All materials are located in Bender Library in Stacks (2nd and 3rd floors), the Lower Level Arts collection (lower level) or Media Services Reference (lower level). Most of these titles are circulating though some are cataloged for reference and must be used in the library.
Film Guides – General Halliwell, Leslie. Halliwell's Harvest: A Further Choice of Entertainment Movies From the Golden Age. New York: Scribner, 1986. Stacks Call Number: PN 1993.5 .A1 H34 Gritten, David, and Leslie Halliwell, eds. Halliwell's the Movies That Matter. London: HarperCollins, 2008-. Stack Call Number: PN 1998 .H433 International Film Guide. London, New York: Tantivy Press. A.S. Barnes, 1964. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.3 .I544 International Motion Picture Almanac. New York etc.: Quigley etc., 1956-. Stacks Call Number: PN 1993.3 .I55 Maltin, Leonard, Spencer Green, and Luke Sader. Leonard Maltin's Movie Encyclopedia. New York: Dutton, 1994. Turner Classic Movies (Television network), ed. Variety International Film Guide. London, Hollywood: Andre Deutsch. Samuel French, 1989. Sullivan, Monica. Videohound's Independent Film Guide. Detroit: Visible Ink Press, 1998. Stacks Call Number: PN1998 .S84 1998 Silent era Lowe, Denise. An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Women in Early American Films, 1895-1930. New York: Haworth Press, 2005. Bowser, Eileen. The Transformation of Cinema, 1907-1915. History of the American Cinema: History of the American Cinema v.2. v. 2. New York : Scribner, 1990. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.75 B78 Sound era Sarris, Andrew. You Ain't Heard Nothin' Yet: The American Talking Film : History & Memory, 1927-1949. New York: Oxford University Press, 1998. Larsen, Peter. Film Music . London: Reaktion, 2007. Television Parish, James Robert, Vincent Terrace, and James Robert Parish. The Complete Actors' Television Credits, 1948-1988. 2nd ed. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1989-. Ensign, Lynne Naylor, and Robyn Knapton. The Complete Dictionary of Television and Film. New York: Stein and Day, 1985. Brooks, Tim. The Complete Directory to Prime Time Network TV Shows, 1946- Present. 4th ed. New York: Ballantine Books, 1988. Newcomb, Horace, and Museum of Broadcast Communications. Encyclopedia of Television. 2nd ed. New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2004. Terrace, Vincent. Encyclopedia of Television Series, Pilots and Specials. A Baseline Production: Baseline Production. New York, N.Y: New York Zoetrope, 1985-1986. Stacks Call Number: PN1992.3.U5 T47 Terrace, Vincent. Encyclopedia of Television Subjects, Themes and Settings. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland & Co, 2007. Marill, Alvin H. Movies Made for Television the Telefeature and the Mini-Series, 1964-1979. A Da Capo Paperback. New York: Da Capo Press, 1981. Einstein, Daniel. Special Edition a Guide to Network Television Documentary Series and Special News Reports, 1955-1979. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow, 1987. Terrace, Vincent. Television Specials 3,201 Entertainment Spectaculars, 1939-1993. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland, 1995. Dintrone, Charles V. Television Program Master Index Access to Critical and Historical Information on 1002 Shows in 341 Books. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland & Co, 1996.
Levine, Sanford. The 247 Best Movie Scenes in Film History. Jefferson, N.C: McFarland & Co, 1992. Stacks Call Number: PN1997.8 .L48
Konigsberg, Ira. The Complete Film Dictionary. New York: New American Library, 1987. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.45 .K66
Sadoul, Georges, and Peter Morris. Dictionary of Films. Berkeley: University of California Press, 1972.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.45 .S3213
Katz, Ephraim, Fred Klein, and Ronald Dean Nolen. The Film Encyclopedia. 4th ed. / rev. by Fred Klein and Ronald Dean Nolen ed. New York, NY: HarperResource, 2001. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.45 .K34 2001
Andrew, Geoff. The Film Handbook. The G.K. Hall Performing Arts Handbooks. Boston, Mass: G.K. Hall, 1989.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .A64 1989
Halliwell, Leslie, and John Walker, eds. Halliwell's film, video & DVD guide. London: HarperCollinsEntertainment, 2004-.
