All materials are located in Bender Library in Stacks (2nd and 3rd floors), the Lower Level Arts collection (lower level) or Media Services Reference (lower level). Most of these titles are circulating though some are cataloged for reference and must be used in the library.
Theory
Pearson, Roberta E, and Philip Simpson. Critical Dictionary of Film and Television Theory. London, New York: Routledge, 2001. Abel, Richard. French Film Theory and Criticism: A History/Anthology, 1907-1939. Princeton, N.J: Princeton University Press, 1988. Nelmes, Jill. An Introduction to Film Studies. 2nd ed. London, New York: Routledge, 1999. Hill, John, and Pamela Church Gibson. The Oxford Guide to Film Studies. Oxford, New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. Women and Film General Magill, Frank Northen. Magill's Survey of Cinema, Foreign Language Films. Englewood Cliffs, N.J: Salem Press, 1985. Nowell-Smith, Geoffrey. The Oxford History of World Cinema. Oxford, New York: Clarendon Press. Oxford University Press, 1996. Wilhelm, Elliot. VideoHound's World Cinema: The Adventurer's Guide to Movie Watching. Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 1999. Africa
Stacks: Call Number: PN1993.45 .C75 2001
Metz, Christian. Film Language: A Semiotics of the Cinema. New York: Oxford University Press, 1974. Stacks: Call Number: PN1995 .M451
Braudy, Leo, and Marshall Cohen. Film Theory and Criticism: Introductory Readings. 7th ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2009.
Stacks: Call Number: PN1994 .M364 2009
Stacks: Call Number: PN1995 .A115
Arijon, Daniel. Grammar of the Film Language. 1st ed. Communication Arts Books. New York: Hastings House, 1976. Lower Level Arts, Call Number: TR 850 .A85
Monaco, James. How to Read a Film: The World of Movies, Media, and Multimedia : Language, History, Theory. 3rd ed., completely rev. and expanded ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 2000. Lower Level Arts, Call Number: PN1994 .M59 2000
Stacks Call Number: PN1994 .I537 1999
Hayward, Susan. Key Concepts in Cinema Studies. London, New York: Routledge, 1996.
Media Services Call Number: PN1993.45 .H36 1996
Jackson, Kevin. The Language of Cinema. New York: Routledge, 1998.
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1993.45 .J23 1998
Stacks Call Number: PN1995 .O93 1998
Kipen, David. The Schreiber Theory: A Radical Rewrite of American Film History. Melville Manifestos. Hoboken, N.J: Melville House Pub, 2006.
Stacks Call Number: PN1996 .K485 2006
Brown, Kathleen L. Teaching Literary Theory: Using Film Adaptations. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 2009. Stacks Call Number: PN1997.85 .B76 2009
Salvaggio, Jerry Lee. A Theory of Film Language. Dissertations on Film 1980: Dissertations on Film 1980. New York: Arno Press, 1980.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995 .S216
Eberwein, Robert T. A Viewer's Guide to Film Theory and Criticism. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1979. Stacks Call Number: PN1995 .E33
Bazin, André, Jean Renoir, and François Truffaut. What Is Cinema? Berkeley: University of California Press, 2005.
Stacks Call Number: PN1994 .B3513 2005
Kay, Karyn, and Gerald Peary. Women and the Cinema : a Critical Anthology. 1st ed. New York: Dutton, 1977.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 W872 1977
Hurd, Mary G. Women Directors and Their Films. Westport, Conn: Praeger, 2007.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .H86 2007
Oshana, Maryann. Women of Color a Filmography of Minority and Third World Women. Garland Reference Library of Social Science. New York: Garland Pub, 1985.
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.W6 Z996
World Cinema
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1993.45 .M34
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 O96 1995
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1995.9.F67 W56 1999
Pfaff, Françoise. Twenty-Five Black African Filmmakers: A Critical Study, With Filmography and Bio-Bibliography. New York: Greenwood Press, 1988.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 P477
Australia Moran, Albert, and Errol Vieth, Film in Australia: An Introduction. Cambridge England, New York: Cambridge University Press, 2006. McFarlane, Brian, Geoff Mayer, and Ina Bertrand. The Oxford Companion to Australian Film. South Melbourne, Australia, New York: Oxford University Press, 1999. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.A8 O93 1999 Canada Melnyk, George. Great Canadian Film Directors. 1st ed. Edmonton: University of Alberta Press, 2007. Stacks Call Number: PN1998 .2 G74 2007 Loiselle, André. Stage-Bound: Feature Film Adaptations of Canadian and Québécois Drama. Montreal, Ithaca New York: McGill-Queen's University Press, 2003. Stacks Call Number: PN 1997.85 .L65 Wise, Wyndham. Take One's Essential Guide to Canadian Film. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2001. Stacks Call Number: PN 1993.5 .C2 T35
East Asia - including China and Japan
Jacoby, Alexander. A Critical Handbook of Japanese Film Directors From the Silent Era to the Present Day. Berkeley, Calif: Stone Bridge Press, 2008. Zhang, Yingjin, Zhiwei Xiao, and ebrary, Inc. Encyclopedia of Chinese Film. London, New York: Routledge, 1998. Zhang, Yingjin, and Zhiwei Xiao. Encyclopedia of Chinese Film. London, New York: Routledge, 1998.
