criminology, and economics.
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Contains bibliographic and citation information for 3,000 international scholarly journals across 50 disciplines.
Telecommunications Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracts and full text of articles on the telecommunications industry.
United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database (UN comtrade) This link opens in a new window
Provides data for over 140 reporting countries. The UN's official source for imports, exports, and re-exports for 90% of world trade.
To download bulk data you must register for an account.
1. Click the login link in the top right corner of the main page.
2. Select "Sign up now" to create an account.
3. Enter a valid AU email address and click on "Send Verification
Code".
4. Check your email inbox & Spam folder for the verification code
(account verification can take up to one business day) then
copy/paste the code into the verification code box.
5. Click on "Verify Code" to complete the email verification.
6. Once verified, you can continue with registration.
7. When you have successfully created your account, you will be
logged in and directed to the main landing page. You should
now see the link on the top right "My Comtrade Premium".
Wall Street Journal - Historical This link opens in a new window
The digitized version of the complete Wall Street Journal, with global coverage of business and financial news, starting from 1889. Coverage through 2011. For more recent and current coverage, please find the Wall Street Journal in our list of databases.
Wall Street Transcript This link opens in a new window
Presents, in a series of question and answer formats, financial analyst and company CEO perspectives on a range of industry sectors relative to investment outlooks and financial performance.
** Access to full content available only when connected to the secure campus network (includes AU VPN). **
WDI Online (World Development Indicators) This link opens in a new window
World Bank data on development: environment, people, economy, global links.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A combined citation index that comprises several databases: Web of Science Core Collection, BIOSIS Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE®, SciELO Citation Index, and Zoological Record databases, which can be searched in the aggregate or singly.
Web of Science Core Collection contains several components: Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Index, Book Citation Index, Emerging Sources Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, and Index Chemicus. To search in a subset of the components, select the database then select the desired index or indices in the 'Editions' dropdown menu.
WRDS: Wharton Research Data Service This link opens in a new window
WRDS provides access to data in the university's subscriptions to Standard Poor's Compustat Global and Compustat North America, CRSP's daily and monthly stocks, CRSP's US Indices, CRSP's Ziman Real Estate Database, CSMAR China Stock Market Trading Database, and Thomson Reuters Institutional (13f) Holdings. WRDS is provided by The Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
OCLC WorldCat is a catalog of holdings from libraries around the world - containing entries for books, videos, journals, recordings, and more - over 43 million records. Each record has a link to the American University interlibrary loan request form.
NOTE: WorldCat is NOT a database of research articles.

Worldmark Encyclopedia of National Economies
Presents basic information about the economies of 198 countries and territories.