Stacks Call Number: PN1998 .H43
Turner Classic Movies (Television network), ed. International Film Guide. London, New York: Wallflower Press, 2008.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.3 .I545
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .M34
Magill, Frank Northen, ed. Magill's Cinema Annual. Englewood Cliffs, N.J: Salem Press, 1982-. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.3 .M34
Hardy, Phil, and Kobal Collection. The Overlook Film Encyclopedia. 3rd ed. ed. Woodstock, N.Y: Overlook Press, 1995. Stacks Call Number: PN 1995.9 .S26 O94
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.3 .I544
National Video Clearinghouse, ed. The Video Source Book. Syosset, N.Y: National Video Clearinghouse, 1979-.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.95 .V52
VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever. Detroit: Visible Ink, 1991-. Stacks Call Number: PN1992.95 .V554
Craddock, Jim, and Gale Group. VideoHound's Golden Movie Retriever. Gale Virtual Reference Library. Detroit, Mich: Gale, 2008.
Film History
General
Bordwell, David, Kristin Thompson, and Janet Staiger. The Classical Hollywood Cinema: Film Style & Mode of Production to 1960. New York: Columbia University Press, 1985. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 B655
Salt, Barry. Film Style and Technology: History and Analysis. London: Starword, 1983. Stacks Call Number: TR848 .S35
Slide, Anthony. Films on Film History. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1979. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.9.M65 S6
Chapman, James, H. Mark Glancy, and Sue Harper. The New Film History: Sources, Methods, Approaches. Basingstoke, New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2007. Stacks Call Number: PN1994 .N483 2007
Rampell, Ed. Progressive Hollywood: A People's Film History of the United States. New York, St. Paul, MN: Disinformation Publications. Distributed in the USA and Canada by Consortium Book Sales and Distribution, 2005. Stacks Call Number: PN 1993.5 .U65 R27
Brownlow, Kevin. The Parade's Gone by. A Ballantine Illustrated Book. New York: Ballantine Books, 1969. Stacks Call Number: PN 1993.5 .U6 B7
Slide, Anthony. Aspects of American Film History Prior to 1920. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow Press, 1978. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 S54
Slide, Anthony, and Paul O'Dell. Early American Cinema. International Film Guide Series, No.19. New York: A. S. Barnes, 1970. Stacks Call Number: PN1994 .I6 no.18-20
Keil, Charlie. Early American Cinema in Transition: Story, Style, and Filmmaking, 1907-1913. Wisconsin Studies in Film. Madison, Wis: University of Wisconsin Press, 2001. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 K39 2001
Abel, Richard. Encyclopedia of Early Cinema. London, New York: Routledge, 2005. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.45 .E53 2005
Stacks Call Number: PN1998.2 .L686 2005
Koszarski, Richard. An Evening's Entertainment: The Age of the Silent Feature Picture, 1915-1928. History of the American Cinema: History of the American Cinema v. 3. v. 3. New York: Scribner, 1990. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.75 K77
Niver, Kemp R. The First Twenty Years: A Segment of Film History. Los Angeles: Locare Research Group, 1968. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.A1 N5
Magill, Frank Northen, et al. Magill's Survey of Cinema--Silent Films. Englewood Cliffs, N.J: Salem Press, 1982. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.75 .M33
Magliozzi, Ronald S, and International Federation of Film Archives. Treasures From the Film Archives: A Catalog of Short Silent Fiction Films Held by FIAF Archives. Metuchen, N.J: Scarecrow, 1988. Stacks Call Number: PN1995.75 .M335 1988
Schatz, Thomas. Boom and Bust: The American Cinema in the 1940s. History of the American Cinema v. 6. New York, London: Charles Scribner's Sons. Simon & Schuster and Prentice Hall International, 1997. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 H55 1990 v. 6
Hark, Ina Rae. American Cinema of the 1930s: Themes and Variations. Screen Decades: Screen Decades. New Brunswick, N.J: Rutgers University Press, 2007. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 A85735 2007
Dixon, Wheeler W. American Cinema of the 1940s: Themes and Variations. Screen Decades. New Brunswick, N.J: Rutgers University Press, 2006.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 A8574 2006
Grant, Barry Keith. American Cinema of the 1960s :Themes and Variations. Screen Decades. New Brunswick, N.J: Rutgers University Press, 2008.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 A8576 2008
Curran, Daniel. Guide to American Cinema, 1965-1995. Reference Guides to the World's Cinema. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1998.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 C87 1998
Mekas, Jonas. Movie Journal: The Rise of the New American Cinema, 1959-1971. New York: Macmillan, 1972.
Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 M35
Lewis, Jon. The New American Cinema. Durham: Duke University Press, 1998. Stacks Call Number: PN1993.5.U6 N47 1998
Stacks Call Number: PN1995.7 .S27 1998
Film Music
Hischak, Thomas S. The American Musical Film Song Encyclopedia. Westport, Conn: Greenwood Press, 1999.
Stacks Call Number: ML102.M68 H57 1999
Stacks Call Number: ML2075 .L33 2007
Craggs, Stewart R. Soundtracks: An International Dictionary of Composers for Film. Aldershot, Hants, England, Brookfield, Vt., USA: Ashgate, 1998.
Stacks Call Number: ML102.M68 C73 1998
Brown, Les. Les Brown's Encyclopedia of Television. New York: New York Zoetrope, 1982.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.18 .B7 1982
Frank, Sam. Buyer's Guide to Fifty Years of TV on Video. Amherst, N.Y: Prometheus Books, 1999.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.3.U5 F66 1999
Giddings, Robert, and Keith Selby. The Classic Serial on Television and Radio. Houndmills England, New York: Palgrave, 2001.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.3.G7 G44 2001
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.4.A2 P3 1989
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.18 .E57
Brooks, Tim, and Earle Marsh. The Complete Directory to Prime Time Network and Cable TV Shows (1946-Present). 7th ed ed. New York: Ballantine Books, 1999.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.18 .B68 1999
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.18 .B68 1988
Terrace, Vincent. The Complete Encyclopedia of Television Programs, 1947-1976. South Brunswick: A. S. Barnes, 1976.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.3.U5 T46
Lackmann, Ronald W. The Encyclopedia of American Television Broadcast Programming Post World War II to 2000. New York, N.Y: Facts on File, Inc, 2003.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.18 .L3 2003
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.18 .E53 2004
Murray, Michael D. Encyclopedia of Television News. Phoenix, Ariz: Oryx Press, 1999.
Stacks Call Number: PN4888.T4 E53 1999
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.18 .T38 2007
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.8.F5 M34
Newcomb, Horace, Cary O'Dell, and Museum of Broadcast Communications (Chicago, Ill.). Museum of Broadcast Communications Encyclopedia of Television. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publishers, 1997. Stacks Call Number: PN1992.18 .M874 1997
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.8.D6 E56
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.8.S64 T37 1995
Variety and Daily Variety Television Reviews. New York: Garland Pub, 1992.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.3.U5 V36
Variety Television Reviews. New York: Garland Pub, 1989.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.3.U5 V36
Prouty, Howard H. Variety Television Reviews, 1923-1990 the First Fifteen Volumes of the Series Including a Comprehensive Index. New York: Garland Pub, 1989-1991.
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.3.U5 V36
Stacks Call Number: PN1992.9 .D56 1996