Richie, Donald. Japanese Cinema: Film Style and National Character. Garden City: Doubleday, 1971. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.J3 R5 1971 Galbraith, Stuart. The
Japanese Filmography a Complete Reference to 209 Filmmakers and the
Over 1250 Films Released in the United States, 1900 Through 1994. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1996. Yeh, Emilie Yueh-yu, and Darrell William Davis. Taiwan Film Directors: A Treasure Island. Film and Culture. New York: Columbia University Press, 2005. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .Y44 2005 Thomas, Brian, Cynthia Rothrock, and Visible Ink Press. VideoHound's Dragon Asian Action & Cult Flicks. Detroit, MI: Visible Ink Press, 2003. Europe - General Taylor, Richard, and British Film Institute. The BFI Companion to Eastern European and Russian Cinema. London: BFI Pub, 2000.
Lev, Peter. The Euro-American Cinema. 1st ed. Texas Film Studies Series. Austin: University of Texas Press, 1993. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.E8 L48 España, Rafael de. Directory of Spanish and Portuguese Film-Makers and Films. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1994. Parish, James Robert, and Kingsley Canham. Film Directors Guide--Western Europe. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1976. Stacks Call Number: PN 1998 .A1 P3 1976 France and Francophone Truffaut, François, and François Truffaut. The Films in My Life. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1978. Stacks Call Number: PN1995 .T71
Great Britain
Palmer, Scott. British Film Actors' Credits, 1895-1987. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1988. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .P3 McFarlane, Brian, and Anthony Slide. The Encyclopedia of British Film. Methuen Film. London: Methuen, 2003.
Gifford, Denis. Entertainers in British Films a Century of Showbiz in the Cinema. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1998. Hacker, Jonathan, and David Price. Take Ten: Contemporary British Film Directors. Oxford England, New York: Clarendon Press. Oxford University Press, 1991. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .H33 1991 India
Narwekar, Sanjit. Directory of Indian Film-Makers and Films. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1994. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .N37 1994 Rajadhyaksha, Ashish, et al. Encyclopaedia of Indian Cinema. New rev. ed. London: British Film Institute, 1999. Rajadhyaksha, Ashish, et al. Encyclopedia of Indian Cinema. New rev. ed ed. London: British Film Institute, 1999.
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1993.5.I8 R277 1999 Latin America
Burns, E. Bradford. Latin American Cinema: Film and History.
UCLA Latin American Studies ; V. 26: Latin American Studies (University
of California, Los Angeles. Latin American Center) v. 26. Los Angeles:
UCLA Latin American Center, University of California, 1975. Martin, Michael T. New Latin American Cinema. Contemporary Film and Television Series. Detroit: Wayne State University Press, 1997. Barnard, Tim, and Peter Rist. South American Cinema: A Critical Filmography, 1915-1994. Garland Reference Library of the Humanities vol. 1077. New York: Garland Pub, 1996. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.S63 B37 1996
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.A8 M64 2006
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .J29 2008
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 Z53 1998eb
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1993.5.C4 Z53 1998
Bock, Audie. Japanese Film Directors. 1st ed. New York: Kodansha International, 1978. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.A2 B618
Call Number: PN1993.5.J3 G35 1996
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1993.5.A75 V46 2003
Call Number: PN1993.5.E2 B44 2000
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1993.5.S7 E83 1994
Pallister, Janis L, and Ruth A Hottell. Francophone Women Film Directors: A Guide. Madison N.J.: Fairleigh Dickinson University Press, 2005. Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .P27 2005
Pallister, Janis L. French-Speaking Women Film Directors: A Guide.
Madison, NJ, London, Cranbury, NJ: Fairleigh Dickinson UniversityPress. Associated University Presses, 1997. Stacks Call Number:
PN1998.2 .P28 1997
Shail, Robert. British Film Directors: A Critical Guide. Carbondale: Southern Illinois University Press, 2007.
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN1998.2 .S475 2007
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.G7 E53 2003
Media Services Reference Call Number: PN2597 .G53 1998
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.I4 R33 1999
Stacks Call Number: F1401 .C2 V26
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.L3 N48 1997
Pick, Zuzana M. The New Latin American Cinema: A Continental Project. 1st ed. Texas Film Studies Series. Austin, TX: University of Texas Press, 1993. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.S6 P5
Burton, Julianne. The New Latin American Cinema: An Annotated Bibliography of Sources in English, Spanish, and Portuguese, 1960-1980. New York, N.Y: Smyrna Press, 1983. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.L3 N48
